We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Tragedy”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Cities
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Tragedy”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Talk about deceptive advertising. Google map shows the entire hotel intact. We were hoping to stay in the Junior Suites, to the left of the hotel. Unfortunately, it is gone! Five months ago they tore it down, and within several years, all of it will be gone. In its place, will be this brand new edifice.
So, my gorgeous view of the ocean, consisted of backhoes, cranes, and frontloaders. Big boulders being loaded on on the shovel of these frontloaders and delivered to the other side of the new construction. The view is total destroyed. The noise is horrible. I didn't plan on spending a week in a construction zone.
We complained, and the bored and indifferent staff decided to give us a free breakfast. Wow! The management is so considerate.
They had to know that they are going to a hit for this construction. Particularily the people that aren't time share. These people can just wait it out. Those that aren't as wealthy, will find that they are just a minor inconvenience for the ownership, until this project is done in about five years.
If the brochure, and the ad on the internet was honest, and showed all this construction, I don't think they would be duping so many people into coming to their hotel.
Yes, it is a beautiful area, and I imagine those that were lucky enought to stay here before the construction did have a peaceful and enjoyable stay.
The BBB Bureau really needs to look into the deceptive ads that the Solmar is using in their online presentation.
I have asked for remuneration from this hotel. I doubt that I will even hear from them. But I think anyone who felt that they were going to be able to stay in the hotel that was, and no longer is, deserves some type of apology and financial compensation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakatak44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    518
    193
    98
    55
See reviews for
328
815
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kelowna, bc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Just spent 1 week there through an RCI trade. Rooms were a disappointment. We had the 2 bedroom penthouse, supposedly the nicest room in the complex, which was spacious with an awesome view and great beds. Not 5 star quality though- everything was in need of a total upgrade. The TV's were small old units, remotes didn't work, one bathroom was somewhat smelly, poor TV coverage. We were there during the Olympics and hardly got any info except on CNN and Fox news which seemed to just repeat the same things over and over all day long. I would rate the hotel a 3 star, nothing more, but certainly adequate if you like the smaller, more intimate Mexican flavour instead of a bigger more modern resort. I would probably go back some day when the newer more modern resort is done.
Best about the resort was the location, 15 minute walk to the Marina strip where there are lots of restaurants and shopping. Located on a private bay with a nice quiet beach and only 3 or 4 resorts on the bay. Lots of whale watching daily. Resort is small, quiet and intimate,very friendly people and staff, and a great place for a relaxing mellow holiday. The construction was not a problem. The main pool had the most activity but not much going on, just relaxing. It was great for our little one to play in the water at the edge of the pool.
Majority of people there seemed to be owners who have been going there for many years. They all loved it and didn't want to see any changes but they really do need to upgrade if they want to be considered 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashew0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

It's been 2 weeks since my boyfriend and I returned from our trip, and the Solmar was a very good place to stay for a few reasons. First, the location. It's on the beach which is quiet and semi-private, and you can often see whales right from the beach. (However, keep in mind this is the Pacific side where the undertow is very strong and there is no swimming or even splashing in the ocean.) You can walk from the Solmar to the Marina and to the town of Cabo in about 15 minutes. It's NOT a strenuous walk for the moderately fit person, just make sure you bring good walking shoes because there are few small hills on the way. There's also a great "Marketplace" by the Marina at which we did some bargain shopping. Now, if you want to go to the Walmart or Sam's Club, you'll have to take a cab; but we just bought essential food at a great little "Supermarkedo" on the main street, kitty corner to the Plaza Bonita. Secondly, the hotel is clean (excellent housekeeping!) and has nice restaurants, pools and a hot tub. It's not a super posh resort feeling but it was more than adequate. The hotel food was good though a bit pricey.

The few complaints I have about the Solmar are the small amount of noise coming from the construction zone (usually only a problem in the morning, as they seem to start around 7 AM) and also the noise from a few of the other guests at the pool (not the hotel's fault, but people, keep your personal life stories to yourselves!!!). Speaking of the other guests, the week we were there, we were by far some of the youngest people there, and we're in our mid 30's!

To echo other reviewers, it's a shame that a portion of this place is getting torn down (all the beachfront units will soon be gone) to make room for a "deluxe" high rise - we saw what the new rooms will look like during the time-share presentation (which by the way you'll be "invited" to upon checking-in - be ready! though to be fair, the presentation was not high-pressure and it was worth it for the freebies) - and the decor of the new rooms is very modern, dark wood, stainless steel, granite, all nice but not at all Mexican in flavour and frankly kind of boring. And all those new units will make the place much more busy and crowded than it is now, probably like Solmar's sister hotel Playa Grande just down the beach.... sigh.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sick0fSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Solmar for a week. We are not "owners" of any time share - we just booked it as a hotel. I think people should keep in mind this is a 3 star hotel/suites and NOT meant to be a posh all inclusive. If you want something big, busy, and resort like, the Solmar is not for you.

Staff and service: friendly and helpful, good service, all spoke very good English, but nothing over the top or cloying. OK for us. If you want servers pestering you for drinks every 15 minutes while you are catching a few rays by the pool, book someplace else.

Cleanliness of the suites: our suite was very clean, and kept that way daily by housekeeping. I can't imagine how it could be much cleaner. We left several piles of dirty dishes out on a couple of mornings and housekeeping cleaned them all. Towels were always fresh and clean. Floors cleaned every day, etc. You get the idea. No complaints.

Noise: Construction of the big new resort is very active. It is noisy, and the noise starts at about 7 or 8 AM and doesn't end until 5 PM. Even in the evening there are a few workers at the new site. We could hear the construction noise in our suite but didn't find it bothersome. It felt like it was in the background most of the time. At the largest pool, we never heard it at all. But if you absolutely can't handle any noise at all, don't book.

Some of the hotel suites nearest the ocean are right by one of the bars (Trebol Bar I think). The TV's could be loud at night, and I can see where that could get irritating for some people. The rest of the hotel was quiet. In fact, the whole vibe of the Solmar was low-key and quiet. Great for us.

Overall, the noise wasn't a big factor for myself or my partner. We were up early at any rate. The construction was not overly intrusive for us.

Location: More isolated from Cabo San Lucas, but not too far. In fcat, the location makes the hotel feel more isolated, relaxed, quaint, and quiet. I can't believe that some of the reviews complain about the 14 minute walk from the hotel lobby to downtown Cabo San Lucas. Based on my experience talking and listening to the guests at the hotel, the people that complain about the distance are either terribly out of shape, elderly, handicapped in some way, disinterested in any form of physical activity as a part of a holiday, or are just plain lazy. Yes, there is a short walk into town and yes there is a "hill." It is hardly prohibitive for anyone who is used to even moderate amounts of exercise. My partner hurt her back on the third day of our holiday and she made it into Cabo and back another FOUR times after wards! We saw many hotel guest aged 50 and over who made that walk daily. I

If your idea of a holiday means you do no walking at all I suggest you book at five star all inclusive and never leave except to take a taxi to the airport.

Another positive part of the location is the beach. Although you can't swim in the ocean, the beach is great fine for just about anything else. Way less crowded than Playa Medano in Cabo San Lucas itself. The views are great. At this time of year, you can lots of whales in the ocean right from your hotel window or while sitting on the beach itself.

Dining: Nothing special at all in Solmar. Adequate. Over priced. The water at the Solmar is filtered. I suggest you spend most of your time eating in Cabo San Lucas. I ate just about everything at the local places off the main tourist strip (ie- menus had little or no English, prices were not in US dollars, serving staff spoke little or no english) and ate way better food for a lot cheaper than dining at either the Solmar OR the big restaurants clearly aiming at American Tourists. Never got sick eating local. YMMV.

Other: the Solmar was fully booked, but felt quiet and cozy. Pools were not crowded. Not a big busy resort. Not a five star all inclusive. And that is what I liked about it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayjayYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We just returned from The Solmar disaster. A call to the property to confirm our room in Building #5 which has been the sole reason for returning for many years, received a response of "No problem, we can accomodate it". Carlos, Reservation and Customer Service Manager, failed to mention Bullding #5 no longer existed and is replaced with cranes, horns, pounding and dust. The beloved site is destroyed. In 10 years one may see the new Solmar creation with all phases complete. Until then, do not waste valuable vacation time and money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WildBillOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

The four of us got to enjoy the quaintness of Solmar Suites after spending a noisy week at the Playa Grande (a sister resort). There are three different pool locations that were all excellent, two with swim up bar. The view is magnificent! Unfortunately the Pacific Ocean was too dangerous to swim in, but the beach was great for walking. I even had a massage on the beach and it was great. They were also doing free neck and shoulder massages in the afternoons.

The service was a bit slow at the bar, but the food in the restaurant was good, if pricey.

The rooms are outdated, so I do understand why they're doing the construction, but why do they have to make it into a mega resort. The smallness of the place was what would bring me back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittycat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

** PROS **

- Gorgeous beach - too bad it is half blocked by construction

- Beachfront rooms - these have a patio directly onto the beach which is nice

** CONS **

- No free internet - even the public computers in the lobby have an outrageous $12/day charge

- Half of the beach is a view of cranes, concrete and rebar - not exactly the view you want to take in.

- Noise - The nearby bar hosts loud Karaoke parties that are downright annoying, this is not any kind of serene beach experience you are looking for! I even heard the bad Karaoke singing from inside my room at 10pm at night.

- Rude and indifferent staff - unless you are a timeshare owner or prospective buyer expect to be treated like a second class citizen, this is a timeshare sales spot first and a hotel second. The staff always have a blase attitude like they don't really want to be working there. How hard is it to be friendly and helpful? When you approach the reception with a question they have a "get out of my face" attitude...yikes!

- No expected amenities - what would be free in any other even basic hotel is for sale here, want to read a newspaper? then pay $4 to buy it at the shop

- Substantially out of the way - it is a good 15-20 minute walk to the heart of the marina, there are better options closer to the city center

- Very dated rooms - although clean the room decor is something out of the 60s or 70s.

- All inclusive option is substantially more expensive than better hotels in the area

Overall, the experience was not great. Given the competition for hotels I say pass on this one and try some of the others. I stopped by the RIU and it seemed nice and for just $20/more a night it was all-inclusive which was a deal that was hard to beat.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank k374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,673 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Property: Solmar Resort
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing