We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Cabo San Lucas.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location in Cabo San Lucas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you like to hear the ocean and fell the breeze, you would like Solmar. The location is perfect, kind of secluded but within walking distance from the town or you can take the bus down the hill for 10 pesos. I recommend the spa treatment at the cabana, the service was fantastic and the price was reasonable. If you like walking, this place is ideal you get a good work out walking near the ocean, if the ocean is calm and you are a good swimmer, you can go for a quick dip in the ocean at your own risk.

Room Tip: Higher rooms allow you to enjoy the nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear customer from Alameda, California;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is rewarding for us to know that you have enjoyed your vacation. I'm glad you found time to enjoy our spa cabanas. It's a great decompressor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon and provide you an even better experience. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    498
    187
    97
    52
See reviews for
311
777
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have hesitated to write a review because I wasn't sure I could find enough accolades for the incredible food, drink, and service we received. This was our 3rd trip to Cabo in as many years. First time was on a cruise ship then last year we stayed on Mendano Beach. This year, reluctantly, I booked this because I had two weeks from platinum interchange to exchange. What a great choice. Yes the construction noise was bothersome, so be prepared BUT since we were there Christmas week, arriving on Sunday there was no work on sunday, Tuesday or wednesday. Lucky us!
Now on to the various bartenders, wait staff and of course Selene. Alejandro, Gerardo, and all the others were so fun and attentive. Kudos to all of them making our stay incredible. The all you can eat was well worth it and there was never a need to leave the hotel. Every meal, from breakfast to lunch to dinner was prepared impeccably and deliciously. Honestly, the Christmas dinner was a disappointment but out of 21 meals, that was a little glitch.
The bartenders at the pool bar and also the upper pool bar were attentive and mixed yummy Miami vices, mojitos and double margaritas. The steak quesadillas were a hit with the family as were the Mexican breakfasts. And the SUSHI!! The wait a bit long but so darn worth it. Oh my, my mouth is watering thinking about those yummy Capri things...??? Not sure if that was the name. But we tried most of them and ymmmmmmmyyyyy.
My adult kids are still talking about the very quiet beach where we just relaxed and then were rewarded with beautiful sunsets. A great family vacation with 24, 28, 30, 32 year old kids. We are hoping to return next year!

Room Tip: Well you want to be away from construction. The closed windows help but just keep in mind it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ykroneberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear customer from Los Alamitos, California;
It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with your family and that our staff has provided you a warm and attentive service, this motivates us to continue working to fulfill and overpass our customer’s expectations. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again as our guest in the short future and have the opportunity to pamper you as you deserve.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent Dec27- Jan3 week there for our honeymoon. Old, but very clean and quaint. Food was good. Service was excellent. Not too excited about the construction next door, but got used to it and hardly noticed it. Great location!

Room Tip: "I" building was quiet and could not heaar construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear customer from Saskatoon, Canada;
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us in such special occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Warm greetings from Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Spa Cabana spa treatments exceeded my expectations.The masseuse, a lovely woman who was with child was so attentive, professional and polite performed 2 treatments during my stay. Wonderful, Wonderful. Please forgive me for forgetting your name. Patty and Alina arranged my appointments and even poured me a cup of tea to enjoy during my short wait. Very professional women but friendly and so accomodating. The restaurant staff very welcoming and the food delicious. Hotel staff always available to assist. Regarding the construction noise never affected our trip. I would visit again I found the place to be a hidden jewels. The lotteria around the pool bar so much fun. Embrace the quaint , quality and personal service you receive at this resort.
M husband and I met some very friendly people who were enjoying as well.

Room Tip: Our room was directly above the pool away from the restaurant. Never heard AC Unit especially enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear customer from West Allis, Wisconsin;
We appreciate very much your kindly comments. It is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and our staff has provided you an attentive, friendly and professional service. Thank you for recommend our spa services, I am very sure this treatments help to get a total relax. Please do not wait too long to comeback and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

A vacation to Cabo San Lucas was a gift I gave my daughters and their husbands for Christmas. Staying at the Solmar Resort was a gift I gave ALL of us. We found the grounds well maintained and located within a short walk to the Marina area. And how can you beat looking out your room directly to the Pacific Ocean? We found ALL staff members very congenial and always willing to help with any of our needs. The food and beverage service was exceptional. The quality and quantity was great, but it was the service from the wait staff that made it even better. My daughters were most impressed with Selene. Her people skills and energy level from leading water aerobics class to poolside Zumba, to Spanish lessons, to being an amazing emcee for an evening activity at the resort made both daughters feel at home.
Bottom line.....GREAT time in a beautiful place. Thank you to ALL of the Solmar staff from front desk to housekeeping to groundskeepers to wait staff......you made our special trip EXTRA special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear customer from Kansas City, Missouri;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments, it is rewarding to read that you have enjoyed such special vacation and our staff has walked the extra mile to make you feel like in home. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to greet you here once again as our guest and provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings from Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

September 22-28, 2013 was the first time visiting Cabo for my then-boyfriend (status changed to fiancé mid-trip :) ) and I, so obviously first time at Solmar as well. We were nervous about all the negative comments regarding the construction noise but we got such an amazing deal on Living Social we were resolved to make the best of it. Upon checking in we were assigned a room and noticed it was in the building closest to the new building construction. When we asked if anything else was available we were shown a room further away but it was a suite and would have cost us twice as much to upgrade. We tried to get them to do it for free because of the construction but no dice. So we took the first room and as it turned out, not a big deal at all. It was clean, roomy and accommodated our needs beautifully. It was also kept perfectly clean during our whole stay. The bed was plush, pillows were fluffy and the linens were high quality and smelled fresh and clean. We could definitely hear the construction but it was just like ambient noise, never enough to keep us awake or be annoying. We're not super uptight people about that stuff and we were taking full advantage of the free drinks policy so maybe that helped, lol. The grounds were kept immaculately, every single staff member was courteous and accommodating, although we mostly interacted with the restaurant and pool wait staff. Service at the pool is definitely spotty. We ended up going to the bar ourselves to get drinks most of the time, but they were yummy and generous. Totally recommend the mojitos - margaritas were pretty average. For the BEST margaritas, the Jungle Bar in town is the place to go. The pool itself was clean and never over-crowded. Which is nice because the beach is most definitely not a swimming/wading beach. You can't even get close to the water without being asked by the guy patrolling the area what your room number is so he can report you missing when the undertow sucks you out, lol. It's really quite awe-inspiring to watch and as many have reported, the surf comes in powerfully enough to rattle the windows of the rooms. We did scale the rocks at the southmost end to get to Lover's/Divorce Beach (where my fiancé proposed - yay!) but that's really not for the faint of heart. We are Coloradoans and regularly hike some hairy stuff in the mountains but I was terrified at many points of getting up and over the two boulder fields. In the middle is a cove where the surf comes crashing in and at certain times of the day it's completely impassible, so just plan accordingly. It's totally worth it though. Divorce Beach is hot and unpleasant but Lover's Beach lives up to its name. Gorgeous blue water that's wade-able. It gets a little crowded because it is one of the nicest beaches and there are constantly boats dropping people off. Bring your own water because short of some guys hawking papayas there are zero services.

So, to summarize, even though this place is a little dated and looks to be leveled to make way for its bigger, more glamorous sister that's being built next door, it's still a lovely, charming place and super-affordable place to stay. Probably not for someone who wants the latest and greatest, uber-luxury accommodations, but we were absolutely satisfied with our stay. The walk to town is bit of a hike and the weather was very warm and very humid while we were there so we were dripping sweat a lot, but it gave us the opportunity to work off some of the calories we were accumulating with the delicious food and drinks. Oh, and take advantage of the spa/massage services. We did the couples massage and it was so incredibly relaxing and romantic. Well worth the money. Overall, couldn't have been happier. Going on vacation is all about rolling with whatever happens and most of all, living in the moment and the Solmar made all of that easy for us. We hope to return - maybe for the honeymoon! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melsbells88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear customer from Pueblo Colorado;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, we are glad to read that you have enjoyed your vacation and the amenities from the resort. Thank you for recommending our spa services, certainly there is nothing more relaxing than hear the ocean waves while enjoying these treatments. Congratulations for your new status it will be our pleasure to greet you here again as you say for your honeymoon!! Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

first of all i have to say the staff in the lobby bar was amazing thank you so much leonardo you are a star also we ate at calima alot because we loved ernesto and his staff so awesome the recreation stff christina miriam luis ricardo humberto thanks for taking such good care of us. The room were nice . The fromt desk staff is horrible. we had issues with housekeeping and a rude front desk clerk. the rest of the stay was amazing again i thank you but was so upset with what happend i dont think i would want to deal with them again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaG6348LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing