We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay!”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Let me begin by stating how impressed me and my wife were with the service at the Solmar all Inclusive Resort. The rooms were great and spacious, we were pleasantly upgraded upon arrival without asking for it. The agents at the desk very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. They were there ready and willing to answer any questions we had about the hotel or outside venues. What top off the great service of the hotel was when we went to the Tejaban restaurant. My Gosh, Restaurant staff was excellent, could not have asked for any better service and attention, especially Roberto and Ernesto. These guys always greet us with a smile, it does not matter where they run into us, its always a fist bump and a smile or a hello. Awesome, Awesome! BIG! BIG! shout out! Ernesto our main man and Roberto.. See you guys soon

Sincerely:
Ricardo and Daysi

Your Friends

Room Tip: Just be nice and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear customer from Orlando, Florida, United States;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments, it is rewarding for us to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and our service representatives have provided you a memorable experience. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again soon. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    525
    195
    98
    56
See reviews for
336
824
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!! we will be going in November for the 3rd time. We would not stay anywhere else!! Perfect location, great service, and they always try to accommodate your every need. My husband and I will arrive there in November 16th, 2014 to celebrate our 10th anniversary. All the bad reviews are not true, or we would not be going for the 3rd time!!! CANT WAIT!!! SOLMAR HERE WE COME!!!

Anna Marie Scarpulla

Room Tip: they are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ms. Anna Marie S.;
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is our pleasure to read you have enjoyed previous visits. I appreciate your preference and the trust you have placed in us over the years. We are looking forward to greet you here on November for your 10th anniversary, you can be sure that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you’ll be accommodated in everything you desire. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Solmar is about a 50 minute ride from the airport but no problem. There is construction going on but it was so minimal that it didn't bother us. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful - the best staff we have ever encountered. We were in an upgraded 1 bedroom, 3 balcony room with magnificent views. It had 2 bathrooms and a kitchen area. The room is a bit outdated but more than adequate. The maid did a wonderful job of cleaning our room everyday. However, the building we were in had no elevator so we had to take the stairs to the 3rd floor we were on. Definitely a work out going up and down during the day but all doable. There is a laundry room on site which is very convenient. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary so the staff had laid out a fower petal heart on our bed - nice touch. The food is excellent and pleantiful. There are enough food choices so you don't get bored with the menu. The main restaurant is literally on the beach so you get to dine watching the beautiful view of the ocean. The pool's swim-up bar was great. There is room service which is NOT included in the all-inclusive but you do get 25% off if you are all-inclusive. While we were there there was a buffet Mexican night and another night there was a buffet "party" with traditional Mexican music and dance performers. Both nights the food was great. Our internet worked 95% of the time including in the room so we were happy with that. The value for your money is very good with the all-inclusive. We would absolutely stay at the Solmar again. Thanks to all the staff for helping make our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jean237128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear customer from Scottsdale, AZ.
Thank you very much for having considering our Resort during your last visit to Cabo to celebrate such special anniversary, nothing pleases us more than knowing you have enjoyed your holidays and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you again for your preference, it will be our pleasure to see you here again in the short future. Warm regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were at Solmar at the end of July. This is an older resort, I think, but it is clean, well maintained and the rooms are spacious. Our suite had a living room, kitchenette, bedroom and two huge bathrooms. We had two balconies with amazing views of the ocean. I don't think there is a room in the place that doesn't have a great view. So yes, there was some construction going on behind our resort. Honestly, didn't bother us a bit. The rooms are very quiet and the construction starts and stops at reasonable hours. Head to the pool and you won't hear a thing...or you just won't care. Great pools...great service. You do learn a bit about a Mexico minute (the wait staff jokes about it), but you sure learn to embrace a slower pace...but not much slower! We loved Jose Luis #1 (that's what he called himself...there were two waiters with the same name!). He was fun, attentive and accommodating. He even delivered breakfast to us at poolside one morning. Sandy gave me an awesome massage out in the beach spa...and no it's not too hot to get a massage in a hut on the beach. It was WONDERFUL.

You can't swim at this spot on the beach. The riptide is too strong...and the waves would pretty much crush you, but good swimming beaches are nearby and honestly, I enjoyed watching the strong surf. So relaxing.

The resort is close to anything and everything you'd want to do in town. It's a smaller, quieter resort...perhaps more family-oriented than for the party crowd, but not dull...great fun at the pool. We made some good friends there.

We also were there to celebrate the birthday of my partner, Jim. Everyone worked with me to create a wonderful birthday dinner on the beach for our group of 13 friends. It was wonderful. The food is great too. You order from the same menu every day, but there is good variety. No complaints!

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear customer from Mounds, Oklahoma;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I t’s my pleasure to know you and your friends have enjoyed your vacations and the amenities from the resort. I have shared your review with my staff, this inspire us to continue delivering an attentive and professional service to exceed your expectations. Please do not wait too long to come back and allow us to provide you an even better experience. Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very outdated. Very basic, bathroom looked dirty. Air conditioner didn't work well. It was hot inside the room. Maid service is terrible! I had to call three times for service on several occasions. The bar tender at the pool was rude. The restaurant was not so good and over priced. Again, customer service was bad. This hotel lacks of customer service. Worse hotel I ever stayed on a beach destination. I have been to Cabo three times and this hotel has been the worse. Also, a cab ride to down town was ridiculously over priced. Twelve dollars for a few blocks away. After finding out of their ridiculous prices, we opted on taking the public bus for under a dollar to the same locations. Only pros: quiet, not a party hotel, secluded beach. But I would never stay here again. If you are going to Cabo, book where you don't have to take a cab.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice resort, with great food. We had a very relaxing vacation. The staff was very friendly. No loud music at night, just the sound of the ocean. Great location, near the marina with shopping and dolphin programs, and fishing. Love this place, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just returned home from a long weekend staying at the Solmar all inclusive resort. We had a wonderful time relaxing poolside and enjoyed the sound of the waves despite not being able to swim at the beach. The food and service were fantastic! We were lucky to be in building F where the noise of the construction could barely be heard. One downside is the limited shuttle times to take you back to the airport. We scheduled a late flight hoping to make the most out of our stay and later found out that the latest shuttle to the airport left at 1:30 and the all inclusive package ends at 11:00 AM. This was a little frustrating as we could not enjoy our last few hours in Cabo relaxing by the pool, but rather had to sit in the airport for an extended time. Overall, our stay was great and we would return again! Thank you to all the staff for making our trip a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing