We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised & service was superb”
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solmar Resort
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2010

A a minute RCI choice due to the Gulf oil spill. Previous reviews criticized construction..Habia no problema, Our room faced the pool & beach .Rocked to sleep by the sound of the surf. Sol-mar suites suited us better than Grand Solmar next door .The suites are quieter with an old fashioned feel we enjoyed. The hotel staff ,especially the concierges were wonderful. We are learning Spanish & they directed us to many wonderful (Cheap) local restaurants, where only Spanish is spoken.
You cant swim on the beach, really can't. I'm an ocean swimmer & i wouldn't risk it. Consequently although there is a pool, I don't think its a great location for small kids.

For most people a car is essential to get to the wonderful beaches along the "tourist route" (+Wall mart & Costco)There is public transport , but you'd need time & good Spanish. We traveled a circular route around the lower Baja & took a couple of days in La Paz . Its interesting ,roads were excellent & safe. (by day, never drive in Mexico at night accidents, not bandits).

Internet access was pricey & poor. Yet in town there are internet cafes for a dollar an hour or its free in 2 coffee shops.The room could have used more light via decent floor lamps That's the only 2 minor criticisms.

The solamr restaurant was good if pricey They own 2 nearby restaurants & we had coupons for going on yet another time share talk..The Galeon is good, they put on a show of making Mexican coffee & the Gambas were superb. Still the same shrimps are 1/4 the price at the workers restaurants ;Los Claros or El Torro Cuero.

For a quiet time, a welcome & a home away form home. The small Jazz bar "two for the road" run by Cathy & Marty is recommended . Free communal Spanish lessons there Monday nights .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffyjones052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

I saw photos of the construction on tripadvisor before I left and I thought I might be sleeping in a hole in the ground, but was pleasantly surprised. I wish I had known about this hotel in the past because I would have liked to stay here before the major renovations. We had a room that opened onto the beach and even with the construction next door it was pleasantly peaceful and when in the existing pool area there was no noise from the construction. Everyone from other guests to hotel staff were helpful and friendly. I left my purse containing all my prescription meds in a taxi and hotel staff helped track the taxi down and returned by purse. Thank you. We ate at the hotel restaurants-Galeon, Hacienda, and Romeo and Juliet and had excellent meals there as well as in other restaurants in the area. It was an easy walk to the Marina for shopping.
We took the city tour which was well worth it eating at the Jazmin restaurant in San Jose where I had eaten previously. Also took the Todos Santos tour and had the worst meals of our trip. I guess you have to know what galleries or workshops to visit because it just seemed like a lot of tourist shops and not what I expected.
Altogether I needed a relaxing vacation to recover from an illness and found what I was looking for at the Solmar.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Thank you for choosing Solmar Resort for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us such a nice comments, this helps us to constantly strive for improvement and excellence.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Me and my husband exchanged our timeshare through RCI to stay in Solmar. On that time, I was looking for a place to stay that does not have a mandatory all inclusive. The resort is under construction, which I think they really need. We are aware of it, that's why we are not complaining about it. Plus we are never in our room, it is too small and no place to seat except in the porch. Beware, when you arrived in SJD airport. As soon as you are out of the custom area, people are standing in the middle of the hallway, keep going if you do not want timeshare presentation. But if you want a lot of goodies and you are prepared to seat for 4 hours doing timeshare, then that's what those people are for. When they see you holding a paper with your shuttle service confirmation, they will tell you to go with someone and they will find the driver for you. And while that person is looking for your driver (just a pretend...), someone will be talking to you. They will have the map of the area and tells you where your hotel is. They will tell you where the Walmart is, and things to do while you are in Cabo. And then they will sign you up for timeshare presentation and offer you different gifts for attending the timeshare. And once you signed up, then they will escort you outside to introduce you to the driver (but in reality the driver was maybe 10 steps away from you. And then when you check in, they will tell you that you need to talk to someone to get your towel card. But these people will signed you up for Timeshare presentation in Playa Grande to sell the new Solmar that they are building at this moment. If you walk outside of Solmar in the morning, they will asked you if you are going to attend a timeshare presentation. They always think that someone is attending timeshare every morning if you are going to go out. And then, on your way out just before Playa Grande entrance. A guy will approach you and trying to get you to attend the same timeshare that Solmar signed you up. But they might give you a better offer, maybe 400.00usd in cash. Make sure that if you are going to sign up for Timeshare presentation, all the gifts that they promised to you are in writing or else you will be SOL. But the location, can't complain. It is a walking distance to Marina where there's a lot of bars and restaurant with good prices. I will not recommend a friend to stay in here at this time, but when the new Solmar is built then definitely. For now, stay in Playa Grande if it is available.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2traveljy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Guest:
We would like to take this opportunity to express our deepest thanks for your concern and comments about the construction of our new Resort, Grand Solmar Land’s End.
One of the first things considered in the process of making the decision to built The Grand´s Solmar Land´s End Resort was how it would affect the current guests and owners of Solmar.
The Solmar Beach Club will remain untouched and be sure that the atmosphere and the charm of this Resort will remain forever.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The hotel itself was clean, well-appointed, and the staff was courteous and attentive. There was a power outage the day after we arrived, and the power was out for nearly 10 hours..throughout the hotel. It happened in the afternoon and extended into the evening, so it make after-pool cleanups, dinners, etc. difficult. The problem was solved, but the hotel did not even offer anything to the guests to compensate for the inconvenience - BAD FORM! However, the fact that guests @ Solmar have access to Playa Grande Resort restaurants, pools, etc. made it worth the trip! We spent every day at the Playa Grande pool and had a wonderful time there. I know I'd like to return when the new facility is complete. Oh, and if you are travelling there, do NOT pre-order the shuttle from the airport. As soon as you enter the terminal you get bum-rushed to a sales pitch for the time share!! They tell you that there are 3 terminals at the airport and the shuttle is coming from the other terminals to his one, so while we're waiting, let's talk about this great deal!!.. Then, if you say "No", you get ushered through some doors to another waiting area, where the 'pitch-guy' tells you there are 2 terminals here at the airport and the shuttle is coming from the other one, so while we're waiting, let's talk.. blah blah..! Once you've said "NO" for the third or fourth time, you get introduced to your 'driver, who's been standing there the whole time waiting, and you join the other ten people who are being crammed into the shuttle for the ride to the hotel! It's more expeditious and cheaper to hire the cab there, and proceed to your hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMonk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Dear Guest:
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay at Solmar Resort.
If there are any other ways to serve you better at this time or in the future please get in contact with us. We will be determined to promptly address your needs.

Wishing you a world of happiness,
Sincerely yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Lovely place to escape, beautiful natural landscaping, very clean, feels like the quiet end of the earth, but with nice cold beer and margaritas nearby

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristypollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2010

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Solmar Resort for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future. It was truly our pleasure to serve you.
The greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer. Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My husband and I came to Solmar for our 2 year anniversary because we had bought here 4 years ago. It was a disaster! You walk into a horribly outdated lobby with a view of the pool they just tore down. Then you ask the front desk, how bad is the construction? Not bad, don't worry, you won't even hear it or see it. I am calling BS! Even though our room did not have a direct view of the construction, for some reason, every morning around 8am construction began right outside of our room. It was awful. The hotel itself is at least clean, but the rooms are extremely outdated, and the decor leaves something to be desired. There is absolutely no pool scene at this hotel, but at least they allow you to go to Playa Grande next door. Long story short, if you are looking for peace and quiet and relaxation, then run the opposite direction. Wait until April 2011 when the new Solmar is open, otherwise, consider another hotel. It is not worth what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enigmatic1jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playagranderesort, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Thank you for expressing your comments.

Certainly 500 meters south of Solmar is being carried out the construction of a new development by what we share the same access (Cabo is growing up), this may be uncomfortable.
However the services of accommodation, food and drinks are totally independent and are provided as usual with the same standards of quality that has driven Solmar.
Solmar Today's guests can enjoy a couple of swimming pools one for adults which guarantees peace and quiet and a pool bar and Jacuzy 30 meters away from the beach for those who like to socialize with other guests and listen to typical music.
Internally Solmar provides maintenance to their units periodically to ensure proper operation. Hotel Solmar has been characterized by rustic Mexican style atmosphere today can not please everyone.
What has also characterized the Solmar is the friendly and professional employees that continues to this day.
Once again I appreciate your point of view and I am at your service
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We bought a 'deluxe' suite at Solmar because we liked the old Mexico feel, the spectacular ocean view and the beautifully designed grounds, pools and paths which were serene and meditative. One of the pools, a small lap pool, is almost always empty. The place was quiet. We did not eat there except for a lunch snack because there are far better and cheaper places a block behind the main strip in town. We did have a hard time getting a decent margarita at either the restaurant or the pools. But we make our own anyway.

Our balcony faced the ocean from a corner suite. We enjoyed the muted sound of the mariachi band in the restaurant as we sipped our evening margaritas, watched the glow of the sunset and looked out at the ocean uninterrupted down to Antarctica. It was a magical experience with the soft lighting on the hotel and tower, the cliffs and the sea with its powerful crashing surf.

Having seen the drawings of the new phase 2 building project, it appears they are building a taller building right in front of us which will remove a the chief attraction of this place for us. As well, we expect the quiet will be affected. We don't like resorts, we don't use all-included. Old SolMar was perfect for us.

It is a mistake to buy a timeshare. Soon after we bought this we discovered Vacation Rental by Owner. There is a big price range but you can get a perfectly nice one or two bedroom house or condo for $700-1200 a week. You can pay much more if you like for bigger size and more luxury but it is always cheaper and bigger than the equivalent hotel room and always comes with a kitchen so you don't have to eat every meal out. Many have private pools.

Timeshares are a way of getting you to prepay vacations that you may never use at that place. They especially don't work if you don't care for big splashy resorts because that is where the exchanges are.

In Baja we have been to San Jose, La Paz, Cabo Pulmo and Loreto, all since we bought at SolMar. We have also been to other coastal towns and villages in Pacific Mexico. We've stayed at hotels, B&B's and VRBO's. There are resorts in those places if you want that. On the other side of the Sea of Cortez there is Puerto Penasco, lots of other beach towns, Mazatlan and Puerto Vallarta within a short flight of the US and not going through DF which is a hassle. Many many places to go besides Cabo where the swimming is also much better.

Some people are buying at SolMar preconstruction. Any preconstruction or midconstruction is a huge risk. We lost $7K downpayment on a midconstruction ultra luxury small resort in PV hills that was never completed and no refunds (exchange was offered to a more conventional resort but we bailed on continuing to pay for that). We also lost on our SolMar purchase because they are building in front of our view. When you buy a timeshare you are locked in but they aren't.

Looking back I can only say that a fool and his money are soon parted and we were fools.

I loved the old SolMar, 70s decor and all. It was what we wanted. They knew why people bought there but that didn't matter. All of those people will now be in a ghetto area behind the new construction, with obstructed or no views. If they would transfer us straight across I might be interested, but I know it will cost a lot to buy the view back. And I can just go elsewhere on a "pay-per-view" basis.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleanorWestLinnOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £87 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing