We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Misiones De Kino

Misiones De Kino
Ranked #12 of 628 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Misiones de Kino Pasta Bella & Bar “Where Mexico and Little Italy meet for a true culinary experience” We have dedicated our Restaurant in honor of Padre Eusebio Francisco Kino Eusebio Francisco Kino (August 1645 – March 15 1711) was a priest from a town in what is now northern Italy. For the last 24 years of his life he proved that Baja California is not an island but a peninsula by leading an overland expedition there. By the time of his death he had established 24 missions and visitas (country chapels or visiting stations). Misiones de Kino is our “visita” (visiting station) for new and old friends, to share wine and break bread with each other. We welcome you to come and enjoy the tranquility and seclusion of an early Baja style Mission. Misiones de Kino specializes in authentic Mexican, seafood dishes and exquisite Italian cuisine, all brought to you by our family Trattoria.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unfortunately this was a disappointing spot. I ordered the octopus I the special sauce. The octopus was strange and fatty like somehow. I love octopus and have never experienced that before. The house special garlic sauce was really heavy and creamy.

The setting is very pretty though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 285taral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I had a long talk with my kitchen staff about your dish, I wish you could have informed us then so we could have redone the dish or replace it with something else.
We want all our clients to leave happy and we did not accomplish that for you, please accept my apology.
Thank you again for coming in and for reviewing us so we can better our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 624 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

A little off the beaten path but well worth the search. A nice Mexican ambiance but that's not why you go. Great job with the fresh fish platter for 2 & ceviche. Definitely worth the trip if you're a seafood lover!

Thank abayoumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We are honored to prepare your fish for you, but even more honored that you enjoyed it so much you wanted to share it with others. With all the restaurants out there we are truly blessed with the customers that we have both new and old.
Look forward to seeing you again.
And thank you again for coming in and for reviewing us, TA really helps with the growth of our business and we are grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

LOVED this place. Quaint and in a quieter part of town. Delicious seafood and Mexican fare. And the servers were lovely. Highly recommend!

Thank 647oliviak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for coming in and dining with us, and for taking the time to let others know of your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A totally delightful authentic Mexican restaurant off the beaten tourist path, but with the ubiquitous strolling musicians at dinner time. There is nothing pretentious about this place and it is not air conditioned but fans were provided on the hot August night we dined there. The service was excellent, as was the seafood we ordered--freshly prepared Baja style. Apparently green salads are not a common entre in Baja but the young waiter went out of his way to "add extra spinach" for this señora and presented me with the best salad I'd had since leaving the states. Kudos to him and the chef for that extra touch! Prices were very reasonable compared to the resort fare along the coast and the marina. Dining there was one of the best experiences of our vacation as it provided a taste of the local culture away from the resorts and tourist traps. A great find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Sometimes it's nice to go off the beat and path and remember what Cabo was like 20 years ago, we are grateful that we are still off the beat and path it's kept our charm over the years.

We are always willing to accommodate our clients in whatever needs they have, and if extra spinach does it or anything else we will do it happily.

Thank you again for coming in and for remembering us enough to go on TA and reviewing us, we are very grateful for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were recommended Misiones De Kino by RedRum fishing charters. We went out fishing in the morning and took our catch to Kino. They did a fantastic job of preparing our Mahi Mahi in so many ways. We got ceviche, shashimi, and about 6-7 preparations of the fish for a main course. And all for a very reasonable price. Everything was great. We were a group of ten and could not be happier. The restaurant decor and atmosphere was perfect for the night. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend trying it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cec8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel V, Owner at Misiones De Kino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We can't take all the credit, you were referred by a great company and you brought the fresh fish. Fish prep is one of my favorite ways to enjoy a meal because you get so many options to try.

Thank you again for taking RedRums recommendation and allowing us to prepare your fish, and for sharing your story with others.

Trip Advisor is such a great tool for both the client and the businesses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Misiones De Kino also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Misiones De Kino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing