We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in paradise”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in paradise”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

If you like the huge mega resorts with thousands of rooms and lots of people, this is not the place for you. The Solmar is a small quaint resort with about 140 rooms. The resort grounds are beautiful but the room decor is outdated. The Solmar markets its self as an All Inclusive resort but is not setup to offer all inclusive service which is a plus. The hotel restaurant TEJABAN has no big buffet. You order your meal from a menu and it is cooked for you while you wait. The food is 5 star. Mixed drinks are a bit watered down but the beer is cold. Definetly try the mojitos. FYI: Imported alcohol (non-mexican), room service and Lobster are not included in the all inclusive deal. Also if you visit the sister resorts (Playa Grande & Grand Solmar), the all inclusive does not appy here either. I learned that the Solmar is marketed as all inclusive to attract more people. The owner is using the Solmar to raise money to build the Grand Solmar next door. There is some constuction noise, but it is kept to a minimum. I hardly noticed the noise during my stay. The hotel is a 10 minute walk or $6 USD cab ride away from downtown Cabo. Although this resort is on the beach, the beach is not swimmable. There are some huge waves that crash on the beach that are beautiful to hear and watch, however will drag you out to sea if you get to close. The beach is public property, therefore the hotel can't stop you from going in the water however ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK. You can either walk 20 minutes or take a taxi to a swimmable beach. I recommend anyone coming to Cabo stay at the Solmar. You will definetly get your moneys worth. FYI: If you need a good bar to go to, try Happy Endings. 2 beers and 2 shots of tequila $5. If you like hip hop and like to club, go to El Squid Row

Room Tip: Room #2352. Beautiful oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerH_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    518
    193
    98
    55
See reviews for
328
815
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

All the staff was extremely accommodating, especially Danny and the restaurant and Gonzolo at the pool bar. The food at the restaurant is really good quality with lots of variety. We didn’t eat anywhere else the whole week (highly recommend the all-inclusive option). We could walk right onto the beach from our room, and the construction never bothered us. A perfectly relaxing resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.J.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have to start by saying I have been going to the Solmar for over 15 years. This resort was not known for its fancy smancy look, it had a real feeling of being in Mexico. That’s what drew us back year after year. So my story is that the resort ripped out the main pool and bar/lounge sometime last year and left us with the two smaller pools. Shame on me for thinking that they were upgrading the pool for the new wing of the resort but I was told the original Solmar owners will not be allowed to use the new pools. But the new resort owners can come over and use ours. Mind you it’s really the same resort. We can eat at the new restaurants and spend our money but can’t swim in the new pool. Mind you they took our pool away to build there’s!! I usually go with 15-25 people in my party every year and I can assure you this my room service/bar tab is well over 2-3 thousand dollars at the end of the week, I will not spend a nickel at this resort at my July stay which I can’t get out of with 17 people. Well Solmar I hope it’s worth it!! I am sure the old members will feel the same after they experience your 1 star treatment.

The same people that helped you gain such a great reputation will also be the ones to tarnish it!!!

NOT HAPPY OWNER
George Spada

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank G-Spada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

what an incredible week and everyone at sol mar was so accomodating and helpful. I loved that it was more quiet than Medano beach resorts and the waves on the pacific side are to die for. I could sit and watch and listen to them for hours. And still we were close enough to walk anywhere we needed to go! What a great week with all our family!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabolovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We were in Solmar Resort for 3 nights and 4 days.. we enjoyed every single day of it.. we loved the pool bar..Gonzalo the barman in the pool bar is an amazing guy, all the staff are really friendly and efficient! The restaurant TEJABAN is seriously out of this world.. is amazing!! The food quality its just unbelievable, so amazing! We just loved it, its great value if you are into the all inclusive like us! I will never forget the shrimp ceviche in there!! There was construction going on but we were impressed that we didnt even noticed.. no noise.. no nothing we thought that was great eventhough so much construction next to the resort was going on! Valet parking is great! It's not a party hotel, its a relaxing atmosphere, if you want party just a few steps away is the Marina to hop into the jungle cruise! Me and my boyfriend would definitely stay here again, we loved it!!!

Room Tip: Room 2242 has an amazing view to the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aradelarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We just retururned from our trip to Cabo and Solmar Suites (mom dad and female teen) Solmar Suites is in the midst of some BIG changes and they DO try their best to accomodate those who stay with them. I did read reviews of construction noise, but really, it didn't bother us at all. Hardly ever noticed it and we were in a unit right beside the new Grand Solmar. Yes, the restaurants are expensive, but what resort's restaurants aren't? It is what it is....Yes you CAN walk to Cabo, but it IS hot and exhausting, for us anyway. A trip by cab will be $12/RT plus tip. Worth it though!!!! Timeshare prestntation is like all others...if you want freebies (we did get good ones) just sit through it, but be firm. Promos are worth it. Cabo IS expensive! We had a very nice time.....relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 2141 with a view of the main pol
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Arriving the Solmar quite frazzled with severe sleep deprivation, Linda at the front desk and Andre the valet, quickly soothed my fraying ends. Linda was professional, efficient and had a great sense of humor. Andre took care of everything I needed.
I was in Cabo at the Solmar organizing a large group, which had ever changing accommodation requirements. Linda never lost patience or her smile.

The service in the restaurant was perfect, the food delicious and the view spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbsailbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,674 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing