We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great staff, too much time-share BS”
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

To be fair, this is just not my cup of tea. I could see how this could be possibly appealing to a certain group of people, just not really us. When we go on vacation,we like small, intimate, private and cultural. Completely opposite of the PBR. My partner's parents have a time share they were not using, so we enjoyed a free stay. The grounds were well manicured, (though cannot say we were a big fan of the caged birds) and beautiful. The pool was nice (perhaps a bit too warm, but our 6 year old daughter loved it) and the beach was too. The food was adequate, more like cruise ship fare. We had the grill with a side of veggies...the veggies consisted of 4 pieces of asparagus. The drinks were strong, thank goodness for that. Mexican Fair night was fun and the food was the best we had.
The time-share staff was everywhere. We were pressured every single day, even after attending a "presentation" that lasted about 5 hours (no kidding...90 minutes is a LIE!). We were interrupted twice during dinner and as soon as we left the Mexican Fair with a sleeping 6 year old in our arms, we were accosted by another time-share lady.
The place was so crowded, but of course it was spring break in Mexico. This is what we did. We rented a car and drove to Chileno Beach almost every day where we snorkeled and hung out with the locals (It was spring break in Mexico, too). Go to the third beach, there are no snorkeling boats and no waves for the kids.We also went to Santa Maria beach, but there were too many boats. We drove to Todos Santos and hung out for the day. A very quiet place, no beach vendors and no time-share crap.
I guess if you like cruise ships, this is the place for you (by the way, the cruise ships, usually 2, were docked in front of the PBR).

Room Tip: If you have a child, get a ground floor near the pool so you can sit on your patio and watch the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,437 - 3,443 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I along with a couple of friends just returned from a week long trip to Cabo. The Rose just put in an optional all-inclusive plan. We felt the price a little hefty and we've been to Cabo before and enjoy going out on the town to different places. This is the first time we've stayed at the Rose and chose it because we wanted a swimable beach. Even though this beach is calmer, one still needs to be a fairly strong swimmer for this beach, it drops off pretty quickly.

We did eat the breakfast buffet every morning, since we didn't purchase the meal plan we paid $16 each for this. While the food was okay it was not a $16 buffet. Our fault for not hitting the store for breakfast items. We ate at the grill only twice, and the food was fine and reasonably priced. Table service was always great. Otherwise we went to town or marina and had great meals and a fun time.

Sitting at the beach we had buckets of beer, happy hour prices are reasonable but beyond that not so much. In addition, sitting on the beach you will be harrassed by the MANY vendors walking the beach ALL day long. Our beach waiter was EXCELLENT.

I did not have a massage because I felt at $110 USD it was a little over priced and I walked down the beach and got a $30 USD massage that was nice, maybe missed ambiance. i did check out the massage facilities and they looked gorgeous.

We had a nice time, it is great location within walking distance to all the great places downtown and the marina. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IowaIowa4Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two weeks at the Rose in January. Had a good time, didn't eat at the resort much but when we did the food was okay, good but not great. The hotel staff was very friendly, and helpful. The pool, and beach were right there so that was a plus. Only thing is that you will be asked a million times about doing time share presentations. Which could be good if your into free breakfast and drinks and some kind of compensation for just doing the presentation. We did two, got a horseback riding, atv, and booze cruise tour from one, and got money off our room and the spa with the other, basically 3 hours out of our trip well spent considering.
The hotel was in walking distance from town. It felt safe. The only thing is there are way too many vendors on the beach and around town. It's like they're lined up to try and sell you anything which might be cool for the first day or two, but a pain in the bum after that.
We had a good time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelinTiffNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice resort with good pool and great view. Walking distance to town and felt safe. Be prepared to be asked a thousand times about time shares. I would have rated excellent if not for that. Food was mediocre. We were glad we didn't do the all inclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have traveled to 50+ countries and we continue to return here on a yearly basis. Great location, great staff and an overall wonderful experience. Cabo is a safe wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndySig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I just spent 8 days at the Rose March 16-23. We rented from VRBO and saved a ton of money. We loved the hotel and thought everything was great. The only thing we didnt like was the room we had was to close to the lobby and elevators. The food was good. The beach was nice, even if the water was freezing.
We did run into a few rude people but thats to be expected in most places. Service was very good and we will be coming back.
P.S. dont do the timeshare presentation, buy one on EBAY for $1.00 thats what we are going to do.

Room Tip: Not by the lobby lol and bring ear plugs cause hall ways are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgirlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Dont expect the Fairmont or Ritz Carlton but do expect a very nice, clean, comfortable almost boutique hotel directly on Medano Beach, the only swimmable in all of Cabo. If you want to be in the action zone its only about 300 meters away to your left, Mango Deck, The Office etc is all close enough yet far enough that its not in your face all day. The rooms were spacious, we had an executive suite, 2 baths 1 bed with kitchenette with nice water views. Ask for fourth floor and up to aviod the Palm trees. The pool deck was very large, lots of chairs but get there early to reserve your favorite as it gets busy. The beach is very clean and safe, lots of vendors but kept clear with a chain, can be annoying at times but thats not hotels fault. Lots of lounge chairs on sand but if you want front row get out real early. The drinks are not cheap, but happy hour is daily 3-4pm. The all inclusive is not cheap unless youre a big drinker. We walked into town every night for dinner, approx 10 min safe walk with lots of police out so make sure you get out. Security is very good both at the front gate as well as beach entrance. The concierge staff were excellent and competent and had no problem making reservations for us (tips were welcomed) The deli was well stocked with everything you need plus free wifi in this area. The activity staff were really excellent and inviting but never in your face. JJ and Donny were excellent and you can tell they really loved their jobs. Lots of fun if you wanted to particpate otherwise fun just to watch the fun from your chair. We cannot over emphasize the location, so close to town, Walmart, City Club as well as the Marina. The shuttle to PB Sunset runs on the half hour all day until 10pm, great feature. Overall we loved this place and would definetly be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CosmoVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
2.6 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £247 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing