We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was wonderful but the food was so-so”
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I went with a group of 5. They gave us rooms next to each other. All of the rooms have a balcony with a pretty good view (some have a view of the ocean!).

The all inclusive is great if you aren't expecting fancy cocktails. We lived on Caronas, Pina Coladas, and tequila shots for a few days, which is exactly what we wanted.

The beach is safe to swim in, which I believe is rare in that area. There was a slight sand fly problem on our last day, which was unfortunate.

The only negative I have is the food. Breakfast was great, but the theme nights were not very good. The dinners were a little bit weird. I wasn't expecting amazing meals since it's all inclusive, but honestly the food was just *weird*. Not enough mexican food!!!

Overall, my group of 20-somethings had a blast! The hotel is a short cab ride away from local clubs and bars. The hotel felt very safe and the rooms/pools were clean. No free wifi though, but we didn't need it!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the water have a better view, but the two rooms I saw were identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,917 - 2,923 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a lovely resort and although it has some age on it very well maintained. Our room was well appointed and the daily maid service excellent. There is very little storage space for clothes in the one bedroom suite. We were only 2 people so it was fine, but any more would have been a problem. The staff is polite and anxious to please. Any complaint was addressed immediately in a friendly professional manner. See Yazmin if you have a problem, she is a real asset to the hotel staff. The only drawback was the breakfast and dinner meals are serviced buffet and very mediocre or worse. I did not enjoy or thought worth my money for any of the buffets. Also they are served outside which is lovely until the birds and flies come around. Ugh! Only lunch and dinner in the gourmet restaurant are menu service and they are excellent. The Mexican Chicken Soup is to die for. The location of the resort is excellent and an easy walk to other hotels and downtown. The beach is kept clean and beautiful. I would only get the "all inclusive" meal plan for 1 or 2 days to learn the lay of the land and then go out on your own. The prices for self pay at the resort are way too high making the "all inclusive" the only way to eat on location. Their sister resort is too far out and the food prices also prohibitive. The free Wi-Fi service didn't work all the time but enough and I'm not on vacation to work. But again knowing what I know and with some planning Cabo and Bonita Rosa can be a great vacation spot.

Room Tip: Stay close to the beach end of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzi1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have been owners at PBR since 2001. It was very evident this visit that the property needs attention. In our room, a one bedroom luxury suite, the patio door lock was broke, the fan in the bathroom didn't work and we had no bedding for the sofa bed for our third person. We had people working on these things at 10:00 our first night. The fan was replaced, and ran on high and low, but never shut off. We were informed that the lock on the patio door was not working and would be fixed the next day... He never came back. The outlet In the kitchen moved every time we plugged in the toaster. The AC didn't remove the humidity; it was damp and everything felt clammy. The floor, even though it was mopped everyday, left our feet and socks black, so we had to wear shoes the whole time indoors. Our cleaning service was missed one day and we had to take the trash to the front desk at 10:00 at night. The maids were very nice and accommodating and came to our room that night very late, but we told them to just come back in the morning. It was cleaned very early the next day. The overall quality of the rooms is failing. The walls need paint, furniture and fixtures need replaced. The cost of everything is escalating, but we did the timeshare deal and got a $350 resort/restaurant credit which helped tremendously. Wilver, our poolside server was great everyday! He even brought me a bucket of ice for my sprained wrist. Linda, the activities director, was great fun! There must be a new chef because the food at the restaurant was wonderful. We used to avoid it because it was so bad. It's not the 5-star resort it used to be. For the money we pay in maintenance fees, it should be outstanding. We heard our fees are going over into Sunset by the timeshare rep. I surely hope not. The rep also told us that a $5.6 million renovation is scheduled for PBR in 2014. It is much needed. Overall, we had fun, but were a little disappointed with our room.

Room Tip: Jr. Suites are large hotel rooms and we like them better than the one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveCabo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here at this property and it was the best location to the beach as well as to downtown.
This was our first time to Cabo and we will defiantly stay here again .
We rented this from a lady on line .
I looked up condos for rent and this one got the best re.
Her name is Leanne Segal and her email address is playacabol.com if you ever need a rental this is the best ever.
Diana Barschak

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianabarschak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just arrived home from a great vacation at the PB Rose. The service staff all seemed really friendly and helpful. Gerardo was the fellow that served us on the beach and we really appreciated his service and friendliness despite it being very hectic during Thanksgiving week. Heidi at the pool also provided great service. The room was comfortable and was kept spotless by the maid (Laura). I mention theses people by name because individually they are only one person but collectively the superb service makes a big difference to your vacation. I would definitely return to this hotel and would not hesitate to stay at a PB resort elsewhere. Thank you to all staff and kudos to the management for their strong focus on customer service.

Room Tip: Loved having a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My family, 12 of us, planned a thanksgiving vacation here. At first, I had trouble because I have a service dog, and they don't allow pets. Once I was contacted by the hotel staff, they were extremely accommodating and made sure that our entire family had 6 rooms together on the first floor.
The staff, from Yasmin, the front desk manager, to the housekeeping staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurants was good. I am not a buffet person, so it was nice to have the sushi and the restaurants. The beach was wonderful.

It was a great experience. If you are looking for a 5 star elegant resort, you might not choose this hotel, but every family that we met at the Pueblo Bonita Rose, shared our feelings, it was the perfect family vacation choice!!!!

Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and loved that we could just walk out onto the patio and be at the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have owned at Pueblo Bonito Rose (PBR) for over 10 years. We had not been to PBR for a few years and came for two weeks beginning the end of October 2013. As always the location and most of the services are great. However, the internet service is terrible. I am a real estate broker and enjoy taking vacations at my timeshares. With a good internet connection, I can take care of business in about an hour and a half each morning, then go out to enjoy our vacation. However, this was not the case at PBR. When I say the internet connection was terrible, I mean I have had better dial up connections. It is worse than any other resort I have stayed at in the last 6 to 7 years. After contacting the WiFi/Internet company 5 times and meeting with the on-site technician, there was no change. I finally went to down town Cabo San Lucas and visited Starbucks to try their free WiFi. (The WiFi at PBR is approx. $80/week) The Starbucks WiFi worked great. The many apps (Skype, MLS, Instanet, AuthentiSign, ...) that didn't work at PBR worked great. From then on, each day began with my trip to Starbucks to get my work done. And this worked well. Good WiFi can be found in Cabo San Lucas.
However, from this I suspect that the poor internet at PBR is not a technical problem, but rather is more of a financial issue. PBR does not want to pay for good internet connectivity for its owners/guests. Even though my $80 was refunded for the PBR internet that didn't work the first week, this experience cost me $500 for a colleague to help me back home because of lack of internet support; $100 for phone charges because Skype would not work well; and three days of my vacation. That's well over the cost of my annual maintenance fee. I will have to think long and hard about returning here unless the internet connectivity is greatly improved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,064 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £258 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing