We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Construction noise wasn't an issue for us... and we were very close to it. You really couldn't hear it in the condo. I was initially worried about the noise due to previous comments of guests to this resort. The room had comfortable beds. It is an older resort. The drinks were horrible at the pool, but breakfast was always good well priced. Great water pressure in the shower. Amazing house keepers that always did an excellent job. I will probably never go again in September due to amount of bugs and bug bites we all received. I've never seen so many flies on our food (everywhere in Cabo). January is our typical travel time and we have never previously had bug problems.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to the pent house, but its really the same as the other rooms, just a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheripie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    510
    188
    97
    55
See reviews for
314
792
51
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountlake Terrace, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Solmar All Inclusive Resort is definitely older than the other two Solmar resorts in Cabo but that didn't matter much to me or my husband. The food was really good and the service even better. We didn't spend much time in our suite, so the decor wasn't really a big deal. The resort staff were very friendly and the wait staff that worked in the main restaurant (Tejiban) went out of their way to provide excellent service. I especially want to thank Leonor, Raul, Ernesto, Vincente, Daniel, Alejandro and Francisco!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dghouston721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week at this quaint resort. It is about 40 years old but still displays the class and style of Cabo. The staff is excellent, kind, helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to make you smile. Yes, there are newer resorts with expensive amenities, but you won't find a better atmosphere than the pool chairs or better yet the beach chairs out near the ocean to enjoy the sights and sounds of Solmar!
We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lperonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have been traveling to Mexico for 30 years and never been sick, thank God, but my last trip not only did my Girlfriend and I get sick so did many of the other guests. Construction went on, Their other property, right next to the building we were in started at 8:00am. The place was pricy for what it is not a real friendly staff. Lastly you are hounded by time share scams!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonnyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our week at this resort, but it was marred by the overshadowing of construction of the Grand Solmar next door. Constant noise! This new resort is open, and is quite "over-the-top". By contrast, our resort felt dated and lacking amenities. Having said that, the staff was very pleasant and the resort was well maintained and very clean. Two pools, one with a swim up bar. Food was only average. The resort also sits back from the beach and because there is no swimming in this area, I felt disconnected from the beach. Nice view of the ocean. Easy walk into town. Enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is one of Cabo's oldest hotels. You can tell because it has not been updated. Don't let this discourage you, however. It is clean, quiet at night (there is construction next door at the Grand Solmar). It is all inclusive and the food is not served buffet style, at least while we were there. Everything was made to order and it was very good. The room was clean and cool and the bed was comfortable. It is not the party-all-night type resort and if you want that, try the Riu or similar. I would recommend this hotel. I suspect the construction next door will be going on for at least 6 more months...maybe longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away (to the right) from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCoMoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My daughter choose Cabo and this resort for her wedding. we spent almost a week at this great, classy resort, which started a few days before the wedding. The entire wedding party stayed there. We enjoyed the resort amenities and all inclusive during the days and met for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday.

They arrange for a special dinner right after the wedding, setup right on the beach and had live music with a special meal prepared for the wedding party dinner.

The service, food, rooms and staff were all super professional and friendly. We ate so much so Sushi and had drinks by the pool. Had a great massage by the beach.

I am certainly planning to go back for vacation soon and frequently.

Room Tip: When you venture out of the resort for snorkeling or scuba diving or any tours, go with the reputabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing