We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional in a very "resort" town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very traditional hotel in a town which is very "resorty" (ie big hotels which could be anywhere in the world). It is downtown and a close walk to bars and restaurants and the mariner is about a 10 minute stroll away. The restaurant in the hotel (a separate business) offers a great breakfast (we did not have lunch or dinner here). Loved the garden courtyard and pool having a a very Mexican feel. The room was basic but large, with a very powerful air con unit. If I return to Cabo in the future I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a poolside room in the 300's - these rooms appeared to be a bit dated compared to some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for your kind words, Wacky68. As a first timer your review is important to us. Sounds like you were in one of our Garden View rooms. They are especially popular because they each have either a private patio or private balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. And yes, location is ideal for those wanting easy access to shopping, restaurants, the marina, clubs and only a 15 min walk to the beach. If you are in Cabo again, we look forward to seeing you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great place to stay at an affordable price. Very clean and comfortable . I realy loved the bed the best mattress I slept on outside of my own. The staff was realy helpful. Only blocks to the mall and marina. The on site resturant was one of my favs they served all bfast lunch and dinner .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

And what a nice review, pjjune. Thank you. It's interesting... Everyone has their own needs when it comes to mattresses and we are glad yours were met. Also, as a team we all work hard to provide good customer service from start to finish so your kind words will go far when read by our staff. And Baja Peppers, our restaurant and bar, has become a favorite for many, indeed. If you are a fisherman, they will cook your 'catch of the day'. A popular custom. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again, next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recently returned to the Mar de Cortez and was really surprised at what I found. The entire hotel is undergoing a total remake, new paint, new fixtures, new landscaping the works. They have made a great hotel even better. The outside is done and the rooms are now getting the treatment.

If you like the old Cabo this is really the place for you, close to everything, a nice bar and restaurant on site, quiet, comfortable rooms and very reasonably priced, in fact probably the best deal in Cabo.

What really makes this place special are the people. Marcos, the manager, and Ana Maria are jewels and will cater to your every need. in fact the entire staff is amazing. Anything you need just ask and they will do everything possible to help you.

Without a doubt the only place I would stay while in Cabo. Book the room over the phone, Nat is joy to deal with.

Room Tip: Get one of the Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We are so glad you are excited about our 'face-lift' Jim G. Thank you. Yes, lots of improvements going on and the first major upgrade is just about finished. And then yes, the rooms are next. As a regular return guest, you have seen the changes and understand how we are able to incorporate the old with the new. Thanks again for your happy review and for letting future guests know that we are without a doubt the best deal in town. See you next trip... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is my 5th time staying at the Mar de Cortez and love the location, staff, and over all cleanliness of the property and rooms. This trip there has been a recent make over of the outside. It has been painted in all typical Mexican colors which made it POP! The property came alive with all the vibrant colors! The rooms on the other hand left much to be desired, from the white stark concrete walls, aged flourescent lighting, flat hard mattress and pillows, torn curtains, and swamp cooler/ac that roared and little or no amenities. I did go to the front desk and requested wash cloths, hand towels, extra amenities and pillows and they were put in the room on a daily basis which I much appreciated. (they don't have hand towels) Sitting out on the balcony was iffy. You couldn't leave the ac on because of the loud roar and then the condensation would drip down and pool around our feet. I would have to take a towel and sweep the water towards the drain hole with my feet before we could sit at the table and chairs. That got old! I was told that they were going to paint the rooms to go along with the new paint job on the outside which will make the rooms much more appealing to be in. Hope they also update the bedding and amenities and replace the aging AC window units. Then we'd have a complete package! :) You can't beat the price and the caring staff though...our room was $400 for 5 mights included a fridge for an extra $5 a day. If updating the rooms increases the daily rate, then so be it..I'd pay it! I just love the Mar De Cortez-a Cabo classic!

Room Tip: Check out the window unit in the room before you take your luggage in. to hear the noise level of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divetravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your very complete review, divetrvlr from Sparks, Nevada. Sometimes we have to see the negative along with the positive to get an authentic overview and yours was just that. Yes, we are currently attacking the rooms as our next upgrade project for our ever popular Historical Landmark Hotel Mar de Cortez. Your review brings to the attention of management guests' needs as well as their likes. Thank you. I have also discussed your review with management and suffice it to say, your suggestions are being taken into consideration. We appreciate your repeat business and your honesty and we look forward to hearing your comments in future reviews as we continue to improve and upgrade our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

At $880 a night for a double, this place is a little too pricey for what it gives. The lobby, restaurant and pool look nice enough, but the rooms are depressing concrete bunkers with fluorescent lighting the only option to darkness. The pool is clean and the sun loungers comfortable, but in retrospect I would rather have gone for the cheaper Bajas Cactus Hostel (although the hourly pricing might scare some off...) and kept my ablutions to the more than ample beaches around Cabo.

The restaurant is good and fairly priced, though. Those chilaquiles will give a good run to any hangover.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool, while pricier, seem much nicer than those on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your honest review, yourseasons from Bangkok Thailand. When referring to your price of $800 that is in pesos for anyone who might be questioning the price. Our rate of exchange is $12.30 pesos = $1.00 USD. We regret your disappointment in your room at the hotel and hope that next time around, if you choose to give us another chance you will be more than satisfied. Yes, our rooms are outdated in many respects... keep in mind, we are a Historical Landmark Hotel... and we expect to have them all upgraded within the next year. We have completely remodeled the exterior and gardens this past year or so, and are now working on the rooms. We hope you had a great time in Cabo and hopefully your disappointment with your room didn't dramatically distract you from the rest of our amenities and all that Cabo has to offer. Also... I would encourage anyone who is not satisfied with their room to check at the front desk and see what you can do to get an upgrade. We want our guests to be happy and comfortable. Always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was our first time here for me and my three fishing buddies. We stayed in Room 504 that has four beds so it worked out well. The room and entire area were clean. Pillows a little flat and as usual in Mexico it seems the mattresses a bit firm. Both could use updating perhaps. For four fishing buddies it was fine.

The location was awesome for downtown. Close to the harbor to allow walking to your boat. We took a cab though, to and from Pisces fishing at the harbor entrance. Cabs were either there at 6AM or within minutes of a call from the front desk. A few doors down is the best little taco stand in Cabo. Tacos al Pastor were the best. And we've tried every taco stop in Cabo! The hotel is one block up from Cabo Wabo - nice. There's a market right on the corner and Pharmacy right in front. Great walking-around location.

The pool was clean! Is one-half shallow and one-half deep. Perfect. The little bar there serves food and drinks. Reasonable and nice staff. There are lots of pool lounges in very good shape, and the pool was a popular hangout for all guests it seems.

The A/C worked great and this hotel, believe it or not - was quiet!

If you want a fancy room for the wife on the 10th floor over-looking the harbor with a SPA center and all, this is probably not the place. If you aren't that picky, enjoy walking around downtown with no long walk or cab ride and really enjoying the Cabo fun then this place is the best.

The restaurant was good too - cooked our fresh fish in Italian style with Calimari and Octopus appetizers, rice, fresh veggies - very authentic Italian.

Nat arranged the VIP transportation service for us, for a small surcharge. They were at the airport when we arrived, with a clean, new Suburban. The driver even had some water and Coronitas for us. It was a nice surprise for all of us. The driver spoke great english and was very helpful. The trip back to the airport was just as comfortable and nice. CLEAN, good ride. We probably would have paid the same for one of those old vans with no suspension and no A/C. The only better rides I saw was some outfit with Cadillac Escalades vs. Suburbans. No big deal.

A very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you, David F. Another great 'all inclusive' review. This is so helpful to others and speaks volumes for just what is and is not available for one's stay at the Mar de Cortez. Don't know if you took advantage of our complimentary Wi-Fi, but we are beginning to receive pictures direct from guests at the hotel to post on our FaceBook Fan Page. We look forward to seeing you again in Cabo and muchas gracias for your kind and thorough review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I headed to Cabo for the weekend and stayed at the Mar de Cortez. In addition to receiving a confirmation email from Nat, an information sheet was included listing the different choices I had for getting to the hotel from the airport which was very helpful. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Cabo and within walking distance to the Marina and other hotspots. I loved the property layout. I stayed at the Garden View Room which had a lovely view of the pool and the courtyard. The room was large and spacious with 2 beds (1 queen & 1 double). The room did not have a TV and telephone which I did not mind. The staff were very helpful when asking for information. The Wi-Fi connection was good. The breakfast portions were generous. There are a couple of eateries down the street which are open late into the night and served very good food. I plan to stay here during my future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Many thanks for your thorough and 'all inclusive' review, PJ_Globetrotter. You have answered many questions for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Cabo and your stay at the Hotel Mar de Cortez...we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#34 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#46 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#45 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £37 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing