We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Los Milagros Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    Hotel Melida(Cabo San Lucas)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Siesta Suites(Cabo San Lucas)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    Cabo Las Flores Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    Tesoro Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Cabo Vista Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (598)
    Filter reviews
    598 results
    Traveller rating
    259
    224
    75
    22
    18
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    259
    224
    75
    22
    18
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscabo wabonice poolrooms are very basicno tv or phonesecure parkingbudget hotelplace to sleeppurified watermexican hotelwatch tvon site restauranttwo blocksfree breakfastthe hotel is cleantacowalking distance to everythinglocation is great
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    499 - 504 of 598 reviews
    Reviewed 21 February 2007

    This is the second year we have spent ten days at the Mar De Cortez. There is no phone and no Tv but the room was very clean, the staff friendly and helpful , the pool and grounds are clean and well maintained.The location is excellent if you like to be within walking distance of great dining spots and the marina.
    Would rcommend this hotel for those who enjoy an economical vacation without all the fancy trimmings but with a great atmosphere.

    • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank SprucegroveMick
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 January 2007

    Stayed for MLK weekend at $60/night for a deluxe. Room was very clean. Staff was helpful. There is a nice bar by the pool. Pool was big with 3 depths. Ate once in the restaurant, food was OK. Hotel is close to bars, restaurants, shopping, movies, supermarket, and marina. If you are booking a deluxe room, get one on the ground floor as the patios are much bigger than those on the top floor.

    Stayed: January 2007
    8  Thank BruceInDetroit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 January 2007

    We stayed there for two weeks over Christmas break. It was close to all amenities including the beach. Nice to walk to Medano beach every day. Quiet and clean. Great family owned hotel. One of the original in Cabo San Lucas. Met many who said they had stayed there several times over several years. Nice pool. We were not in our room for long so it didn't matter that there wasn't a tv or kitchen. I recommend it. There is a website with extensive info.

    Michelle Moore - Penticton, B.C. Canada

    • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    7  Thank mandmgirl4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2006

    Three of us spent 8 day at the hotel and found it very friendly, clean and close to all the action. There is a inexpensive restraunt in house with very good food, a bar and a beautiful pool, I would go back any time, as a note to fisherman like myself they have a giant zero temp freezer, so now matter how big your catch is this locker will hold it
    The maid services were very great also.


    Mike Blackstone
    San Luis Obispo , CA

    • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank usmcgrunt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 October 2006

    A friend and I stayed at the Mar de Cortez for four nights in late September 2006. We arrived by car and it was very easy to spot - a big white facade in the heart of Cabo. Upon checking in, I received a four-digit pin for the gates to the secure parking area. We were there during off-season and I don't think they had greater than 20% occupancy. Still, their parking lot is small and was nearly full. During high season, it may be tough to get a parking spot.

    Rooms were spacious but Spartan. We had a garden room with two beds. Beds were FIRM. Tile floors and simple tiled shower. It's true that rooms have fluorescent lights, but there were five lights in our room and it was very bright with them all on. Electricity must be very expensive in the Baja, because the fluorescent bulbs are everywhere - not just the Mar de Cortez. Air conditioner unit worked just fine. During our last full day there, the maids skipped over our room. So I marked them down slightly for that.

    Spencer’s (their restaurant) was a little dreary on the inside, but their patio seating was nice. I only had breakfast there and it was outstanding each time. Pool is divided into three depths: 18 inches for the kiddies, 3 feet for wading, and six feet for swimming. Each depth is about 1/3 of the overall pool area. Water was extremely clean with very little chemical smell. Also, lots of maintenance while I was there: painting, tile work around the pool, landscaping, etc. Since this is the off-season, it appears they were doing a lot of upkeep. Glad to see they're investing in their future and it did not detract from our stay.

    Location is prime. Not really touristy and not residential. It seemed to be on the buffer zone. There's a small pharmacy across the street where you can get most anything (including that ED stuff you see on American TV Ads.) Next to that is a small grocery. Two ATM's are within short walking distance. Down the street are two "Gentleman's" Clubs but there was no seedy atmosphere about. For that, head about 400 yards to the east around El Squid Roe. THAT'S the tourist zone, with the cruise ships belching out thousands of day-trippers. Walking around there, I got propositioned each day and night for blow, pot, Ecstasy, timeshares, fishing charters, massages, and the occasional "would you like a lady?” At first it's amusing, but after four days it gets annoying.

    Mar de Cortez was great and the location was prime. I would definitely stay there again.

    • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check-in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    9  Thank vet-drm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews