We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury on a plate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Resort at Pedregal
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Luxury on a plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When we arrived at the Capella through the tunnel in the mountain, we were greeted with refreshing fruit punch or a crushed ice Margarita NO competition there! When in Mexico......

We were instantly upgraded to a magnificent 3 bed villa with beautiful views over the sea, we walked the long golden beach daily to the point where sea of Cortez meets the Pacific Ocean. At the time we were there we were treated to masive waves crashing onto the rocks as we dined in the El Farallon tucked in to the cliff face.
The hotel staff were without doubt among the best we have ever met, never in your face but alway to hand for anything you require. A place we will one day see again, for sure.
Tip avoid USA holidays and noisy neighbours, spring break can be noisy with out of school fools!

Room Tip: Away from the pools, and top floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Peter W

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and review after your recent visit to Capella Pedregal. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything from the arrival margarita to one of our beautiful suites!

I very much appreciate your recognition of the staff and will be sure to share your wonderful comments with each of them.

Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    102
    33
    11
    17
See reviews for
231
1,050
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Capella ranks up there with the best hotels in the world! It's architecturally amazing. The plunge pools in every room are heaven. The restraunt on the cliff; Farallon is breathtaking, romantic, amazingly staffed and managed and produces terrific food. Whomever picked up the tab for developing this place didn't spare any expense, but that's not what makes this place one of the best places on earth - anyone can build a fantastic hotel with enough money - the real jewel at Capella is the staff. They are extremely friendly and extraordinarily well trained and managed by and exceptional young man in charge named Fernando. We have never been treated so well, taken care of so completely and felt so welcomed at any hotel. This slice of heaven knows how to take care of its guests. This is the friendliest place on earth! Thank you Capella!!!!!!!!! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Sounds cliche but all of the rooms are fantastic. Just depends on how much space you want and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Chowdown 20

Thank you for your warm and enthusiastic review. We are so pleased to learn that you found Capella to be a “real jewel” and felt so well taken care of by our staff. It is a pleasure to be able to relay your comments to Fernando and the rest of the team.

All of us here at Capella Pedregal look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back once again in the future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband suprised me for our 20th Anniversary with a trip to Capella. It was the most amazing week. Capella is the perfect hotel from the staff, rooms, pools, beach, food, restaurants, location, I could go on and on. Just absolute perfection. This hotel did not disappoint. I have not one negative thing to say about this most wonderful place. We can't wait to plan our next trip to Capella.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 271EricaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear 271 Erica P
Congratulations on your 20th anniversary. We are so pleased that you and your husband choose to spend this special occasion with us at Capella Pedregal and that you seem to thoroughly enjoy your visit.

We so appreciate your wonderful comments as they are a real motivation to all of us.

Thank you for spending your special occasion with us. We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the future.

Best regards,
John Volponi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Capella is no doubt a beautiful resort but I wasn't blown away. I enjoyed my 4 days there and really enjoyed the movie on the beach my PA arranged for our group. I found some of the staff a little rude and felt they expected more of a tip even though there is a 15% service charge built in to the cost of my suite. The rooms were really quite nice and the property was immaculate. I enjoyed the daily Coronita's and chips with guacamole daily. The food at the restaurants seemed very similar and El Farallon had an amazing ambience but the food was average. I would give Capella an 7.5 out of 10. I will give them another try maybe I just caught them on a bad week.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember090520162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We chose the Cappella after staying at the One and Only Palmila last year. We loved Palmila but wanted to try something different. After staying at Cappella I couldn't say that one hotel is nicer than the other as both are top notch Cabo hotels.

We usually go to the nicest hotels in the Caribbean for our warm weather get always. In comparing the top hotels in Cabo versus the Caribbean, we found generally found the dining ( options and quality ) and service better in Cabo.

Property

The Cappella is a beautiful hotel with great service and food. It really is a special hotel with some dramatic features and spectacular views. The service was impeccable. While this is not a budget hotel, we never got the feeling that we were being nickel and dimed to death.

The hotel itself has some dramatic features. It is built right into the cliffs and there is a tunnel thru a mountain of solid rock to get to the property. When you pull out of the tunnel there is a amazing giant fire pit with many separate fires in it. Around the property is beautiful Mexican art sculptures and accents.

The most dramatic feature by far were the tremendous waves. Some were so big they cherished into the main swimming pool which I think is not all that uncommon.

The adult pool was beautiful and had a great bar that serves sushi and Crudo. The food was top notch. Both of the other restaurants there were also exceptional. I do think they should've had music in the background at the pool which would've made the mood more lively.

The spa was tremendous street and absolutely beautiful. The gym was pretty good for a hotel gym.


Rooms

We had an Estrella Suite on a top floor which is a beautiful large one bedroom suite with two terraces and a pool with a fire pit in the middle. The mini bar was free but only had soda and water. Each day they brought guacamole, chips and coronas to the room which was nice.

We were there during a very very humid week which is not typical of cabo, even in July.

Obviously the weather is not the hotels fault but with the extreme humidity, the rooms felt damp and did not cool down enough. They cleaned the filters which helped a bit.

Also, during a thunderstorm, water came in under the front door so they had to put sand bags in front of the doors of some rooms.

I found it strange that there was no lighting in our pool which would have made sitting on the terrine a better experience. The pool fire-pit is great but it was too hot at night to use it. There was a pretty wood overhang above our terrace lounge chairs but it did not prevent rain from getting thru which was odd.


We had a minor snafu at checkout when our the car we arranged to take us to the airport was never confirmed or booked. It all worked out in the and in the hotel was extremely generous by refunding us one night for that inconvenience.

All in all we really enjoyed staying at Cappella. This is truly top-notch hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FLNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed at all other top end resorts in Cabo: Esperanza, Las Ventanas and One and Only our least favorite .. fells like your in LA.... deciding Capella to be the most superior!
The rooms are always perfect . they could work on air conditioning being loud and drowns out surf sound but hey go out on your balcony/ or in your private plunge pool and air conditioning sound becomes irrelevant. Food is always excellent and we were pleased to see they added a couple of new things as this being our 4th time the menu was getting old hat.{oh the problems of the lucky traveler}haha
The service cannot be beat anywhere. This time we tried a private cocktail making class and were overwhelmed with their knowledge and enthusiasm. Oscar and Miguel made it an experience we convinced other guests to book. We loved it so much we cancelled our dinner reservation off property and stayed and ate with them at the bar! Fantastic.
The pool will always be a highlight great views and servers. Though we did notice more people than usual which makes us realize I should stop writing such positive reviews it is getting too popular!!!
As we left we were already talking about next trip. We will stay longer for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheletraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been to Cabo several times, this time we decided to try a little higher end resort since it was our good friends birthdays and they had never been to Cabo before. Wow! The resort was beyond our imagination. You know you are someplace special from the breath taking drive through the tunnel to the resort. From the fabulous rooms with private spa on the balcony to the magnificent grounds that were immaculately kept. The food was wonderful - especially the breakfast. The staff was always friendly and did everything they could do to accommodate your request. The only problem with staying at this resort is that NOTHING compares to it, and at this price point it becomes an expensive habit. We have stayed at the One and Only and this hands down is far better in our opinion. And as anyone coming to Cabo should know - you cannot swim in the ocean. There are very few places around Cabo where swimming is safe. This hotel is also located within walking distance to downtown Cabo and the marina, not that you will want to leave the resort!
Sorry the review is about a year late but we are looking forward to our upcoming visit to Capella for our honeymoon in a few weeks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Property: The Resort at Pedregal
Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing