We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
2 reviews
“Great place to stay in Cabo”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I recently visited Cabo San Lucas and stayed at Mar De Cortez. I have nothing but good things to say about my time there. It was clean, the staff always friendly and ready to help if needed, location was very centrally located and made everything very easily walkable.
The restaurant they have there is also great - especially dinners!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Therese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you Therese D for your complimentary review. It's always great to hear from first time guests who enjoy the many benefits and the comfort of the Mar de Cortez. Yes, location does have its merits. So convenient for shopping, restaurants, the marina, swimming, night clubs, etc. We've often been described as 'the best kept secrect in Cabo'. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    206
    70
    19
    16
See reviews for
60
186
64
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
803 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,027 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a very friendly place to stay that will not break the bank this is a good option.

It is clean but not at all fancy.

The staff is helpful.

The bed comfort is not the best but not horrible.

The place really could use a facelift but it is fine.

You will bump into friendly people by the pool and they can give you good tips on places to go or eat.

My big request is that they put safes in the room. Using lockboxes at the reception desk is not realistic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you arizonaac for your review. We appreciate your input and management has been made aware of your suggestions and comments. We continue to upgrade the property with the intention of keeping the original flavor and design and warm hospitality as we add and improve to reflect current day needs and value. Customer service is our #1 objective, from the moment you book your room to the minute you say 'adios... until next time'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in room 118 on the first floor in the back inside corner
The pros:
The price was right!
No TV
Quiet
Secluded
Close to Everything (downtown Cabo)
Beautiful grounds
Baja Peppers restaurant on site. (easy to get morning coffee since no coffee maker in room)
Bed was very comfortable

The Cons:
No TV
lack of power outlets
lighting in the room was not good (2 lights in each room)
difficult to find a chair near the pool (some people claimed their chairs the entire week we were there)
no hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc.

We met a lot of really nice people there. We stayed for 8 days and went out sight seeing almost every day. the lazy days we sat around the pool were pleasant. The people staying there for several weeks made for a good community in the courtyard. They BBQ'd and played music all day and the place was very quiet after 9pm. The room seemed dark at night with only 2 lights in the room. The internet was spotty, but a friend staying at a $600/night resort had the same issue (and they paid an addition $12/day for internet) Mar de Cortez the internet is not an extra charge. The internet is fairly slow everywhere in cabo. I did purchase an extension cord to use my computer on the patio since there was no outlet outside.
We ate at Baja Peppers at least once per day and they were friendly and the food was good.
Except when we used the free breakfast coupon the waiter became rude and ignored us.

The pool was cold as it is "solar heated" that is very environmentally friendly.
They have water coolers in the lobby which is awesome to fill a water bottle, some places are rude and charge $4US or more for a bottle of water. I needed water because it is always hot and sunny.

Overall Hotel Mar De Cortez was a pleasant place to call home for a week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadg1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you chadg1890 for your thorough review. We appreciate your information and as always, take into consideration the pros and cons from our reviews in an effort to keep what's working, working, and improve upon the areas that seem to need attention. As a Historical Landmark property there are upgrades that always seem to present themselves, simply due to age. Fortunately, we have a property that is enjoyed by many and each year we do more and more to keep the flavor of the past, yet update ourselves for comfort and value for our guests today. Than you again, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have stayed here many of time. Price is fantastic. Very nice clean hotel with swimming pool, restaurant, and bar. Rooms all have Refrigerated air. Very good staff. Best part is that it is walking distance to all the action and the marina. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Great website for choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you givey62 for your kind review. So many folks today are looking for budget properties these days and we like the fact that you believe for the money and location etc, you cannot go wrong staying with us. It's a great help to others seeking the same. Thank you for your continued patronage. See you again soon... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Mar for a few years now, adding a few days to our timeshare weeks. From Nat at the reservation office to Ana at the hotel, and everyone in between, you are all great!! For those who've posted negative reviews maybe you should go spend a few hundred a night elsewhere! The value here exceeds the cost...location, clean rooms and staff that treats you great!!! Even with extras like car rental...thanks Nat & Ana!!

Poolside dining is great with friendly service and prices that can't be beat. The food is delicious!! Crystal at the bar is a gem...waiters too.

The improvements look great and we look forward to the continued work that's being done. For an older hotel the staff has done well in keeping things maintained. Keep up the good work!! We look forward to our next visit later this year!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3FC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you, '3FC' from Port Orchard, WA, for your great review. Yes, we have often been described as the best kept secret in Cabo San Lucas and an oasis in downtown Cabo. Thanks for sharing about the poolside dining. It's a great 'plus' that our guests so enjoy not just because of the experience, but because the food is just great with reasonable prices from Baja Peppers Restaurant and Bar. And thank you too, for mentioning us as your contact personnel for our service and assistance. We love what we do and we want to share our experiences with others so they, too, will love their Cabo experience. See you next time, and... thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The customer service, location, rates, and the food were phenomenal. Even our friends staying at their over-priced 5-star timeshare spent the remainder of their vacation hanging out with us at the Hotel Mar de Cortez. Perfect little oasis in the middle of everything. Begining with the reservations, through out our stay, and even after we left Cabo - the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with! Will stay there again and recommend to any one considering a trip to Cabo San Lucas!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getusthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you 'getusthere' for sharing your experience for others considering where to stay in Cabo. A hotel in downtown Cabo has many advantages most of which you included in your review. One's experience makes all the difference in the world when it comes to travel and you hit the ball out of the park when you listed customer service, food, location and price among the benefits when you chose to stay with us at Hotel Mar de Cortez. We try hard to give you a five star property in a three star package and every day we strive to make it better and better to reach that goal. Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This has got to be the best location out of any hotel in cabo. We booked through the hotel's website and got TWO free breakfasts for 2 booking that way-at the hotel's restaurant inside the hotel called baja peppers (every 3 nights you stay you get a free breakfast only if you book directly thru the hotels website)

If you're looking for luxury you will be disappointed. This place has the basics with old Mexican charm bright colors cute tiles- but I found it it be very clean! The pool is great. Everyone is friendly. You won't find a better price for what you get. Plus its walking distance to everything!!

Negatives-safety box isnt in your room its at the front desk. We daily got money out so I felt bad constantly asking to get into it, no TV, wifi didnt work in our room but it did by the pool, beach is about a 15 minute walk.

Positives-LOCATION! Quality for what you pay, PRICE!!! So inexpensive, Pool was so fun and refreshing!! Table and chairs outside of room to people watch other hotel guests coming and going, baja peppers in the hotel is excellent!!! You can order food and drinks and sit pool side. Staff was very friendly too besides 1 person. I was also suprised at how quiet it was considering the hotels location is downtown right by all the action.

If I stay here again I would pay for an upgraded room just to see what I would get. For price I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariEissens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nat D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mar de Cortez, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you, KarlEissens, for your upbeat and complete review of your recent stay at the Mar de Cortez. I bet coming from Illinois you also enjoyed the beautiful warm Cabo weather as well. We continue to count location, price and value as our primary benefits for our guests. And you have included all of that in your review. I am sure others will benefit from your words of wisdom and yes, the extra benefit of a free breakfast for every 3 nights you stay at the hotel when you book directly from the hotel's website or central reservations office is a real 'plus' for our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#38 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
Fairfield Inn Los Cabos
#34 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#45 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Property: Hotel Mar de Cortez
Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing