We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in room 118 on the first floor in the back inside corner
The pros:
The price was right!
No TV
Quiet
Secluded
Close to Everything (downtown Cabo)
Beautiful grounds
Baja Peppers restaurant on site. (easy to get morning coffee since no coffee maker in room)
Bed was very comfortable

The Cons:
No TV
lack of power outlets
lighting in the room was not good (2 lights in each room)
difficult to find a chair near the pool (some people claimed their chairs the entire week we were there)
no hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc.

We met a lot of really nice people there. We stayed for 8 days and went out sight seeing almost every day. the lazy days we sat around the pool were pleasant. The people staying there for several weeks made for a good community in the courtyard. They BBQ'd and played music all day and the place was very quiet after 9pm. The room seemed dark at night with only 2 lights in the room. The internet was spotty, but a friend staying at a $600/night resort had the same issue (and they paid an addition $12/day for internet) Mar de Cortez the internet is not an extra charge. The internet is fairly slow everywhere in cabo. I did purchase an extension cord to use my computer on the patio since there was no outlet outside.
We ate at Baja Peppers at least once per day and they were friendly and the food was good.
Except when we used the free breakfast coupon the waiter became rude and ignored us.

The pool was cold as it is "solar heated" that is very environmentally friendly.
They have water coolers in the lobby which is awesome to fill a water bottle, some places are rude and charge $4US or more for a bottle of water. I needed water because it is always hot and sunny.

Overall Hotel Mar De Cortez was a pleasant place to call home for a week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you chadg1890 for your thorough review. We appreciate your information and as always, take into consideration the pros and cons from our reviews in an effort to keep what's working, working, and improve upon the areas that seem to need attention. As a Historical Landmark property there are upgrades that always seem to present themselves, simply due to age. Fortunately, we have a property that is enjoyed by many and each year we do more and more to keep the flavor of the past, yet update ourselves for comfort and value for our guests today. Than you again, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Cabo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have stayed here many of time. Price is fantastic. Very nice clean hotel with swimming pool, restaurant, and bar. Rooms all have Refrigerated air. Very good staff. Best part is that it is walking distance to all the action and the marina. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Great website for choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank givey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you givey62 for your kind review. So many folks today are looking for budget properties these days and we like the fact that you believe for the money and location etc, you cannot go wrong staying with us. It's a great help to others seeking the same. Thank you for your continued patronage. See you again soon... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Mar for a few years now, adding a few days to our timeshare weeks. From Nat at the reservation office to Ana at the hotel, and everyone in between, you are all great!! For those who've posted negative reviews maybe you should go spend a few hundred a night elsewhere! The value here exceeds the cost...location, clean rooms and staff that treats you great!!! Even with extras like car rental...thanks Nat & Ana!!

Poolside dining is great with friendly service and prices that can't be beat. The food is delicious!! Crystal at the bar is a gem...waiters too.

The improvements look great and we look forward to the continued work that's being done. For an older hotel the staff has done well in keeping things maintained. Keep up the good work!! We look forward to our next visit later this year!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank 3FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you, '3FC' from Port Orchard, WA, for your great review. Yes, we have often been described as the best kept secret in Cabo San Lucas and an oasis in downtown Cabo. Thanks for sharing about the poolside dining. It's a great 'plus' that our guests so enjoy not just because of the experience, but because the food is just great with reasonable prices from Baja Peppers Restaurant and Bar. And thank you too, for mentioning us as your contact personnel for our service and assistance. We love what we do and we want to share our experiences with others so they, too, will love their Cabo experience. See you next time, and... thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The customer service, location, rates, and the food were phenomenal. Even our friends staying at their over-priced 5-star timeshare spent the remainder of their vacation hanging out with us at the Hotel Mar de Cortez. Perfect little oasis in the middle of everything. Begining with the reservations, through out our stay, and even after we left Cabo - the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with! Will stay there again and recommend to any one considering a trip to Cabo San Lucas!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getusthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you 'getusthere' for sharing your experience for others considering where to stay in Cabo. A hotel in downtown Cabo has many advantages most of which you included in your review. One's experience makes all the difference in the world when it comes to travel and you hit the ball out of the park when you listed customer service, food, location and price among the benefits when you chose to stay with us at Hotel Mar de Cortez. We try hard to give you a five star property in a three star package and every day we strive to make it better and better to reach that goal. Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Cabo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This has got to be the best location out of any hotel in cabo. We booked through the hotel's website and got TWO free breakfasts for 2 booking that way-at the hotel's restaurant inside the hotel called baja peppers (every 3 nights you stay you get a free breakfast only if you book directly thru the hotels website)

If you're looking for luxury you will be disappointed. This place has the basics with old Mexican charm bright colors cute tiles- but I found it it be very clean! The pool is great. Everyone is friendly. You won't find a better price for what you get. Plus its walking distance to everything!!

Negatives-safety box isnt in your room its at the front desk. We daily got money out so I felt bad constantly asking to get into it, no TV, wifi didnt work in our room but it did by the pool, beach is about a 15 minute walk.

Positives-LOCATION! Quality for what you pay, PRICE!!! So inexpensive, Pool was so fun and refreshing!! Table and chairs outside of room to people watch other hotel guests coming and going, baja peppers in the hotel is excellent!!! You can order food and drinks and sit pool side. Staff was very friendly too besides 1 person. I was also suprised at how quiet it was considering the hotels location is downtown right by all the action.

If I stay here again I would pay for an upgraded room just to see what I would get. For price I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KariEissens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you, KarlEissens, for your upbeat and complete review of your recent stay at the Mar de Cortez. I bet coming from Illinois you also enjoyed the beautiful warm Cabo weather as well. We continue to count location, price and value as our primary benefits for our guests. And you have included all of that in your review. I am sure others will benefit from your words of wisdom and yes, the extra benefit of a free breakfast for every 3 nights you stay at the hotel when you book directly from the hotel's website or central reservations office is a real 'plus' for our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cabo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I booked this out on a limb since we were arriving a few days before the rest of our group - only went off Tripadvisor reviews...and very happy we stayed here!

The rooms are nothing fancy. The beds are a little hard, but every thing is clean and we had zero complaints! To show how great this place really is, the rest of our trip we stayed at the Pueblo Bonita Montecristo Villas (google this if you aren't familiar). The villas are 7K a week luxury, but the Hotel Mar De Cortez was just perfectly fine for us!!

This hotel is in an awesome location - right in the heart of Cabo, so you don't even need a car! (we had one, but wasn't necessary). If you do have a car, they have free secure parking in the rear of the hotel.

Also, the restaurant at the hotel is amazing. Great prices for a $4 breakfast that my wife and I split.

In summary - I'd highly recommend this place. If/when we return to Cabo, we will for sure be staying here again!

Room Tip: No bad rooms (to my knowledge)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you brownma for your kind review. When someone like yourself stays at the Mar de Cortez for the first time and shares with others the fact that not only did you truly enjoy your stay with us, but you intend to return, we appreciate your taking the time to write your review in a big way. This lets other 'newbies' in on one of the best kept secrets in downtown Cabo San Lucas. Your hotel in downtown Cabo... Hotel Mar de Cortez. We have countless customers stay with us one or two nights before or after a weeklong stay at one of the 'high end' resorts and then on their next trip they add more days to their stay with us. Thanks for sharing your satisfaction with our onsite restaurant/bar Baja Peppers. They do a bang up job for breakfast, lunch and dinner, by the pool snacks and beverages, etc. They will even cook your 'catch of the day' after a long fishing experience on the Sea of Cortez. We look forward to seeing you again next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Hotel Mar de Cortez is located in the middle of Cabo San Lucas and you can easily walk to most attractions such as the beach, harbor or shopping. This family owned hotel is well maintained, secure, and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant in the hotel, but there are lots of inexpensive local eateries within a short walk of the hotel. Taxi's are also stationed outside the hotel.
The Mar de Cortez is very reasonably priced but does not have many common amenities typically found in a hotel room. No TV's, telephones or refrigerator are provided but a frig can be rented for a small fee. The grounds of the hotel are nicely landscaped and a good size swimming pool is available.
If you're looking for a clean, friendly hotel in the middle of the action, this is the place for you. The have MANY repeat customers so that is a positive for visitors to Cabo San Lucas.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are nice if you want view of the pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fruebertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

You are absolutely right Fruebertt about our location. As they say in real estate... location, location, location. Now, if you want to be in town, then yes this is the place. As noted in another recent review, we are about a 15 minute walk to the beach, and only a 5 min. walk to the marina. Yes, many prefer upper level rooms with a balcony or terrace walkway for the view and for a little more quiet, while others will only book ground floor rooms with a porch or patio. Thank you for your review and kind words. We have so many repeat guests which is great, and we keep striving to be such a popular destination for many more. Your reviews help us in this effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
534 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#47 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Ca...
#35 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £35 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing