We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solmar Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$884
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$846
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$401
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$441
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$782
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$3,439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,930)
Filter reviews
1,930 results
Traveller rating
978
578
208
101
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
578
208
101
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjose luisplaya grandetejaban restaurantsushipacific sideswim up barupper pooltime shareall inclusive packageshort walk to the marinamain restaurantprivate beachlovers beachdivorce beachrestaurant stafffood and drinksthe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,348 - 1,353 of 1,930 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very relaxing resort. Likely due to it's size. It is small, but that was what we wanted. As soon as we arrived we were greeted and bags were taken to our room. Tips are included, but we left a small trip for those that helped us move our bags. All inclusive option definitley worth the price, but wouldn't call it "all-inclusive". Premium drinks, wine, and most beers were not included. Neither was the lobster dinner. However all of the food we had was very good, and we didn't lack for having cocktails. Service was very, very, very slow, and sometimes not friendly. Sushi was very good. Concierge not friendly, but she helped us with what we needed. Maid service very thorough and friendly. I really liked the proximity to the marina. 5-10 min walk, depending on how fast you walk, and very safe. Pacific beach was beautiful, although now swimmable, which we knew before we booked. Baby turtles were hatching and we were able to partcipate in a couple of releases for free, which we had planned to pay for when we booked the trip. The climb over the rocks to Lover's Beach isn't easy. Not extremely difficult, but don't attempt in flip flops. We found that if the tide was out, we could walk from Solmar, down toward the marina, take a right at the main road, head out to the local beach, and continue to Pelican Rock. With a few more short climbs over rocks, you can reach Lover's Beach, Neptune's Thumb and Los Arcos. The Grand Solmar is still under construction, but the only time we noticed the noice was while sitting at breakfast. It seemed to stop about mid-day, so you could enjoy the pool, with no construction "ambience". Definitely try the option of Puerto San Lucas. For a $9 per person booking fee, you will receive the all inclusive benefits at the restaurant. All inclusive at this restaurant includes premium liquor, wine, and all food except lobster. Food was very good, drinks were great, and Diana, our server, was outstanding. Both times we went. It's a short, 5 min walk from the resort, but they have a shuttle available also. Back to the Solmar - rooms were large, and comfortable. Maid service was excellent. Room was always clean and maids were friendly. All rooms have a patio or balcony, and views of the Pacific. Lots of time share owners, who are all friendly and will offer tips about what to do, where to go around town. We will definitely be returning to the Solmar, and are dissapointed to hear it may be demolished within 5 years.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful, near to a pool, but we didn't hear any noise. Only noise was from staff outside the door.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank truthfultravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear customer from Washington;

On behalf of Solmar Resort, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I offer you an apology due to the slow service you have received and due to the concierge attitude, measures have been taken to fix it and fill our customer’s expectations.

By the other side we are glad to know you have enjoyed your All Inclusive program and the additional service from our Puerto San Lucas Restaurant as well as the customer service from the rest of our staff.

Certainly the hatching of baby turtles it is an incredible miracle of the nature and participates in their release is amazing. We are glad you have enjoyed it as well as the pacific views and our proximity to down town.

Please do not wait too much to return and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was our 15th trip to the Solmar. The people are great as always, especially Andres. The friendly people that always have a smile add so much to our trip. Patty, at the pool, was really great with our three grand chirldren. John Larson

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mr. Larson;

Thanks for visiting us for all these years. We greatly appreciate your preference and the time you took to share your experience at Solmar.

All of us at Solmar will be waiting for your next visit to pamper you as you deserve.

sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We have been going to Solmar resort for years. It's quieter and more private than the bigger and
'flashier' resorts on either side(Grand Solmar and Playa Grande) Personnel as Linda Perricone and
Raymundo at the front desk are very helpful. The boys: Juan, Andres, David and Gerardo are
very efficient.
Stay away from time- share sales people.
Fishing is good in November. There is usually a person near front office that can help with fishing info.
R. Ridge

Room Tip: Rooms in Bldg F on right side are a good location. Ask for a pad for sofa bed.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mr. Russell;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar.

It is our pleasure to have your visit during all this time. We are glad you found our staff helpful and attentive. Certainly fishing could not be better on this season and Marco is always glad to assist our customers.

Thank you again for your patronage.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

To Whom it may concern,



On our recent trip in November 2012 and stay at the Solmar Beach Resort we found one of the security guards Ruben Figueroa exceptionally courteous and friendly.

He spoke perfect english and was very willing to answer any of our questions and give us directions. He is definitely an asset to the resort.



William & Jane Thompson

Cathedral City, California

Room Tip: The main problem we had with our room was the noise from the construction
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneT135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mr. & Ms. Thompson;
Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Beach Resort.

We are glad to know you have received an exceptional customer service from Ruben. You deserve this and more.

Certainly your opinion will be considered in our internal cycles of evaluation of our personnel.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I had never visited Cabo before. This resort is a bit older, but has a prime location at the tip of the penninsula between the Pacific and Sea of Cortez. This means you are close enough to hear the surf and see the ocean, but the resort strongly discourages you from spending much time on the beach or in the water for liability reasons. This is of little consequence, because there are plenty of other things to do from this location. The marina and downtown features of Cabo are a short walk away from the resort, so I did not feel like we were deprived.

Our travel package was "all inclusive" for both food and alchoholic/non-alchoholic drinks, which meant I was in paradise. The whole four days I was there, I did not encounter any food or drink I disliked, and the service was exceptional. They were in the midst of expanding the property and there was a construction site next door to where we stayed, but this noise somehow managed to blend into the background along with the pounding surf.

One thing I will remember about this stay is the amazing sunsets. We were at a location where we could see the sun slip below the horizon and also see the moon rise at the same time. I took some pictures, but don't think my camera did full justice to the beauty of what I witnessed.

Room Tip: Check the internet for bargains on rooms at this property
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nadine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Ms. Nadine W. from Salt Lake City, Utah;

Thank you for sharing your experience at Solmar All Inclusive Beach Resort.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations, the meals and beverages provided on your All Inclusive program as well as the customer services from our personnel. We agree you, the location of the Resort allow our customers to enjoy of spectacular views and amazing sunsets.

Thank you for having stayed at Solmar Resort, we hope to have the pleasure of your visit once again.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews