We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things have changed...and not all for the good!”
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Things have changed...and not all for the good!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We are owners at Sunset Beach and I have always had good things to say about the Rose and in fact, we usually stay there. This past June was not such a great visit.
Let me start with what was not good:
The Marie Nostrum was the only restaurant on the property that was not a buffet (except for the expensive one upstairs). Now this one is a buffet so if you get the all inclusive, those are your only choices. I think the quality of the food has gone down hill. Very disappointing. The only good meals are breakfast (hard to mess up a breakfast buffet) and lunch around the pool. The theme dinners are not worth the money. Although, dinner at the Blanco was good.
The room was clean but we had trouble with our water all week. It would vacillate from burning hot to freezing cold. When I would complain, the maintenance man would come up and say our room was too far away from the main water line. Come to find out, they were having a problem with the water all week and one night it was shut off completely and they didn't give us a notice to inform us. :( My big issue is they were not very transparent and honest when i would ask or complain about anything. They would pretend they didn't know what was going on. Finally I talked with a manager and she told me they were having all sorts of problems with their water. Nothing worse than after a hot day to not be able to take a good, relaxing shower.
Then there is the internet you can buy if you want it in your room. Don't get it! It never works.My son was taking a college class on line where he was not able to send in or do his work for the entire week. Hard to catch up after that! We complained all week and they did nothing about it. Finally I spoke with a manager and she told me they would get me a refund. Its been 2 months that I have been emailing them and no refund yet.....again, its like they tell you what you want to hear and then do not followup and are not honest about what the details are.
The grounds are very clean and well maintained. They have changed their policy on reserving chairs in the morning so it was much easier to get a pool lounge chair vs. everyone taking them by 7 a.m. and then not sitting in them.
I will have to think twice about recommending the Rose again. Very disappointed in their follow-through, not being transparent about problems, decline in food quality, and room issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lincolncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,196
    986
    338
    143
    108
See reviews for
1,374
1,117
73
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited the Rose for our honeymoon and had a great stay. We arrived before check in and they were able to offer us a room right away. We "downgraded" to a room with a better view than the suite that we booked which was more than large enough for the two of us and it did have a GREAT view. The resort was smaller than I expected and the food was not very good so I'm glad we did not do the all inclusive offer. There are a lot of great restaurants in the area anyway and we didn't want to be limited to only eating at the resort. The only downsides other than the food were if you want a chair by the pool or on the beach you have to be out there very, very early. Also there are constantly people trying to sell you things on the beach which kind of ruins it.

Room Tip: Coming into the lobby the rooms on the left have a better view but the rooms on the right are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PYTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was my first trip to the Pueblo Bonita--I must say, we had a great week.
The grounds were kept very clean and the setting was great.
We had the most fabulous guy named Guadalupe serving us at Poolside daily and he was just Awesome!! He met our needs beyond expectation. We especailly enjoyed the food from the Poolside Grill--great variety and yummy.
I was not that impressed with the food in the Buffet, but did have the opportunity to eat at Fellini's which was delicious.
Had great memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Checked in on a Sunday, and arrived pretty early. We were expecting to have to wait at least 4 more hours before we could get our room, but they were able to give us a room right when we got there. Although the resort was a great place, we didn't stick around much since we had family at another resort. The view we had was phenominal, and the pool was great. The breakfast buffet at the beach front restaurant was awesome, and the outside barwas great as well. I looked at all the activities boards, and there wasn't much for the older crowds, mostly centered around kids & young teens. The first morning we had no water in the shower, and was promised it would be fixed in 5min after the maintenance people had been in our room for 30min. After 5min it wasn't working so we had to pack clothes and take our showers at our family's resort. Awkward! My biggest complaints about this place is that the WiFi price is just RIDICULOUS! compared to the other resorts that offer free, or way cheaper prices and the ability to connect up to 3 devices. Other than that, this place is a perfect place to stay for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puns96ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The grounds were nice and well kept and the rooms were a nice size. After sleeping in our room for two nights, we were starting to find bites on our backs, legs and arms. We looked under the sheets and found A LOT of bed bugs! Most of them were dead, but many were alive. We immediately requested a new room and were told there were none available and they sent someone to spray insecticide all over the mattress only to cover the insecticide with a sheet. I told them this was unacceptable and again requested a new room. Again we were told there were no rooms available. After a half hour of complaining, they finally came up with a new room for us to move to. This one seemed to be bug free.

Upon arriving back home, we placed all of our luggage in dark trash bags and place them in our cars in the hot sun hoping the extreme heat would kill anything that came home with us. We then took our clothes one load at a time and ran them through the dryer before washing them.

Getting back to the hotel, the food was good, but not great, and the drinks were VERY watered down and of poor quality! Cabo itself is beautiful and I would strongly recommend it as a travel destination, but I would choose a different hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gutabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Rose, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

At Pueblo Bonito Rosé, we take the subject of bedbugs very seriously. Though there have been no verified reports of them at the resort, all staff members are trained to identify their presence should they ever come across the signs. As a point of information, bedbugs are not related to poor sanitation or cleanliness, because bedbugs only feed on blood, nothing else. Bed bugs get into hotels by way of guests’ luggage, usually from other hotels, airports, planes, taxis or buses. Since this is beyond our control, and in response to the recent epidemic in major US cities, we focus on inspecting the rooms constantly for any evidence of bedbugs and take appropriate action when needed. As mentioned, the entire resort staff is trained to recognize the presence of bedbugs. If they are suspected or detected, management will immediately have our professional pest control experts meticulously search the entire room including furniture, electrical outlets, bedding and drapes. The room will be isolated and expertly fumigated for 3 consecutive days, then again after 7, 14 and 28 days. The room will be inspected periodically. Linen will be processed at temperatures above 158° F which is lethal to all bed bugs and their larvae. We share the reviewer’s concern and appreciate her input, yet after a thorough investigation have found no evidence of bedbugs in any of our rooms.
We really hope to welcome you anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Goyita Osako, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here two years ago, all inclusive. Had a great time and came back now hoping for the same experience. What a disappointment! Last time we stayed at the PB Los Cabos (Blanco). It was much better. Nicer, updated rooms. Also, back then the hotel just started offering all inclusive programs, and now, they are charging the money for all inclusive, while cutting corners in quality of service and food, and not offering the same positives to offset it, such as fun activities and shows. The Carnival Night every Saturday is below mediocre entertainment. Couple of volleyball games and trivia. That's about it. The plus of this place used to be great food and service. That's gone.

Main complaints:

- The Rose is shabby, our 'luxury suite' has paper thin walls, dirty floors and walls in dire need of painting.
- You have to remind them to bring towels and soap to the room. Same goes for water.
- The AC is so loud that it sounds like a plane is taking off. Leaving it off is hard as it's hot, and having it on makes it impossible to sleep.
- Service at the check in is horrible. Rude staff. We booked one king size bed suite and reserved a rollaway. Upon checking in we were told that we should push the two double beds together to accommodate us and our kid. They don't bring rollaway to those rooms. Period. They promise on the phone, but when you arrive, they stare you in the eye and tell you that they don't care how you make it work, others do. And guess what? Ask for a manager - the manager is never there! Took a bribe to the check in person to get this resolved. Really wanted to turn around and leave though, it was not a great experience.
- To get food you have to wait for an hour during lunch. And then they give you a check that you have to sign, even if you are all inclusive. Why? What a waste of time. Make up your mind, if you want to be all inclusive, beef up your staff and your food choices and do away with the checks. It's silly!
- They are so full, there is hardly any room to lay out by the pool and swim. Pretty sure they are over capacity, as I literally saw around 6 20-year old kids staying in one room.

I doubt we will be back, too bad, it was a great place to be.

Room Tip: Stay away from Rose. If you choose Sunset, remember that there is no swimmable beach there. They boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were a group of 7 that checked out on 7/23. We cannot say enough about the excellent poolside waiter, Guadalupe, who went well above just serving us drinks and food. If there were no available chairs or chaise loungers, he would take the time to look for seating and an umbrella. He was amazing. The hotel, rooms and pool were great. The food was average. You're just steps away from the beach. All in all, the employees were great....except for the poolside/buffet manager, Ignacio, who was very unfriendly and doesn't crack a smile. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Property: Pueblo Bonito Rose
Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing