We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mother/daughter trip”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“mother/daughter trip”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Firstly, would be much more enjoyable and quiet if it wasn't for the construction zone next door. Sometimes you can tune it out and other's it's very annoying particularly when they start very early in the morning and end late at night. The staff is incredibly friendly, wonderful and accommodating. The food was really good as well. The negatives were that they gave away (or so they said) our room on the beach and acted like they were upgrading us to a penthouse when we paid for the room on the beach!!!!! The room did have sewer smells coming from the vents or bathroom or somewhere. Really unpleasant. You have to pay for the wi-fi which I think should be included in the price and they need more bathrooms around the resort. Otherwise, would recommend and would return when the construction is over.

Cindy L
Los Angeles, CA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIndy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear customer from Los Angeles, California;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I would like to apologize due of the noisy conditions you manifest. Regarding rooms allocation, we always try to accommodate our customers’ request if possible, I am sorry we could not do it this time. By the other side I have shared your comments with our food and beverage staff, they are glad to know you have enjoyed their customer service and the cuisine. Once again thank you for your patronage, I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    518
    193
    98
    55
See reviews for
326
815
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place is awesome!! the food was good and the service great! this was the best experience in a Timeshare resort we have had. The rooms almost all have a great view. Watch out for the beach though, its non swiming. But everything else was perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear customer from Dallas, Texas;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your kindly comments are well appreciated and this motivates us to continue working to exceed your expectations. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the short future. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our 4th trip to Cabo and our first stay at the Solmar Resort.

Los Cabos is great and I would recommend it to anyone.

We were fortunate to stay at the Solmar Resort for two weeks and had a fabulous time.
Yes there is construction next door at the Grand Solmar but you don't really notice it until noon, when the workers take a break, then you really enjoy that hour of peacefulness.

The room was great. Sure it is an older hotel and a bit outdated, but the rooms were clean, the housekeeping was excellent and we had a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean.

The food at the resort was also great. Leonor and Ernesto did a fantastic job in looking after us. Even after two weeks we were not bored of the menu.

All in all, we had an enjoyable time.
Cheers,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear customer from Burnaby, Canada;
We appreciate very much your kindly comments. It is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed your two weeks vacations and the facilities of the resort. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the near future you can be sure we will do our best to provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We just returned from a 5-day trip to Cabo and we stayed at the Solmar. We did our research ahead of time and were well prepared for the daytime construction at the nearby resort. Yes, we could hear the construction, but it didn't interfere with relaxing, socializing, and enjoying our time at Solmar. Beautiful beach, gorgeous pool area, qualified staff members who gave top-notch service, and absolutely delicious meals. While the accommodations might be considered aged in appearance, our rooms were clean, safe, and provided more than enough space for two adults to travel. The social environment was comfortable, relaxed, and friendly. We loved the close walk to the Marina, restaurants, bars, and market area. As a part of the all-inclusive plan, we were able to complete a short walk to the fitness facilities next door. The WiFi service and "bottom shelf" drinks could have been better, but we were overall very pleased with our stay. We hope to return SOON!

Room Tip: Request for a location away from the construction. We would recommend asking for a 2nd or 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear customer from Des Moines, Iowa;
I appreciate very much your time to share your experience. It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff has provided you a professional service. Thank you for your comments on drinks, we promise to work on it. Please do not wait too long to come back and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have loved the Solmar Beach Club now for 9 years and have been going there every year for a week. It is a comfy jewel on a wonderful beach , getting crowded out by ever more fancy places, which could be in any city.
This year it was not relaxing to be at either of the 2 pools, since the noise from Grand Solmar construction was so invasive , that u could not have a decent conversation , nor relax with a book.
We tried to escape the noise by going to a Grand Solmar pool at the other end and were informed that Solmar Beach Club guests were not welcome to use the facilities….even though the GS buildings are taking over the spaces we had bought as timeshare area 9 years ago.
The Solmar personnel however is friendly ,very responsive and helpful.
The walk to the town is comfortable and at the bottom of the hill are buses, which carry u so many places into town for 10 pesos. It is fun to use them and practice spanish!

Room Tip: right now there is no escape from the noise at any unit, except for Sundays. Otherwise work with jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uriggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear customer from Northern California;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate very much your patronage along all this years. Please accept my apology due of the noisy conditions you manifest encountered during your visit. By the other side I am glad to read that our staff has provided you a professional and friendly service. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon. Be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nothing good to say about this place. Algae in the pool, dirty rooms, this is not a good place. Construction noise is unreal, all day long, you can't get away from it. No entertainment or even music at the pool, a guest brought he I pod and that was our entertainment. They had no cold beer and they got a cooler filled with ice to cool the beer, for real? Then they ran out, there was about 10 people at the pool and they ran out, really? I ask for 4 waters to make a pot of coffee in my room and they would only give me one? All Inclusive? The guy would only give me one and had me sign for it, take it to my room and come back 3 more times and sign each time, I got my 4 bottles of water so I could make a pot of coffee, what a joke. We have been to many AI's and this was the worst ever. We left mid week and stayed at another resort, it was so great to get to a real resort.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, if it was for free I would not stay here. The noise was unbelievable with the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlwaysCabotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear customer from Minnesota;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my apology due of the inconveniences you are manifesting. I have shared your feedback with my managers since technically there is no reason for such kind of reports; there is a complete team of maintenance doing daily preventive jobs in our swimming pools. Bars and restaurants are supplied daily with products from our warehouse for our customers' enjoyment, this include the cold beers. Unlimited coffee is provided at our restaurant all day long and evian water is supplied to your suite for a minimal extra fee if you desire. Once again I apologize for this atypical situation. I will make sure things will be handled differently in the future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Returning from a trip using a Living Social deal we did not expect to spend a week next to a construction site. After a while we could blend the noise out, we could not blend out the smelly room (the sell of toilet, etc.). There is not much room for your belongings, it is hard to put your stuff away. The food is quite good, the stuff exceptionally nice and helpful. All in all it was not an exceptionally good nor an exceptionally bad experience, we will certainly not go back to this place however good the deal is. By the way: the wine is CAVIT, I think, to be had in the US for about US$ 10 a gallon - I expected Mexican wine, which usually is of good quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeliOpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear customer from Carefree, Arizona;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I really apology due of the noisy conditions you manifest. Thank you for recommend our food and the customer services from our staff. We would be honored with your visit once again you can be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,667 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing