We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to End the Night”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #46 of 628 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

With the decor, the drinks, the food, and the specials this place ended up being one of our favorites. Check it out at least once while in town because you won't be disappointed. It was definitely a good value for the drink specials (such as two beers and two tequila shots). It's clear this place is going to continue to deliver!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Telerobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Telerobot:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributor" because you've written 11 reviews about establishments in 9 cities. Thank you very much for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina. Thank you for naming your review "Fun Place To End The Night" and for giving your review a "5-Star" rating.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "one of your favorites" in Cabo San Lucas. I appreciate you wrote about our "decor," our "drinks," our "food" and our "specials." I appreciate you enjoyed paying only $5 as the REGULAR PRICE for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Paciico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth tequila....that's 4 real drinks for the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....all the time, today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, 365 and 24/7....all the time!

Please try and find the time and the means to return soon!

Best wishes for lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,140 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We watched the Germany-Ghana game here and like previous reviewers, thought this place was great. Two shots & two beers for $5! We ordered wings and chips and salsa/guacamole. All very tasty. I cannot attest to more than that, but it's a great little watering hole. The service was attentive though the bar wasnt very busy. Large bold signs quoting their exchange rate (13 pesos). Much better then the lil blue bar next door. I'll be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank washmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

washmjd from Palm Beach Gardens, Florida:

You're a "Top Contributor" because you've written so many Trip Advisor reviews and received 30 helpful votes from readers. Thanks for writing such a nice review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Great Place to Hang Out."

I'm very happy that you "thought this place was great" and thought all the food you ate was "very tasty." Thanks for describing Happy Ending as "a great little watering hole" with "attentive service" and a "much better" exchange rate than the "lil blue bar next door." I hope to meet you in person when you return....please try and make it soon!

You live in beautiful and affluent Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. Prior to development, the land that became Palm Beach Gardens was primarily cattle ranches and pine forests, as well as swampland further west. In 1959, wealthy landowner and insurance magnate John D. MacArthur announced plans to develop 4,000 acres and build homes for 55,000 people. He chose the name Palm Beach Gardens after his initial choice, Palm Beach City, was denied by the Florida Legislature, because of the similarity of the name to the nearby city of Palm Beach. MacArthur planned to build a "garden city" so he altered the name slightly. In 1959, the city was incorporated as a "paper town" meaning that it existed only on paper. The 1960 Census recorded that the city officially had a population of one, apparently a squatter whom MacArthur had allowed to stay on his property. Rapid development took place in the 1960s. By 1970 the city had a population approaching 7,000 people. As of the 2010 United States Census, the population was 48,452. The city now has a number of gated communities and many affluent residents.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Had a blast. Axel the bartender was on it. He was there every time. Hopefully when we go back he will be there. We ordered a few tacos and they were also good.
Thanks again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Sean M from Ventura, California:

Thank you for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about your visit to Happy Ending Cantina. I sincerely appreciate you named your review simply "Great" and gave it Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating.

Axel, one of our most popular day shift bartenders, asked me to personally thank you for all the nice comments you wrote about him. Axel and I are both happy that he was one of the reasons you "had a blast" during your visit. Axel has been one of our bartenders practically since the day we opened almost 6 years ago and will be here the next time you visit.

Thanks for pointing out that you enjoyed our tacos. We have 5 full time chefs that prepare some of the most delicious food in Cabo San Lucas.

You live in beautiful and historic Ventura, California, located on the Pacific Ocean between Malibu and Santa Barbara.
In 1769, the Spanish Portola expedition, the first recorded Europeans to visit inland areas of California, came down the Santa Clara River Valley from the previous night's encampment near today's town of Saticoy and camped near the outlet of the Ventura River into the Pacific. Fray Juan Crespi, a Franciscan missionary travelling with the expedition, described the area where the Chumash Native Americans lived as "we saw a regular town, the most populous and best laid-out of all that we had seen on the journey up to the present time." In 1782, Father Junípero Serra, the first leader of the Franciscans in California, founded Mission San Buenaventura in what would become the city of Ventura. The mission was named for St. Bonaventure, a Thirteenth Century Franciscan Saint and a Doctor of the Church. The first mission burned in 1801 and a replacement building of brick and stone was completed in 1809. The bell tower and facade of the new mission was destroyed by an 1812 earthquake. In 1841, Mexican Governor Juan Bautista Alvarado granted Rancho San Miguel to Felipe Lorenzana and Raymundo Olivas, whose Olivas Adobe on the banks of the Santa Clara River was the most magnificent hacienda south of Monterey. After the American Civil War, settlers came to the area, buying land from the Mexicans, or simply as squatters. In 1866, Ventura was incorporated. Vast holdings were later acquired by Easterners, including railroad magnate Thomas Scott. He was impressed by one of his young employees, Thomas Bard, who had been in charge of train supplies to Union troops, and Bard was sent west to handle Scott's property. Bard is often regarded as the Father of Ventura County and his descendants have been prominently identified with the growth of the county. The Union Oil Company was organized with Bard as President in 1890. Ventura is located between the Ventura River and the Santa Clara River, leading to soil so fertile that citrus grew better here than anywhere else in the California. The citrus farmers formed Sunkist Growers, Incorporated, the world's largest organization of citrus production.

Best wishes for having lots and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place for a beer and tequila shots. I love the old pin up art work on the walls. I always go there while my wife gets her nails done and a facial at a place around the corner.

1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Brian G from Redwood Shores, California:

I sincerely appreciate you rated your concise review of Happy Ending Cantina with "5-Stars," Trip Advisor's highest rating, and for naming it "One Of My Favorites."

Thank you for describing Happy Ending Cantina as a "great place for a beer and tequila shots." All our food and drink prices are the best you'll find in Los Cabos. For example, the REGULAR PRICE of our popular "'Promo" is always only $5. The "Promo" consists of 2 full-size, 355 ml, ice cold bottles of Pacifico, Pacifico Light, Corona or Corona Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth pure agave tequila....that's all 4 drinks for only $5....all the time. "All the time" means right now, tonight, tomorrow, tomorrow night, next week, next month, next year, 365 and 24/7....all the time!

I'm happy that you" loved the old pin up art work on the walls." As you probably found out, we have 20 different Happy Ending logos that adorn T-shirts, posters and many other types of souvenir merchandise. Each logo has a different beautiful classic pinup originally oil painted in the 1940s or 1950s. Happy Ending's souvenir merchandise has become the most sought after in Cabo.

You live in beautiful and historic Redwood Shores, California, located roughly halfway between San Francisco and San Jose. In the 1960s, Redwood Shores was built up from reclaimed land in the marshes of San Francisco Bay....but the Redwood Shores almost never came to be. The owner of the land, the Leslie Salt Company, filled in soft ground known as "bay mud" formerly used for salt-evaporation ponds, but a significant controversy developed over fears of its susceptibility to serious earthquake damage because the area is close to the famous San Andreas fault. The ensuing battle between various government agencies and business interests eventually put Leslie Salt out of business. As a result, Bank of America became the owner of the development in 1972. Redwood Shores is now populated with million-dollar homes, town homes, condominiums, and apartment complexes. Many of the houses and condominiums surround waterways and lagoons and have access to inner waterways through private boating docks. Major technology companies maintain headquarters in Redwood Shores, among them Oracle and Electronic Arts. In 2009, Forbes magazine rated Redwood Shores "Number One" in "America's Top Selling Luxury Neighborhoods."

Best wishes for having only your "Favorite" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Every bar or restaurant in a resort town shouts about their "fun" and "wild" atmosphere. Happy Ending needs no such hyperbole - they just deliver the goods. This is a visually dense place - floor to ceiling covered in various items left by patrons with good wishes - and it's a small place. The food is filling, well prepared, and the beer was as cold as it was well-priced. Great tacos, and a variety of salsas for all palates. Add in some jello shots, and a table side magic show, and it was a night of good full-belly laughs.

1  Thank snowmanonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

snowmanonfire from Livingston, New Jersey:

Because you've written 30 reviews about establishments in 17 cities, Trip Advisor has designated you a "Senior Contributor." Thank you for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina. I honestly believe your review is one of the nicest we've received. It reads like it should have been rated "5-Stars." Perhaps the next time you visit you'll reward us with a "5-Star" rating. Thank you for using such a unique name for your review, "More Fun And Flavor Per Square Foot!"

Thank you for pointing out that Happy Ending simply "delivers the good" such as a "fun and wild atmosphere" without all the hype. I appreciate you described Happy Ending's food as "filling and well prepared," our beer "as cold as it was well-priced," and with tacos that were "great." Our 5 full-time "real" chefs are some of the best in Cabo. They cook delicious fresh food between 10:00 am and 3:00 am everyday.

I'm also happy that you enjoyed Samuel, Happy Ending's in-house Magician. Samuel has been a professional international Magician for over 25 years. Without a doubt, his close up magic is the best in the business.

I hope you can find the means and the time to be able to return soon to Cabo San Lucas.

You're fortunate to live in beautiful and historic Livingston, New Jersey. Livingston's history dates all the way back to 1699 when 101 Newark settlers set up a committee to negotiate from Lenni Lenape Native Americans for the purchase of the Horseneck Tract which today includes Livingston and eight other municipalities to the north. About 50 years later, a series of events prompted Timothy Meeker to form a group of settlers to riot against the British government. The Horseneck Riots lasted for 10 years from 1745 to 1755. The group was also one of the first colonial militia which had periodic battles for 32 years leading up to the Revolutionary War. In 1776, the group joined the Continental Army. After the Revolutionary War, more permanent settlements took place and the first school was built in 1783. In 1813, the Township of Livingston was officially incorporated. Livingston was named for William Livingston, the first Governor of New Jersey. Governor Livingston's original family Coat of Arms is currently used as the township's seal. During the 1800s, lumber and farming were major industries in the town. Shoemaking and dairy subsequently became major industries during and after the Civil War. The population grew quickly after the 1920s when automobiles became more accessible. As a suburb of Newark, the township experienced many housing developments especially after World War II. In 1970, the population peaked at more than 30,000 residents. During this growth period, many services were organized including a volunteer Fire Department in 1922 and the first regular Livingstone Police Chief in 1929. Today, 28,000 people enjoy a suburban lifestyle with close proximity to New York City. Its highly-rated school system and other programs consistently draws new residents to Livingston. Its population has become increasingly diverse while the residents maintain the tradition of community volunteerism.

Best wishes for having lots of "Fun and Flavorful" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing