We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Cascadas de Baja(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Cabo Inn(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Positano Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Riu Santa Fe(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pueblo Bonito Rose(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,425)
Filter reviews
5,425 results
Traveller rating
2,381
1,848
654
334
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,381
1,848
654
334
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaco barbella californiawhale slidetime sharejose reyessports barvilla groupall inclusive packagetimeshare presentationdesert spaupper poolocean viewnightly showsour waiterall inclusive planpool sidegreat vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,673 - 4,678 of 5,425 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My family and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Cabo. The Villa del Palmar was not what I had expected from some of the negative reviews with regards to pushy staff trying to get you to attend a timeshare presentation. Yes they try to get you to attend a presentation; however, I found them to be very polite and they gracefully accepted a kind "No Thank You". It almost makes you feel bad turning them down as they were so polite and you know they are just doing their job.

I got a fantastic deal by making the reservations over six months in advance so I couldn't complain when I got a room without a view. Even without the view we enjoyed eating breakfast on the balcony each morning enjoying the fresh air. One morning we enjoyed the simple but delicious breakfast buffet out by the sea shore.

We also enjoyed the pizza bar by the shore and recommend the "Mexican" pizza with chorizzo, Yes it takes a while for the pizza to arrive, but sit back and enjoy the sunset as we did.

The only two complaint that we had was that the air conditioning and the bed. The airconditioner had a musty smell so we did not ever uses it. We purchased an air fresher from the Walmart and the room smelled much better. In Novemver the evenings and nights are much cooler and less humid so we just opened the sliding door each evening and enjoyed the fresh air. The beds in our room were overly soft so you kind of rolled torwards the middle. The linnens were clean and the comforters really nice too.

So if you get a great rate as we did, we recommend staying here. It is close to downtown, the Walmart and the Costco.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCKAWAYOKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

A little knwn secret is that this resort has a tennis pro who can give you lessons for a tip only. He is quite good and will help you with your game. The two tennis courts are in great shape. The resort is right on the beach as well with good food and entertainment. Go in November when the weather is good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We had a wonderful time, the first room they put us in with our time share was ugly! we looked out onto a wall! But when we complained they changed us immediately and put us a floor up where we looked out onto the ocean. We were very happy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonde555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Like all of you, I read all the reviews of Villa del Palmar and was worried about the negative comments. Originally, my husband and I were supposed to go to Cabo in October and stay at Barcelo. We had to change plans and move our trip to November. The only place with availability was the Palmar. Not interested in a time share in Cabo(we own in Scottsdale) I was worried about being hounded by the sales people.

Upon arrival we were given a room in the basement level of building one. Then their version of a concierge or the time share presenter walks you to the lobby of that building. She asked about trips and we told her we booked everything in advance. Then she said okay and we went on our way. She was disappointed, because I assume she gets paid or a kickback from companies they may recommend. We went to our room and ended up only spending one night in room 1220. It is true about the thin walls and starting at 5am we heard every person from the seventh floor down going pee. It was awful. The next morning I spoke with Rogelio (pronounced Row -helio) and he was eager to please. He gave me a key that worked for two additional rooms in building 3 and told me to go visit the rooms and see which I would prefer. I chose 3406. It was much quiter and away from the elevators and higher up so we didn't have so much noise from the above floors. A peek a boo view of the arc out in the water - the famous rocks you see in photos. So thankful for Palmar for the accomodation.
Overall the hotel is not a place for a tranquil setting. This is Cabo! This is a party hotel - not college kids, but adults - couples. Lots of activities for adults and some for kids. It's loud at the pool with music and excitement. This is great for some and not for others. What are you looking for in a trip? If you are looking to meet new friends, have cocktails and watch people have a great time in the pool it's perfect for you. If you want tranquil, I would suggest another hotel. Rarely are there seats empty at the pool, it is packed all the time. The staff at the pool is VERY friendly, but the prices are steep throughout Cabo and at palmar. You cannot bring coolers to the pool so be prepared to go back to your room or lunch and sacks. You can easily spend $60 at the pool for a couple drinks and lunch.

The gym is fantastic. The machines are in great shape and I cannot express how clean the entire resport is. At the gym, I watched women wipe down the machines constantly. Impeccibly clean throughout the hotel.

The bell staff for us were the highlight of the resort. Great people with wonderful insight to restaurants and things to do. We LOVED our time chatting with them. My advice would be to communicate with the men on the resort. Pretty much all but one of the women we came in contact with wanted to get you your gold card (aka sit through presentation) or book an excursion. They sit in the lobby of your building and in the lobby of the main buiding. everyday we went from our floor on the CENTER elevators to the ground floor to the pool. This avoided the lobby area on the way to the pool. Look for my reviews of the restaurants where we ate including those recommended by the bell staff. Eli is hysterical and a true joy.

The hotel is a $7 cab ride from the center of Cabo or about a 15-20 min walk.

Here are some tips to get you through the week.
1) book all of your trips in advance. Do some research and decide what you want to do. This will help save you time and money. Also, you can tell the "consierge" you are booked up and avoid being cornered upon arrival to sit through a presentation. All week - fishing, massages, etc you can say - you are already booked and that will get you out of any further questions and pursuits.
2) Do your grocery shopping on-line! When we arrived our groceries were there! Everything from bread to beer. It saved so much time and money. They have a store at the Palmar for last minute things or ice etc, but save money and go with http://www.whereincabos.com
Claudia was great and can shop for special items like organic and my favorite Mexican beer Dos Equis AMBER.
3) Keep your eye out for the little kids who will ask you to buy a wooden craft their mom made as she sends you up to them. It is hard to say no, but I think it encourages the begging instead of getting an education. After talking with a couple who had been going to Palmar in Cabo for 15 years, they agreed.
4) The people in white line the beach to sell you everything from wrestling masks to jewelery. If that is for you -haggle on the price, they expect it. If it is not for you - avoid eye contact all together.
5) It is expensive in Cabo. Try to plan to eat in a couple of meals a day and eat out once. There is a wal mart and sams club, but the are far from the hotel if you don't have a car. Order from the on-line source above and be worry free for the week.
6) buy an air card for internet. The internet at the hotel is $20 for a single day and $75 for the week. It is slow on the wireless and can be spotty.

Villa del Palmar - clean, thoughtful front desk and bell staff. Party every day and night. Evening entertainment and buffets with dancing and more.

You are in Cabo after all.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My partner and I choice Villa del Palmar mostly from reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We couldn't of asked for a better place. We selected the all-inclusive option.

We arrived on November 2, 2010, after arranging a transfer voucher thru Expedia. The trip from the airport to the resort was about 45 minutes. The driver was courtious, professional and was easily to find once you exited the airport. He offered beer or water for the trip to the resort, which was much appreciated.

Upon arrival at the resort, check-in was quick and easy. We got our hotel room and towel cards plus our all inclusive wristbands. On the downside, we were quickly lead to the "time share" personnal, who tried to talk us into attending the "morning breakfast" to discuss the 'time share" in order to get our "gold card", which offers discounts on local activities and services. We politely declined and told them we weren't interested and just wanted to enjoy a week of sun and relaxation. That was the last we hear of the time share breakfast.

We were more than happy with the room. It was on the 3 tower, sixth floor with a view of Lover's Beach, the ocean and beach area. The room was spacous and clean. There was a kitchenette and a mini bar, which we didn't need or use. We had a queen size bed, which was very comfortable. The hotel was quite which made for a great night's sleep. Laura, our housekeep, kept our room clean daily.

There were three pools - one adult pool, which we found to be always busy and loud for our liking. There were games, water areobics and music playing most of the day. We choose to hang out around the kiddie's pool, which was quieter and had a great view of the ocean and beach area plus very few people around. We found the pool waiters and waitress very friendly and available. We read that if your were all inclusive or not tipping that the service was less than adequate but we didn't find that at all.

You had two choices for dinner. Either a casual dinner by the beach with a choice of the bar menu or the Italian kitchen menu or a buffet style dinner which included a different theme every night. We went for the casual dinner by the water but we did take in the 'Brazil" night.

We found there was a good selection of food for all meals. We tried their local red and white wines. To be honest, we only order one glass of each and they were awful. We stuck with the lime Margueritas, which were delicous.

The resort was very clean, employees were friendly and attentive. The food was good with lots of choices. The Margueritas were cold and refreshing. All in all this resort was absolutely awesome and we would recommend it to others.

A "must do" is to take a boat ride to Lover's Beach and a tour of Land's End. We had a great tour guide, which we found waiting in front of the beach area of the resort. For $20 it was well worth it.

The resort is only 20 minutes from town, well within walking distance. We tried both walking along the beach and walking along the sidewalk and found walking along the sidewalk a better choice (only to avoid the many beach vendors).

We had a great time at the Villa del Palmar and would absolutely return and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BillnKathy154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews