We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time at the Solmar”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Solmar is about a 50 minute ride from the airport but no problem. There is construction going on but it was so minimal that it didn't bother us. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful - the best staff we have ever encountered. We were in an upgraded 1 bedroom, 3 balcony room with magnificent views. It had 2 bathrooms and a kitchen area. The room is a bit outdated but more than adequate. The maid did a wonderful job of cleaning our room everyday. However, the building we were in had no elevator so we had to take the stairs to the 3rd floor we were on. Definitely a work out going up and down during the day but all doable. There is a laundry room on site which is very convenient. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so the staff had laid out a fower petal heart on our bed - nice touch. The food is excellent and pleantiful. There are enough food choices so you don't get bored with the menu. The main restaurant is literally on the beach so you get to dine watching the beautiful view of the ocean. The pool's swim-up bar was great. There is room service which is NOT included in the all-inclusive but you do get 25% off if you are all-inclusive. While we were there there was a buffet Mexican night and another night there was a buffet "party" with traditional Mexican music and dance performers. Both nights the food was great. Our internet worked 95% of the time including in the room so we were happy with that. The value for your money is very good with the all-inclusive. We would absolutely stay at the Solmar again. Thanks to all the staff for helping make our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jean237128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear customer from Scottsdale, AZ.
Thank you very much for having considering our Resort during your last visit to Cabo to celebrate such special anniversary, nothing pleases us more than knowing you have enjoyed your holidays and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you again for your preference, it will be our pleasure to see you here again in the short future. Warm regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were at Solmar at the end of July. This is an older resort, I think, but it is clean, well maintained and the rooms are spacious. Our suite had a living room, kitchenette, bedroom and two huge bathrooms. We had two balconies with amazing views of the ocean. I don't think there is a room in the place that doesn't have a great view. So yes, there was some construction going on behind our resort. Honestly, didn't bother us a bit. The rooms are very quiet and the construction starts and stops at reasonable hours. Head to the pool and you won't hear a thing...or you just won't care. Great pools...great service. You do learn a bit about a Mexico minute (the wait staff jokes about it), but you sure learn to embrace a slower pace...but not much slower! We loved Jose Luis #1 (that's what he called himself...there were two waiters with the same name!). He was fun, attentive and accommodating. He even delivered breakfast to us at poolside one morning. Sandy gave me an awesome massage out in the beach spa...and no it's not too hot to get a massage in a hut on the beach. It was WONDERFUL.

You can't swim at this spot on the beach. The riptide is too strong...and the waves would pretty much crush you, but good swimming beaches are nearby and honestly, I enjoyed watching the strong surf. So relaxing.

The resort is close to anything and everything you'd want to do in town. It's a smaller, quieter resort...perhaps more family-oriented than for the party crowd, but not dull...great fun at the pool. We made some good friends there.

We also were there to celebrate the birthday of my partner, Jim. Everyone worked with me to create a wonderful birthday dinner on the beach for our group of 13 friends. It was wonderful. The food is great too. You order from the same menu every day, but there is good variety. No complaints!

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear customer from Mounds, Oklahoma;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I t’s my pleasure to know you and your friends have enjoyed your vacations and the amenities from the resort. I have shared your review with my staff, this inspire us to continue delivering an attentive and professional service to exceed your expectations. Please do not wait too long to come back and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very outdated. Very basic, bathroom looked dirty. Air conditioner didn't work well. It was hot inside the room. Maid service is terrible! I had to call three times for service on several occasions. The bar tender at the pool was rude. The restaurant was not so good and over priced. Again, customer service was bad. This hotel lacks of customer service. Worse hotel I ever stayed on a beach destination. I have been to Cabo three times and this hotel has been the worse. Also, a cab ride to down town was ridiculously over priced. Twelve dollars for a few blocks away. After finding out of their ridiculous prices, we opted on taking the public bus for under a dollar to the same locations. Only pros: quiet, not a party hotel, secluded beach. But I would never stay here again. If you are going to Cabo, book where you don't have to take a cab.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jane714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice resort, with great food. We had a very relaxing vacation. The staff was very friendly. No loud music at night, just the sound of the ocean. Great location, near the marina with shopping and dolphin programs, and fishing. Love this place, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just returned home from a long weekend staying at the Solmar all inclusive resort. We had a wonderful time relaxing poolside and enjoyed the sound of the waves despite not being able to swim at the beach. The food and service were fantastic! We were lucky to be in building F where the noise of the construction could barely be heard. One downside is the limited shuttle times to take you back to the airport. We scheduled a late flight hoping to make the most out of our stay and later found out that the latest shuttle to the airport left at 1:30 and the all inclusive package ends at 11:00 AM. This was a little frustrating as we could not enjoy our last few hours in Cabo relaxing by the pool, but rather had to sit in the airport for an extended time. Overall, our stay was great and we would return again! Thank you to all the staff for making our trip a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Solymar Aug 2-9 for 1 week. The location is excellent as for being central to town, the marina and the nite life. Although this was not why we chose this hotel, it definitely helped if we needed anything outside the resort. I love the fact that you sit for all your meals and order off a menu, I do not like the buffets of most all inclusive's. Your food is fresh and served to you and you can order seconds and thirds if your still hungry! There seemed to be a lot of confusion on the previous reviews about why u had to sign for everything, well the answer is simple, the hotel is part all inclusive, and part "time share" ppl who have to pay for their meals, you sign so you don't have to pay for your meals if you all inclusive. The manager told us that they would soon be all inclusive as the time share part of the hotel is being changed soon. I suspect this will streamline things in the future for the 'all incl' peeps. we would go back in a heartbeat! The rooms are wonderful and clean in fact I didn't see our maid once, but every time I turned around my room was clean, sometimes 2x's a day it was great! It was nice to not have to worry about pool towells every day, if you need clean ones just ask! Thank you Thomas for great service in the restaurant, and Faviola for my poolside service, love you guys! I wish I could remember more names, as everyone was fantastic. This is a small quiet hotel and I would highly recommend it for some serious rest and relaxation! The High lite of our trip, was our last nite, champagne under the stars on a blanket on the beach it was awesome!

Room Tip: Buildings around the lower pool by Restaurant and swim up bar pool are nice, they are also closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robynmb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Somar Resort for a week and it was picture perfect. We did not know what to expect but we are happy to report that this resort has met everyone of our expectations.

To begin, we were happily greeted by the hotels shuttle service at the airport. On the way to the resort, our driver was pointing out landmarks and attractions which we really appreciated because it was our first time in Cabo. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with open arms from staff as we checked in to our hotel. The front desk asked us the occasion of our trip and we told him we were on our honeymoon and he told us to hold on for one second. He came back with news that they were going to upgrade our room to a master suite! Beyond excited, we made our way to our room. We were welcomed into our room with a bottle of champagne on ice and a heart made out of rose pedals on our bed. Also, the view from our room was absolutely breathtaking.

We quickly set our things down and headed out to check out what the resort had to offer.

Our first stop, the snack bar. Now, when I think of the phrase, "Snack Bar", I think of grabbing a mediocre bite to eat. We were extremely impressed to find out that this snack bar was a full functioning mini restaurant. The cook, Jose, and the waiter, Raul, were fantastic! They catered to our needs and made sure our experience was great. We highly recommend the shrimp quesadillas.

After that, we decided to take an evening swim before dinner at the upper pool. We loved this pool because, it was secluded and quiet for adults.

Arriving late, we were wiped out from our travels and did not make dinner the first night. The next day, we kicked off our day with the swim up bar. The swim up bar is unique. You can order anything you want, not just drinks! The bartenders were phenomenal. We gravitated towards a particular bartender and his name was Javier. Javier went above and beyond what is expected of a bartender and he made our stay just that much more special. The bartenders will create any drink you could ever imagine. Our particular favorite was called a dirty monkey, we highly recommend it.

After several hours of swimming, we made reservations with the restaurant host for 9 o'clock ( there are a few different dinner times, 6:30, 7:30 and 9). Our waiter for dinner was Jose and he was great.

The next morning, we woke up eager to get our day started so we decided to go down for breakfast. Now, we aren't big breakfast people but let me tell you something, IT WAS THE BEST BREAKFAST WE HAVE EVER HAD! We ordered the eggs benedict and the french toast. Like I said, it was the best breakfast we have ever had.

My wife and I did have a few suggestions for the resort. One of which would be some type of light music. Bob Marley, Kenny Chesney, Jimmy Buffett, anything that implies relaxation or background music. The resort did not have much music. Now, we aren't saying we want loud, party music, just something relaxing by the pool.

The other suggestion is wifi. We bought wifi and it did not work in the room. It appeared that the wifi was coming from the sister hotel the Playa Grande. It was 13 bucks for 24 hours and we did not get to use it because it did not work.

Other than that, we enjoyed our time and we will be back to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Thank you Solmar Resort for making our honeymoon special.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
2,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
4,037 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £72 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing