We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheap hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great cheap hotel!”
Reviewed 19 December 2005

Stayed at the Mar de Cortez for the 5th time Dec 13-17. It's only 2 blocks from the marina, one block to the main drag. I have been coming here since 1994. Priced at $68 a night for 2 excellent beds with A/C, but no phones or TV. It has a great pool, small bar with cable TV, and the simple restaurant will cook your catch for $5. We had dorado done 3 ways, and I think it's the best I ever had! They have a website: (-). Highly recommend it if you are looking for authentic Mexican lodging!

Helpful?
11 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    191
    64
    18
    15
See reviews for
54
170
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2005

if you want a nice clean tranquil plase to stay this is it...just a hop and a skip from all the night life and good reataurants. it is not fancy, but it has good beds,AC and a nice pool with the bar right there. and a great restaurant!!(super good huevos rancheros and fresh papaya juce..great for the hangover in the morning:))all at a nice price.we will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aprilstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2005

What a great place for meeting friendly travellers, very economical and clean and nice people run the Mar De Cortez
I will return again and again

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mexicoluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 September 2005

Enjoyed my short stay at Mar de Cortez. Very simple, no TV or telephone but clean. Air conditioner works good and that was important. Would have liked a little more security on room door ie. deadbolt or safety chain although front desk could monitor whoever came into hotel area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Liked downtown location but long walk to main beach.

Not fancy but can't beat price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2005

If you stay at this hotel DO NOT LEAVE EVEN A SHIRT IN YOUR ROOM!! My father had his wet swimsuit and all of his toiletries stolen!! The deadbolts do not work on the rooms. The window was jimmied open and the thief took whatever he could grab within reach. Don't think that hiding your cell in your suitcase will work either. Everyone in my group had a couple of stolen items from their suitcases. They stole a bottle of cologne, a pair of jeans from Express, and a baseball cap from me.

Anyone can come in during the day when you are fishing, but at night you can't bring a guest back into the hotel with you! We met some really nice girls at El Squid Roe but we refused to bribe the night "watchman" to let them in. Instead, my friends went back to where the girls were staying, Melian San Lucas I think.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2005

In 2004, we stayed at Hotel Mar de Cortez for two weeks from 10 days before Christmas until a few days after the New Year. We had never been to Los Cabos before, and were apprehensive about booking a room at such a cheap hotel. (After all, "You get what you pay for.") However, favorable reviews at TripAdvisor.com gave us the courage to take a chance -- and we were NOT disappointed. Our room was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were more than satisfied, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.
-Hal, Seattle

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Soggy_Sun_Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 April 2005

This was the best deal ever! I have stayed in Cabo before and I would definately recommend this hotel if you are working on a budget but want high quality just not luxery. I researched this hotel extensively before my 8 day spring break trip and my expectations were surpassed. The maids were awesome (my friends paid THREE times as much at a different hotel and didn't get towels for days) and were prompt and the room was always sparking clean. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Every morning we got the $2.50 breakfast deal which was the perfect amount of food after drinking all night. The pool was big enough and there were enough lounge chairs-- it was not 4 star, but not lacking if you are trying to save money. We never once took a taxi except for the airport and were literally 2 blocks from the two hottest night clubs. This is huge if you are concerned about money because a lot of hotels are outside town or far enough away to require taxi rides to and from town. For food I reccommend the nachos at the Iguana.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Cortez

Property: Hotel Mar de Cortez
Address: #140 Lazaro Cardenas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar de Cortez 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular Historical Landmark Hotel, best value in Cabo San Lucas. 88 Air-conditioned rooms, swimming pool, El Cortez Restaurant, bar. Free parking, free Wi-Fi, safe deposit boxes, beach towels. Centrally located in Cabo close to marina, beach, shopping, restaurants, clubs, sport fishing, activities. Activities and Car Rental reservations & 24/7 front desk. Fitness Center nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mar de Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Cortez Hotel
Hotel Mar De Cortez Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing