We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Bar”

Happy Ending Cantina
Ranked #32 of 574 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
West Branch, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Local Bar”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My other half and I visited Happy Ending on one of our day trips into downtown Cabo. The walls are plastered with dollar bills and we left our mark as well. The wait staff was very friendly and the drinks were cheap. Two shots and two beers for 5 bucks. We met a few locals that explained how much Cabo has grown. Stop in if you are by the marina.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Renee W from West Branch, Michigan:

Thank you very much for all your wonderful comments and great recommendations. I appreciate you summed up your feelings about Happy Ending by naming your review "Great Local Bar."

I'm happy that you and your "other half" had so much fun at Happy Ending. Thank you for describing our wait staff as "very friendly" and our "drinks were cheap." I'm pleased that you enjoyed paying only $5 for 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 delicious double shots of our super-smooth pure agave tequila. $5 is the REGULAR PRICE for all 4 "real drinks" and is in effect everyday, every night and all rest of the time too!

Thank you for recommending others to "stop in if you are by the marina."

You live in the beautiful, family orientated and small town of West Branch, Michigan, founded by Charles Taber and Mr. Goodar. In 1863, the town was known as "Logan's Mills" and later as "Springville." It later became "West Branch" when lumberjacks named it after the "west branch" of the Rifle River.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,140
    384
    108
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Bar In Cabo! Love This Place!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I always recommend everyone to visit here but never have done a review directly... sorry Gene as promised here we go! Better late than never! We have always recommended Happy Ending in every review of the stay in Cabo at Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe which now is the Hyatt Ziva. Great Fun Bar & Great Staff! Through the years always great to see Gene, Axel and Pedro. Gracias Amigos!
Our most recent trip to Happy Ending was on St Patrick's day it was fun watching the staff having fun getting there green on for the party ahead.

Happy Ending is always on our to-do list, I always get extra cards from Happy Ending and give them to people we meet that have gone and thanked us for telling them about it, they Loved it. Cabo has many bars but hands down this is the BEST BAR IN CABO!!!

Its always Happy Hour at Happy Ending ALL Day & ALL Night long. 2 double shots of tequilla and 2 beers (Corona or Pacifico) for $5.00 you can't beat that!!

Since then we been back every trip many times, took our family when we came they loved it didn't want to leave we made it our first stop in Cabo and our last before heading back for our hotel shuttle.

Love the new area in the bar where you can buy lots of very cool Happy Ending souvenir memories, awesome t-shirts, beer koozies and so much more. Put a Happy Ending souvenir T-shirts on your list!

Be sure to visit Happy Ending website love the song! Can't wait to return!

Happy Ending Amigos we will be back again in October! Cheers :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayaDelSauble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
PlayaDelSauble from Guelph, Ontario, Canada:

Thank you for writing such a wonderfully long review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "The Best Bar in Cabo! Love This Place!" There can be only one "Best" of anything and I'm so happy that you thought the "Best" bar in Cabo is Happy Ending! That really means a lot especially since all the hard work all our crew members do to satisfy our customers who are also the "Best in Cabo" as well! Thank you for rating your review with all "5-Stars." Your overdue review is better late than never!

Happy Ending's "Best" customers are just like you...they are repeat customers who refer all their friends and strangers to Happy Ending. Your recommendations are very much appreciated and are one of the main reasons that Happy Ending remains the "Best-of-the-Best" in Cabo San Lucas. Thank you for bringing you family to Happy Ending and for always making it your first AND last stop every time you visit Cabo San Lucas.

It's been an honor for me to be able to spend time with you every time you visit. It was fun being able to share the last St. Patrick's Day with you at Happy Ending as well. You're now an Official Member of Happy Ending's Family.

Axel and Pedro each asked me to personally thank you for mentioning them by name in your review.

Thank you for writing that "Cabo has many bars but hands down this is the BEST BAR IN CABO!!!"

Because all our prices are always so low it seems like it's "always happy hour at Happy Ending." However, we never use gimmick pricing schemes like Happy Hour, Ladies' Night and Two-for-One at Happy Ending. We don't have to because our prices are the lowest in Cabo. And, just like you wrote, we only sell the best brands of Mexican beers: Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico and Pacifico Light are always only $2 for a full-size ice cold bottle. For our thirsty customers who love super-smooth tequila with their beers, we have our "Promo." The everyday REGULAR PRICE of our "Promo"....everyday and every night is only $5....for 2 ice cold beers AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth pure agave tequila....that's only $5 for all 4 drinks....all the time!

I'm pleased that you "love the new area" that sells Happy Ending souvenir merchandise. A couple months ago, the lease ended for the large jewelry store located next door to Happy Ending. We decided not to release the property and to build a large Happy Ending Boutique in the space. The Boutique can be entered either from the street or from the inside of Happy Ending Cantina since we removed an interior wall. Thanks for mentioning our Happy Ending souvenir T-shirts. We now have more than 20 different Happy Ending logos that adorn our men's and women's T-shirts, tops, bottoms, koozies, etc., etc., etc. Each logo features an beautiful vintage pinup that was originally oil painted in the 1940s or 1950s. They have become the most sought after and the most popular T-shirts in Los Cabos.

Thanks for describing the song that plays continuously on Happy Ending's website. I think it really conjures up visions of Happy Ending for everyone who loves Happy Ending as much as you!

The entire crew and I are eager to spend more time with you this October. Cheers to you too!

You live in beautiful and historic Guelph, Ontario, Canada. Guelph was originally selected as the headquarters of British development firm "The Canada Company," by its first superintendent, John Galt, a popular Scottish novelist who designed the town to attract settlers to it and the surrounding countryside. In 1827, the Canada Company established Guelph during the development of the Huron Tract. Guelph was officially founded by the symbolic felling of a tree on St. George's Day, April 23, 1827, the feast day of the patron saint of England. The town was named to honor Britain's royal family, the Hanoverians, who were descended from the Guelfs, the ancestral family of George IV, the reigning British monarch. Thus, Guelph's nickname is "The Royal City." In 1879, Guelph was incorporated as a city. In present time, Guelph has a very low crime rates, a clean environment and generally a high standard of living. Guelph is consistently rated as one of Canada's best places to live. Guelph had one Canada's lowest unemployment rates throughout the 2008–2012 global recession, and has ranked at the bottom of Canada's crime severity list for the past five years.

Best wishes for lots of only the "Best" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value in Cabo”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

They have a drink special for $5 USD you get two beers and two shots of tequila. This is what drew us in but the atmosphere and great staff kept us here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handersen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Handersen79 from Portland, Oregon:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful concise review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Great Value in Cabo."

I'm happy you enjoyed our "Promo." It consists of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth tequila for the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....for all 4 drinks...today, tomorrow, next week, next month, next year, 365 & 24/7. If you just want to drink one beer at a time, the regular price is always only $2 for each full-size ice cold bottle. One double shot of our delicious tequila is always only just $1 each. All our other drinks are priced just as low. For example, our huge, freshly made Margaritas are always only $5 each....and they're always made with expensive El Jimador, a top shelf tequila and always served in large, hand-blown Margarita glasses.

Thanks for writing about our "atmosphere" and "great staff." Many people compare Happy Ending's ambiance to that portrayed in the old TV show, "Cheers."

Portland is a beautiful place you happen to call home. It was almost named "Boston" way-back-when. In 1843, William Overton, a Tennessee pioneer, and Asa Lovejoy, a lawyer from Boston, Massachusetts, filed a 640 acres land claim with Oregon's provisional government for the area that would later become "Portland." Two years later, Overton sold his half of the claim to Francis Pettygrove of Portland, Maine. When it came time to name their new town, Pettygrove and Lovejoy both wanted to name it after their home towns. They flipped a coin, Pettygrove won and "Portland" got its name. Imagine if Lovejoy had won....there would now be a major city in Oregon named "Boston!" "Boston, Oregon" just doesn't sound right to me!

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for food and drinks”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere! You can't go wrong stopping at Happy Ending!! Loved it! The $5 drink special is everyday. They also play good music and the bartenders are friendly. They allow you to go behind the bar to take pictures.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trazay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Trazay W from Plainfield, Illinois:

Thank you for choosing to write your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina. I sincerely appreciate you gave your review Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating and named it "Great Place for Food and Drinks." ALL your comments were really very special and very much appreciated.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as having "great food, great drinks, great atmosphere!" I'm so pleased that you "loved" Happy Ending and wrote that we "play good music" and our "bartenders are friendly." I hope you enjoyed our FREE high-speed WiFi and took advantage of our FREE long distance phone calls to stay in touch with family and friends back home.

I'm happy that you went behind one of our bars and took pictures. I wish you would have posted them along with your review. We encourage all our customers to visit behind out bars and take pictures in front of our large Happy Ending logos. Each logo contains a beautiful vintage pinup originally oil painted in the 1940s or 1950s. Each pinup is positioned over a hand drawn map of Baja California partially surrounded by the words "Happy Ending Cantina - Cabo San Lucas." We now have more than 20 logos, each with a different vintage pinup, that adorn men's and women's T-shirts, tops, shorts, sweatshirts, posters and lots of other souvenir merchandise. Our merchandise has become the most sought after in Los Cabos and are all very unique.

I hope you can find the time and the means to return soon to return to Cabo San Lucas and to again party at Happy Ending!

You live in beautiful and historic Plainfield, Illinois. Before Plainfield was officially platted in 1841, it was called Walker's Grove. In 1816, the land was bequeathed to the United States as part of the Treaty of St. Louis with the Council of the Three Fires. The earliest Europeans in the area were French fur traders. In 1826, the first European settler was James Walker, who traveled with his father-in-law, Methodist Reverend Jessie Walker, where he established a small mission for the Potawatomi Indians. In 1928, James Walker, Jesse Walker's son-in-law, became the first European to claim land in the area. Also in 1828, James Walker, in the company of several men, erected a sawmill around which the settlement of Walkers' Grove. At one time, the two longest paved highways in the world, U.S. Route 66 and Lincoln Highway, crossed within Plainfield. In 1990, there were 4,557 people in Plainfield. According to the 2010 Census, Plainfield's population has grown to 39,581 because of its friendly, family orientated, residents.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cabo Fun!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fun place with great music, and entertaining to watch everyone!! We stopped to have a drink after all day in the sun and ended up eating dinner too! Food was great!!! Staff is very attentive and fun to sign your name to a dollar bill and post on the wall!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
LisaWY from the State of Wyoming:

Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations and for naming your review "Cabo Fun!" I sincerely appreciate you gave your review Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating, especially since Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributior" for all the great reviews you've written and for receiving so many helpful votes from users of Trip Advisor.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "fun place with great music" with "great!!!" food and a "very attentive" staff. Those are really super-nice comments and very much appreciated.

I'm pleased that you also enjoyed watching our other customers and found it "entertaining." Happy Ending has been attracting the most fun loving type of customers since the day we opened almost 6 years ago.

Without a doubt, our crew members are the best in the business. They enjoy working at Happy Ending and it shows in the way they treat their customers. None of our staff will ever make you feel like they're doing you a favor by showing up for work....no way Jose! Each of our crew members spends their first month on "probation" to see how well they work and, most importantly, how well they treat our customers. The few that are able to demonstrate the traits we're looking for become full time employees. The rest are let go. Many of our employees have been working at Happy Ending for over 5 years.

I'm very happy that the time you spent to have an afternoon drink turned into having dinner at Happy Ending as well! Once many customers see how well they're treated, how inexpensive our prices are and how delicious and how affordable our food is they become regular repeat customers. Out 5 full time "real" chefs prepare some of the most delicious food your find in Los Cabos....always served in generous portions at very affordable prices!

Thanks for personalizing a dollar bill that we attached to our wall. It will still be there the next time you visit whether it's next month, next year or whenever! The latest estimate indicates there are now about 8,000 bills adorning our walls and ceilings!

You live in the incredibly beautiful and historic State of Wyoming, home to Yellowstone National Park....the first national park created in the world, and the least populated state of the United States. The Crow, Arapaho, Lakota, and Shoshone Native Americans were but a few of the original inhabitants encountered when white explorers first entered the region. In the late 1700s, French-Canadian trappers from Québec and Montréal went into the area and used French words to name mountains such as Téton, La Ramie and others that are still used today. What is now southwestern Wyoming became a part of the Spanish Empire and later part of the Mexican territory of Alta California, until it was ceded to the United States in 1848 at the end of the Mexican-American War. John Colter, a member of the Lewis and Clark Expedition which was guided by French Canadian Toussaint Charbonneau and his young Shoshone wife, Sacagawea, first described the region in 1807. At the time, his reports describing the beauty of the Yellowstone area were considered to be fictional. In 1850, Jim Bridger located what is now known as Bridger Pass, which the Union Pacific Railroad used in 1868—as did Interstate 80 ninety years' time. Bridger also explored Yellowstone and filed reports on the region that, like those of Colter, were largely regarded as tall tales at the time. By 1865, the region had acquired the name Wyoming when Representative Ashley of Ohio introduced a bill in Congress to provide a "temporary government for the territory of Wyoming." The territory was named after the "Wyoming Valley" in Pennsylvania, made famous by the 1809 poem "Gertrude of Wyoming" by Thomas Campbell. The name ultimately derives from the Munsee Native American word "xwé:wamənk," meaning "at the big river flat." In 1868, the federal government established the "Wyoming Territory." Once government-sponsored expeditions to the Yellowstone country began, reports by Colter and Bridger, previously believed to be apocryphal, were found to be true. This led to the creation of Yellowstone National Park, which nearly all of lies within the far northwestern borders of Wyoming. In 1890, Wyoming became the 44th admitted the Union of the United States. In 1924, Wyoming became the first state to elect a female governor. Due to its civil-rights history, Wyoming's state nickname is "The Equality State," and the official state motto is "Equal Rights."

Best wishes for having lots of "Cabo Fun" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you,.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing