We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be much better”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Used to be much better”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our fifth or sixth stay at the Solmar, although it has been three years since we've been.We don't own at Solmar, but we found experienced it on an exchange, we just keep going back. We were devastated to see the grand old lobby and main pool and dining/drinking palapa completely gone! You now check in at a little hole in the wall. All this to make way for the new Grand Solmar. What used to be the quieter secondary pool is now the main pool for the resort.

I am shocked that the owners of Solmar (Grand Solmar and Playa Grande) have gotten away with this. How could you tell someone who recently purchased at the original Solmar, "You know that great open are lobby leading to the great pool and ocean view?Well its being demolished to make room for a Grand esort that will make us more money. Have a nice day!" The Grand Solmar is very im pressive, but at what price?

We took the timeshare tour of Grand Solmar out of curiosity. It is well designed and has some incredible features; but we couldn't couldn't get the taste of what they were doing doing to our beloved Solmar out of our mouths. The presentation lasted way too long (alot of daudling and delay). Our guide David was pleasant enough. Once we determined that we were not ready to commit to a purchase, he surprised us by giving us his email on a page with some numbers to mull over and told us to email him before we left Mexico if we decided to buy. We were impressed enough we decided to discuss it over a couple cold ones at the pool bar. Then came the kill guy. David handed over and left. When we told the new dude (bald with white hair under the lower lip) we were going to take David up on his offer to think it over, everything changed. Not only were we told you buy now (exchanging other timeshare we own) or the deal is dead. He even refused to allow us to take the paper David had given us and promptly showed us the door. I wouldn't have purchased from that guy if he had cut the rate 75%. A resort that is supposed to be so upscale and unique, you shouldn't have to try so hard. I personally think they are desperate to sell off the units available to finance the remainder of the project.

Having unloaded all that, the original Solmar (even with the severe decapitation it has experienced) is still one of our favorites. We still had a great time at the pool bar and enjoying the beautiful views. The staff at Solmar continues to be one the most pleasant and helpful around. The pool bar staff are awesome, especially Gonzalo. We will return to enjoy what Solmar has to offer while it lasts and before they inevitably level it to expand the Grand Solmar. Next time, however, we will skip the freak show of a timeshare presentation and will just focus on all the good the Solmar has to offer.

Room Tip: I would request the one bedrooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cabocrazy131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MembersSOL, The Management at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear "Cabocrazy131313":

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Solmar.

We appreciate your kind comments about our Resort and the Staff.

We understand your point of view regarding the time-share presentation, please be sure that our best intention is that you and your family become owners of one of the most beautiful resorts, in the best locations in the world.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Cordially,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    525
    196
    98
    56
See reviews for
336
825
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

1. I was prepared for the construction, it only got irritating on two occasions when very large equipment ran until about 8:30 pm. During the day I didn't even notice it.
2. Not everything on the menu is included in the "all inclusive", however, the food was very good, and better than any all inclusive that we have ever stayed at.
3. You have to sign for all drinks and meals, even though it is all inclusive, which is a bit off putting.
4. At checkout I was informed that they had charged my account a $10.00 donation for a local charity, which they would be happy to remove if I didn't want to donate. I just thought that was obnoxious.
Having said that, I really do like the place although it will be gone in a year or so.
The location is perfect for someone who wants to be close to the Cabo "wild life" but you can have quiet evenings as well if you want.

Room Tip: construction is on the South side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Playa Grande, Solmar, Los Cabos during the Christmas holidays (Dec 31 to Jan 7 2011-2012). We opted for a time exchange condo, and we were plesantly surprised.
Best things: beautiful grounds, away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Cabo san Lucas... but close enough to walk, beautiful ocean view, great restaurants, fun and entertaining evening shows, Miriam, Christina and Roberto are great entertainers who will make sure you have a good time; accomodating, not too busy, happy hour everyday, VERY SAFE resort... good security.
Bummers: cant' swim in the Pacific ocean (although great views of dolphins, seals, whales, and flying bat fish), a room on the bottom level is very noisy, people hogging beach view chairs...but isn't the case everywhere

Room Tip: Pick a room on upper levels, to avoid noise and people walking though your outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We just got back from the Solmar and we were pleasantly surprised.

Check in:

We knew to expect construction, so we asked for a room away from all the noise. They obliged and we were happy with that. Check in was pretty smooth but they sent us to go talk to a lady to "complete" the check in process. Well the lady actually books people for Timeshare presentations. She was persistent and we did want to check out the Grand Solmar anyway and so we did the TS presentation. It wasn't my favorite part of the trip but It wasn't too bad. It did take about an extra hour over the 90 minutes that they say. For our time we were given a discount for massage at the hotel.

The room: 3/5

Our room was rather large and had two bathrooms which was a big plus. The room is pretty outdated but for the price we paid we really couldn't complain much. I had to take pretty quick showers as the water got cold after about 10 minutes, but maybe that was only in my bathroom. The room fridge comes stocked with 4 sodas, 2 waters and 2 beers and its is only stocked once. You get additional waters when you are at the restaurant. Keep them and store them in the fridge. The Fiji water and coffee in the nice bag is not included. They should be marked with a price but in my case the coffee was not and sooo...they charged me. The charged was removed after they saw that it wasn't labeled.

The food: 4/5

The food was great. There were many items on the menu to choose from and it changed for breakfast lunch and dinner. The only problem we had was that it just took a REALLY long time to get the menu, get the food, get the bill and get on... The servers were all really nice and we really enjoyed Alejandro's service in particular, you can't miss him he is this little guy with a big heart that's doing 100 things at once. We had the all inclusive package and were wearing a bracelet but you still have to sign for your check each time. Tip 1** We found that it is sometimes faster to order lunch by the pool. Tip 2**Check over your bill and make sure that extra items are not added on your bill that are not part of "all inclusive" i.e. lobster. The front desk lady stated that steak, shrimp and lobster were not included in the all inclusive. We asked the waiter and he said that only lobster is not included. We ordered steak and shrimp with nothing additional added to our check out bill. Lastly, the restaurant closes at 10:00 but stops serving food at 9:30. Best time to go is probably around 8 to make sure they still have everything on the menu.

The pool: 3/5

The pool was small but somewhat heated. We hung around the pool each day for a few hours and then headed to Playa Grande pool which had a little more excitement. PG has happy hour so we made sure to stick around for that since PG is not included in all inclusive.

The beach: 5/5

Nice beach, not crowded, great for whale watching and relaxing. I wish I had binoculars with me though :) No swimming allowed and once you're there you can see why...


Overall, we enjoyed our trip despite some hiccups and we will possibly return. It is very close to the marina and that was also pretty cool. The staff was very pleasant which made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yay4vacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Solmar All Inclusive as an all inclusive misses the mark. We knew that there was going to be construction next door, we knew that this was an older property but, when transfer to and from the airport was not included, we should have sensed the coming disappointment. Food was great, staff were attentive and hard working but, behold the refrigerator stocked with 2 beers, 2 Sprites and 2 Cokes. Thats all Folks! The restaurant charges had we not been "AI" were ridiculous. Our luggage did not make it with our flight, we were charged 147 U.S. dollars for the phone call to the airline. Nothing like paying for a hotel with a swimming pool and swim up bar to find the entire area filled with cruise ship passengers and kids waiting for their time share presentation. Nothing was said of the morning without hot water. Nothing was said the next day when we lacked hot water again except,"We'll have maintenance look at it." We paid for the special Christmas dinner (we received a 40% discount) but, they didn't bother to mention that the 42 dollar charge was really the regular Teleban menu with a glass of undrinkable sparkling wine for the three of us. If you like beer, you better like one of three included with the "AI." The efforts of an excellent and hard working staff are put to waste as management uses Solmar as a doorstep for cruise ship visitors and people on the time share presentation list. All too bad as with this excellent location, some activities and real attention to the customers Solmar could be at least a 4 Star destination.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulverde, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have visited Cabo San Lucas many times and ALWAYS stay at the Solmar. The rooms are incredible, the private beach is amazing, the staff is so very wonderful, the food exquisite. This is a place that you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

As owners of three weeks at Solmar (whatever that may now be since it has divded into Solmar Beach Club and Grand Solmar), Solmar is transmuting from a sleepy, remote, beautiful beachfront property to an overpopulated, highrise, and overused resort. It's beach is virtually unuseable due to construction, its pools are overcrowded thanks to the construction of a ten story building housing three ties the number as before Solmar's "remodel" and its invitation to cruise ships to bus clients to the hotel in an obvious effort to sell time shares in a very aggressive and offensive manner (one patron who attended a presentation had his driver's license held hostage while he waited for over an hour while Solmar was "processing" his denial of interest in a purchase). He and his wife were actually frightened by the aggression showed by its sales force.

Apart from what its conversion, construction noise, inadequate faciliies for its guests, and lousy food have made this former idyllic resort, it is now a VERY unattractive choice for a vacation or a time share.

For those who have owned at Solmar for many years, there is only uncertainty and a clear unilateral alteration in contract terms and expectations. For example, those who purchased at Solmar with use of facilities that no longer exist find themselves "locked out" of the new facilities which are characterized as a "remodel" of the old facilities (e.g. Grand Solmar). One might ask how that can happen. Ask and you will receive a hundred different answers. Lawsuits will undoubtedly follow.

This resort continues to screw its former owners while selling false promises to those its sales force targets for enormous prices. Runor has it that the current owners in Solmar Beachfront will soon see thweir units torn down and replaced by highdensity highrise buildings. We would advise holding off and buying on the secondary market if you are inclined to buy at all. This resort is headed downhill fast. Get anything you are told orally in writing and then don't expect it to be honored.

Room Tip: Insist on a one bedroom ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingSolmar, Public Relations Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear guest;

Your opinion is very valuable to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Our Customer Services department has been treating each case to those members whose units were affected. If this is the case please let me contact you to discuss the alternatives that we have been offering to satisfy our valued owners.

The job our sales department is doing is not intended to offend anyone this is an optional and open invitation to the public. I will verify it is done with the high standards of service provided.

In the service areas our goal is to continue offering personalized and exclusive service for our members so we will make the necessary adjustments to meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your comments which are very useful as an integral part in our evaluation and improvement cycles.

Sincerely

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,704 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing