We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little all-inclusive resort in Cabo”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late May and had an excellent time. Here's some highlights:
* Cheap: had a deal on living social and stayed for 4 days for $800 total. As it was an all-inclusive that meant free food and drinks all day. Also got 50% off of scuba diving through the promotion.
* Quality Resort: Room was great, we were upgraded to a luxury suite. The resort is definitely a little old, so some things didn't work quite as well as you would like (the room jacuzzi temperature wasn't hot, they had someone in to fix it the first day but couldn't get it to work. We didn't really care as we spent most of our time at the pool). The resort itself isn't enormous but has two pool areas and 3 bars and wasn't too busy during the week. Also, if you want to use the gym, their sister resort has a great one that is only a 3 minute shuttle ride away (and they run the shuttles non-stop).
* Awesome Food and drink: This was the biggest surprise for me, I didn't think the food would be that good of quality but it definitely was. Suggest the catch of the day for sure, also the nachos and shrimp tacos. And for drinks their pina coladas are great, otherwise I mostly drank beer.
* Pleasant staff: Everyone was very nice and attentive; we did notice that when the resort got busier during the weekend, the wait for drinks got a little longer but that's to be expected.
* Good location: only 15-20 minute walk from the pier and downtown Cabo

Only downside is the construction going on at their sister hotel nearby, but its not too loud and never bothered us. And its certainly not a resort like ME with parties going on non-stop, so wouldn't recommend to people looking for that type of experience.

I know we're looking forward to our next chance to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bauer_justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear bauer_justin;

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort.

We appreciate your maintenance reports we are taking care. At the same time we are glad to know you had a good vacation with us and you have enjoyed our location, drinks, service and the food. Certainly due to our resort' size our chef can offer fresh food just cooked at the time providing good quality to our customers at difference of the buffet food.

Once again we thank you for visiting us, it will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Solmar 5/28-6/2. We had an excellent time with great food and great service. Cristina, our concierge was amazing. She was extremely helpful, nice and patient when helping us plan our activities. Javier was also very friendly and helpful as well. This is an older resort but well maintained. We would definitely go back. Service at the restaurant was slow at times, but it was worth the wait. There is construction going on (8am to 6pm), but it really didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Ms. Maira;

First of all we thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and the service of our personnel. We are working with our food and beverage staff to make the service more agile.

You will be happy to know we are working to refresh our suites. We intend to make them bright, fresh and comfortable to our customers.

Once again we thank you for your visit, come back soon!!

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed at the Solmar Resort 5/13 - 5/19. Staff was very polite and helpful and almost all spoke very good English. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff was very good. Food was very good, whether ala carte or buffet meals. All-inclusive was the way to go for us. Location was great - 10 minute walk to the Marina and 15 to downtown. The only thing we didn't care for was the length of time it took to get a ticket to sign for the meal. I assume they do this keep track of their expenses, but it took awhile after we we done eating to get this. But overall, a great place to stay. We REALLY enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teerif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Teerif;

Thank you very much for taking a time to share your experiences at Solmar Resort. We are glad to know you have enjoyed the warmest of our personnel, our food, location and the resort. Thank you once again for your comments they help us to improve.

Come back soon!!

Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Three couples spent a week at Solmar and had a great time. The resort was immaculate and the staff all spoke english and were very polite and helpful. The food was outstanding with a good selection. Make sure you go all inclusive because the prices for food and drinks to the time share owners was very high. You can not swim at the beach because of the undertows but you could lay at the pool and listen to the waves crashing. We used Transcabo transportation from the airport and the Solmar shuttle back and they were both very good. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get on a top floor with an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank abbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear abbytwo;

Greetings from Cabo!!

We thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Resort, your comments are of great importance to us.

We are pleased to know you and your friends have enjoyed your vacations. It is our goal to full fill your expectatives.

Thank you again for your visit we hope to see you again with more family and friends, it will be our pleasure to host you.


Cordially

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This was my second time today, but the first time for my husband. We had an amazing time together! We were there from April 26th - April 29th. It was perfect! We did everything that we wanted to do and even extra things that were not in our plan. The weather wasn't the greatest (it was hot, but not as hot as we thought it would be for late April). We loved where we stayed! The people that work there are great, the luxury suite was bigger than our one bedroom back home. We enjoyed having two bathrooms. The food was great! The mixed drinks were great (the ones I tried)! We just loved it! We want to go back again in two years to the same resort because we loved it to much! We had a great experience and so Happy that we stayed at Solmar Resort!

Room Tip: The best is if you get a view of the beach! The view is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LosChabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Los Chabos;

Warm greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your vacation, the service of our personnel, the food, beverages and accommodation. It is our goal to full fill your expectative.

Thank you again for your patronage and do not wait too much to give us the opportunity to pamper you.

Cordially

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We bought a LivingSocial deal for 3 nights all-inclusive and couldn't be happier. This was our first trip to Cabo...love the contrast of desert to ocean. You can't swim in the ocean in front of the hotel, but come to find out, there's only a few places where you can swim (Medando beach) in the ocean. The pools were great. We ate at both El Trajebon (breakfast was the best - most amazing 'french' toast I've EVER had) and the poolside 'sports bar' (didn't go back since we recieved better service at the main pool and resteraunt); food was average... drinks are really where it's at for the all-inclusive. We would definiately go back with another couple/friends. The superior location allows for privacy and serenity, yet just a short and safe walk to the marina, bars, boardwalk, and nightlife. We went one day to the sister-property's pool (GORGEOUS) but prefered our little resort. It was more calm and away from the could-be chaos of other places.

GREAT service by all reception staff. ALL staff, from waiters to cleaners, were nice and said hi when we passed by. Only got asked about a timeshare once (hey, she was doing her job) and we said a firm no and didn't get pestered. The worse is the airport... they will hound you and it's very confusing to know who to trust (for the pre-arranged shuttle) and who is trying to scam or sell.

Docking one star for out-dated style details of amenities in rooms (comforters, towels, etc).

Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms provide great ocean views and sounds but beware nighttime crowd can get a little lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JennyGWU09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Jenny;

Thank you very much for your visit to Solmar Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are glad to know our staff have provided you a good service and you have enjoyed our facilities. Certainly the location of the resort couldn’t be better; on a secluded beach but at the same time at walking distance to down town area for those whom want to explore the shops or night life.

Once again we thank you for visiting us, it will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Cordially

The Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel, itself, is beautiful. It's modern, ultra clean ALL the time, and is right on the beach. All staff members I encountered (reception, maids, gardeners, bartenders, waiters, chefs) were flawless in every way. They were attentive, quick, kind, highly responsive to every need, and they were "silent and invisible" when I didn't want to see them. The food was simply amazing. I don't know how to describe it other than to say that the chefs work magic, both with the grill and with the artful presentation of food, and they didn't skimp on the food portions. (The table linens are beautiful, too...if that matters to you.) The bed was ultra comfortable and the beautifully tiled shower/bath was simply...luxurous. It's big enough for one to safely complete a full pirouette with the sliding shower doors closed! (I tried. I succeeded.)

Construction of an adjoining (?) hotel looms four floors high directly over Solmar's main pool area and the beachfront. The noise (constant metal and wood saws, lots of hammering, shouting and whistling, and a squeeky, whirring crane) starts daily at 7am on-the-dot, echoes throughout Solmar's courtyard (even to the back buildings) and continues nonstop (except for a 1-hr lunch break) until about 6pm. There is no escape from this noise, even 1/2 mile down the beach. (I tried. I failed.) Potential guests might want to consider their overall tolerance and ability to quickly adapt to this *particular kind* of noise. Even the best quality ear-plugs don't block it out. (I tried. I failed.) Perhaps one might try to find HUMOR in all the noise. (I tried. I succeeded, on occasion.)

The beach, itself, is nearly deserted (yay!), but the steep angle of the sand creates a constant rip tide and a super-strong undertoe, even at low tide. Be warned: Even the strongest swimmers cannot swim in this clear, blue, seaweed-free, coral-free, debris-free ocean. (I tried. I failed.)

During my stay, 85% of the other guests were well-mannered, however, 15% of them seemed to have forgotten that other guests were present. Some talked/laughed loudly in the courtyard and walkways well past midnight before finally slamming their hotel doors, while others blasted their T.V.'s with their patio doors open at 7:30am. Some had lengthy loud conversations, shouting across several balcony/patios (!) in the middle of the afternoon, while some brought radios to the main pool and turned the volume up so that all other guests (who had acclimated to the construction noise and were once enjoying reading, snoozing, or conversing) were required to hear (and talk over) stress-inducing "music" at 11:30am. These 15% of people, at various times, caused the Solmar "paradise" to feel more like "low-rent apartment living." Why didn't I approach any of the perpetrators? No one wants to be seen as the "killjoy" and suffer sneers and sideways glances for the remainder of his/her "paradise vacation." Perhaps the management will establish some "noise" guidelines - the most important one being: Guests *must* use headphones for personal radios in all shared areas of the hotel.

Once the construction stops and once some general "Respect other guests' enjoyment: Keep your noise-levels down" guidelines are established and gently enforced, this WILL be a 5-star resort.

Room Tip: Lower rooms get much plumbing noise from the rooms above, however, there's no ceiling noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Christine H;

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am sorry you found the resort a little noisy at the same time I am glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sharing your comments with our personnel it is stimulating to know they have contributed to accomplish with your service´s expectations.

We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience.

Cordially

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#39 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,992 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £77 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing