We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've stayed here two years in a row. Simple, clean rooms. Plenty of hot water in the showers and nice pool. There's a great resturant right on site, and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The "Mar de" is surrounded by great food and shopping. It is a very short walk to the marina and all that down town Cabo has to offer. As a bonus this place is about 50 yards from the front door of Cabo Wabo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choteaujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic review, choteaujoe. It is so helpful for future guests considering a downtown, economical and highly personable and inclusive hotel. By inclusive I mean pool, restaurant and bar, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and a good central location. We have many Cabo Wabo fans stay with us since we are just a short half block away. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next year...making it three years in a row for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

My first stay at The Mar de Cortez was 22 years ago, a small hotel in the middle of a small dusty Mexican fishing village. The rate was $25 a night. the rooms simple, clean and the staff friendly. Best of all no TV, No Phone, and No Computers....totally off the grid! Today same clean, simple rooms, friendly staff, no tv. no phone, they do have wifi if you must and $68 a night for a Terrace View room! I could stay at the fancy hotels but why? The Mar de Cortez is in the heart of Cabo San Lucas. One block from the best dinning, clubs marina and shopping! Clean , simple and a 5 star stay in my book!

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are a great value with 2 large beds and a private patio facing the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BajaDaveHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

We appreciate your upbeat review and thank you. Yes, we have many guests who came to Cabo many, many years ago and stayed at the Mar de Cortez then, only to return years later and give similar reviews as yours. Don't stay away so long this time, BajaDaveHouston... By the way, perhaps you were referring to the Garden View rooms... they are the rooms with a private patio, a queen and a double facing the pool. The Terrace Rooms are all upstairs and they each open to a common terrace walkway overlooking the pool. Thanks again... until next time... safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This place is great. 5 friends and I stayed at the Mar De Cortez in April of 2013. Keep in mind this is not the place to stay if you are looking for a fancy hotel with television or in room phones however there is free WIFI, a fantastic pool and a great restaurant and bar. The staff was always so kind and always happy to point you in the right direction. The rooms are clean, beds are nice and linens always clean. You can not ask for a better location, everything is well within walking distance. This will be the only place I will stay in Cabo on my future trips. Thank you for making our stay so memorable!

Also, Taco's Gus is right down the street we called it the "red" taco place. Great al pastor!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caseycochran19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you so much caseycochra for your great review. We couldn't ask for anything more positive and encouraging for our first time travelers who are looking for a value added reasonably priced hotel in Cabo. We look forward to your next visit and so appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. And yes, one of the great benefits of our property is location...within walking distance to so many wonderful restaurants, taco and fruit stands, the beach, the marina, night clubs, shopping, etc. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Basic accommodation .Tranquil inner courtyard. Nice pool. Great staff. No pretences...Our third stay in Hotel mar de cortez,was again very enjoyable. We find the staff profesional ,but not obtrusive. And always helpful when needed.Thank you i will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your good information and yes it's a fact... for those who want to be in the heart of Cabo our location is indeed ideal. And like you and others have also said, we aren't fancy but we have much to offer in value and friendliness, comfort, our pool and restaurant and bar and nearby shopping and other Cabo restaurants. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

You can't beat the Mar de Cortez for the money. Yes it's an old hotel but they keep it up pretty well. Just don't expect any luxury amenities. But you will feel you stepped back in time. The pool is great and you can even spot some Geckos on the walls. The restaurant in the hotel (Baja Peppers) is outstanding too.

Room Tip: Bottom floor by the pool is convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you hutchie69 for your favorable review for your stay at Hotel Mar de Cortez in Cabo. Yes, so many guests like the great value you enjoy staying with us... the pool, our popular Baja Peppers Restaurant and Bar, and of course location. Being an Historical Landmark Hotel property you really do feel like you have stepped back in time in many ways. We have so many guests who are discovering us for the first time, and we have many as well who have been coming for years and years. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cabo. Thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

if you want all the pampering this is not the place BUT it is an old mexican hotel in the
heart of cabo. expect the basics,, very clean, very convenient location, can walk just
about everywhere in downtown cabo. there is secure parking which is a big plus for us.
the pool area is nice, small homey restaurant and bar with good food. we stayed
there twice in the last 6wks and manage to do so usually once yearly. never disappointed.
worth a try

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your favorable review for Hotel Mar de Cortez, Cindy P. Yes, we have so many return guests as they travel through Baja each year and we appreciate your kind words. We know that word of mouth is the best advertising we can get so we thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. It all boils down to comfort, cleanliness, location and service, we agree. When you add secure parking, a lovely pool and great restaurant and bar, all for great value, then we believe we have something to offer you all. Thank you again... We will continue to try harder...it does make a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here at least once a year since 1995. The front desk staff,Ana, is wonderful. The rooms are clean and quiet. We can and have walked to anyplace we want to. A pleasant 10 minute walk to the beach. We could stay anywhere.... we choose the Mar de Cortez!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snelldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Hello and thank you for your upbeat review. As a loyal guest, we so appreciate your regular visits to the Mar de Cortez and your kind words about our property. We continue to say that location, location, location is so important with customer service being equally so. The friendly Mi Casa Su Casa expression continues to be our moto and we look forward to your next visit when in Cabo. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
534 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Ca...
#35 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £35 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing