We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and safe place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and safe place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There are people of all ages staying in the hostel, families, friends and singles. There is a small breakfast offered every morning with coffee which is great. The price is reasonable for travellers & there is air conditioned rooms!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkelbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
10
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you need a cheap but pleasant place to stay in Cabo San Lucas, go to Baja's Cactus hotel-hostel!! I've seen lots of rooms and studio's in Cabo in my search for a bed that I would appreciate for at least a week and nothing was as good as this hostel.
Because....It's the cheapest place you'll find but with cleaner, bigger, better rooms than more expensive places. This all topped of with the friendliest staff ever:-)
The big but cosy livingroom and kitchen area are clean and welcoming, the wifi works marvelous and the hammock on the huge sunny porch and balcony is a lovely place to see the Sunset (and-or Sunrise) The beaches, shops, supermarkets, marina and restaurants are at walking distance. And if you want to Cook yourself you can rattle those pots and pans in the well equiped kitchen. I promise your stay at Baja's Cactus hostel will be a pleasant one!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a great hotel and hostel. Its clean and cheap so I ended up staying here for 7 nights and really enjoyed all the great people from around the world. We all became friends the first night so it was great to have a group of cool international people to go out at night with or spend the day with on the beach.
The owner, Emmanuel is a great guy and so friendly. He's always up for giving advise on anything related to Cabo.
The FREE breakfast of coffee, toast with jam and fruit plate was a nice bonus in the morning and was totally unexpected.
The dorm room was very spacious and the bathroom was always clean.
There is also a place to do laundry right outside and its only $5 USD for a load.
Its also located nice and close (5 min walk) to the main area where most people spend all their time. Lots of cheap restaurants nearby to.
Great place to relax and meet travelers from around the world. I'll be staying here every time I visit Cabo.
Thanks Emmanuel for the great place :-)

Room Tip: Ask to see the different rooms and pick your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I was looking a Hostel near everything, city bus, terminals, restaurants , bars and the marina!!!! and I found it!!! Baja Cactus Hotel and Hostel offers the best, for a good price!!!! Emanuel the manager and part owner, guides you to anywhere you want to go!!! from the airport to nearby tourist spots!!! or any walking near by spots!!!!

Room Tip: It all depends, it has private rooms or share!!!!! I did'n t mind sharing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verdeazul43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my week at Baja's Cactus Hotel. Got the room last minute and for only $45 and had a huge room all to myself. Rooms have tile floors, balconies and lots of hot water in the shower. The roof top terrace is a great place to chill and get away from the madness of downtown. It is location perfect walking distance to bars and restaurants. Manny, the host was absolutely fabulous with helping with any of my requests. Thanks Manny and Baja's Cactus Hotel for a great week in Cabo!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went to Cabo for New Years with no reservations! Managed to find this place available for 2 nights at a great price, around $50 US. We first thought it looked kind of sketchy as another reviewer did, but once we got to the room and spend some time there we were really glad with our choice. The room was HUGE and had a balcony and large shower. The water pressure and temp were pretty good. Neighbors were loud at night for 1 evening but the second night was very quiet. They have wifi avail in the common area on the 3rd floor only; good signal strength. They also provide a light breakfast that is usually some type of bread, which was nice to have to start the day. Location was amazing; everything within walking distance. I appreciated the gate that locked at night, felt very safe. Bonus is that hotel is flanked by 2 amazing restaurants! We would definitely stay here again. Much more of an affordable and local experience. If you want to be a pampered tourist this isn't for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

There are many better places for the $60 a night price tag. Room was pretty dirty, had to open a master lock pad lock to get through the metal gate at night, and overall it was pretty sketchy. Never had a real problem but after night 1 of 2 I wanted to find a new place. You get 1 towel, 1 roll of toilet paper two bars of soap, and a shampoo. I'm use to nice places so maybe I'm biased but I definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamJDsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#34 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel

Property: Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel
Address: Lazaro Cardenas Street | Entre Matamoros y Ocampo, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first Hotel & hostel property in Los Cabos,with a funny and relax atmosphere. We are located just one block away from the Marina and the night life, with the best prices in town. We have 5 private and shared rooms,air conditioning,cable TV,free Wi-Fi .The rooms and the facilities are cleaned daily. We have a common living room with kitchen and games table. We are located 5 minutes away walking from the beach and the shopping area, one block away from cabo wabo and all the night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajas Cactus Hotel y Hostel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing