We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite and Cozy Little Place in the Heart of Town”
Review of Siesta Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siesta Suites
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent three days in Cabo San Lucas, making our launch for our trip north through Baja Sur. The Siesta Suites are centrally located, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant below the courtyard is a very popular Italian joint that is fully packed after 6pm. Get reservations if you want to get a table. The downside is the noise but we were generally carousing during these hours. Calling the pool a pool may be a little bit of a misnomer. It's a fountain for central to the restaurant. I have stayed at the Mar De Cortez in the past and would recommend staying there for the extra 5 or ten bucks.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor or above to buffer the noise from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brokenarrow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for the (mostly) positive review. We totally wish that we could offer a huge pool like some other hotels. Space downtown is so limited and tiny little Salvatore's restaurant has grown so popular, it swallowed up the little pool we did have. We encourage our guests to get down to the beach, as Cabo beaches are sooooo beautiful. Much better than any pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I loved it at Siesta Suites! We traveled April of 2013 (I know this has been on my to-do list for awhile) and could not have better things to say about this hotel. The rooms-as others have said are no frills, but it's everything you need in a city with as much to do in it as Cabo. The rooms are very clean and there is a nice little table/kitchenette. It was our first time in Cabo and we didn't really know what to expect so we only booked Siesta suites for two nights and then moved to an all inclusive. If anything that was our biggest mistake.

Siesta suites is so centrally located that it was easy to get anywhere. We felt safe at all times and walking around late at night (after visiting some local bars) was not a problem at all! The restaurant downstairs also has AMAZING FOOD, the smells coming from downstairs were so good we couldn't resist and we were glad that we didn't.

The sun deck was very nice and quite during the day. I layed out there while my husband did some work, the cat is very friendly too!

Most importantly was how nice the staff was. It was our anniversary and my husband had called them ahead of time and informed them, asking them to get some flowers and wine for the room. They didn't have any trouble at all accommodating and it was such a nice and special treat. The owners go out of their way to make people feel comfortable and ensure a good vacation, that you can truly tell.

Thank you siesta suites for making our stay in Cabo so memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thanks for your great review. Please come back again!!!!
We love guests like you. Adios!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is what it is - a clean place to sleep, very conveniently located - do not expect to much. Do book your hotel directly - you really do not save much booking elsewhere & it helps keep the price low. It is very basic lodging at a very good price. No elevator, no real frills - not a place to hang out (the little decks are nice for a morning coffee $1.00 in the lobby. The pool is not really, more like a fountain in the middle of a restaurant. There was a little noise from some concert hall nearby and the restaurant - But noise is all over Cabo - in the marina every restaurant there blasts lousy '70's & 80's music. This place is walking distance to all the main places The Marina, Sr. Frogs, Cabo Wabo, Giggling Marlin, Happy Endings - tons of restaurants, a ton of Mexican souvenir places - Would be great for fishing. If you are looking for something for a view, a place to hang.... this is not it, If you are looking for a safe clean place to sleep at a very fair price at a great location do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinscott29120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your great review. That concert you heard was actually a church behind the hotel. Yep, they get loud!!!! Thank God, they just worship on Saturdays and Sundays. ( and the odd holiday ) Hope to see you back in Cabo soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was our third trip to Cabo and we knew exactly what we were looking for. All we wanted to do was enjoy Lovers Beach and go fishing. On our last trip, we met another couple that raved about this place. So instead of booking a resort for the entire trip we tried this place. We loved it! It was only a couple of blocks away from the marina and restaurants. We stayed in the penthouse and it felt so cozy and like home. We walked to a near grocery store and made sandwiches for lunch and dinner a few times. We would definitely go back. However, we did stay at the Solmar resort that last two nights of our 6 night vacation. Only because we didn't know what to expect and booked the resort for a more "pampering" feel. It was such a mistake. Next time it will strictly Siesta Suites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Wow, with attitudes like that, you are welcome back ANYTIME!!!!!
Hope to see you again in Cabo soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have to start off saying I've always stayed in all inclusives while in mexico in the past. This time, my husband and myself were on a budget and decided we wanted to try a different type of vacation. Siesta Suites was the perfect place for that. Right from the very beginning we felt at ease as Alex and Nancy were very helpful with the reservation process. We decided to try out the penthouse suite, which was fun and really added to our experience. The room was clean, and having the kitchen was nice, although we hardly used it. The view was fantastic and I loved the privacy. There are a lot of stairs, which I didn't mind at all but someone with limited mobility would probably not enjoy them. We did find it quite noisy outside on fri and sat night with loud music being played in the area. But after a day in the sun, and with the air conditioner on, it wasn't really a problem.
The location was fantastic. I don't think it could get much better if you are looking to be close to all the action. The marina is literally just around the corner, and you can find all the activities you are looking for, as well as a wide variety of food options. Plus you can find all kinds of shopping, restaurants and night clubs within 5-10 min walk. The walk to the beach was about 20 min, and so that's something to keep in mind if you are looking for a beach vacation. We were out as late as 2am, and not once did we feel unsafe. The locals that hung out after the shops were closed were all very friendly, and we didn't feel intimidated at all. We also appreciated the hotel security at night.
My only complaint would be the lack of internet in the room. But in a way that was really nice too, since we were on vacation! But my husband did have some work to do that would have been easier having better internet access. However the sun deck was a great place to check in on work and kids, and to chat with other visitors. (plus visit with the kitty, who is very friendly and sweet)
The staff were friendly, and the restaurant was one of the best meals we had in Cabo!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable, safe place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks so much for the awesome review. We are sorry that the internet doesn't always reach the penthouse. Glad that you found the common areas to be alright to work in with the wifi. We are always trying to make things better here and the Wifi up to the penthouse is on the list!!! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again! Hasta Luego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Cabo who wants to get a real feel for the city. It is quaint, charming, gritty, simple, and absolutely wonderful. The staff went above and beyond to make sure my stay was pleasant. The only reason I didn't give an excellent rating was the internet connection (to which I am a slave) was spotty at best. My feeling is for those who want the "perfect, quiet conditions" hotel, there are plenty of resorts to choose. However, with the restaurants, marina, beaches, and shopping available within walking distance, Siesta Suites offers everything a vacationer could want. I even bought bought pastries from the back of a truck in the street. If you're looking for a true taste of Mexico vacation, this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hola, and thank you for the review. Glad to hear you liked our place and that you had a nice time in Cabo! Working in Mexico with the internet can be a challenge....we are working to make our hotel 100% Wifi 100% of the time. Thank you for bearing with us and hope to see you again in Cabo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this downtown Cabo hotel for a variety of good reasons. The location is great for walking and exploring. It is close to several good restaurants, the marina and shops. The staff is friendly and mostly helpful (more on that below). The rates are affordable. The hotel and its rooms are very simple, clean and basic. No frills here, but I liked it.

Now the downside: It can be a very noisy neighborhood with rock and roll bands, car alarms, traffic nearby, and an outdoor restaurant right next door, below your balcony. And if you are on the fourth floor, the folks in the rooftop patio penthouse above you can keep you awake all night with the shuffling of patio chairs, tables and whatever else they have being pushed across the concrete floor that unfortunately is the ceiling over your bed.

Twice we asked the late-night manager to help quiet the folks down, but he was not helpful. The problem was really the metal furniture being constantly moved across the concrete floor/ceiling. I think the owners can easily address this problem, and I can't believe we are the first guests to experience this nerve-wracking noise.

This hotel is a good low-budget option, but beware of the potential noise. Were it not for the noise, I would have ranked the hotel a bit higher.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are too close to the next door restaurant. Top floor rooms can suffer from noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWbasecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiestaSuites, Owner at Siesta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for the review. We are very sorry that you had to deal with unnecessary noise. I wish you would have told me about it personally during your stay. We plan on addressing that right away and put some padding under the chair legs. That should make a big difference.
We try to keep a hotel that everyone is comfortable in and hope you will return on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
#44 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Cortez
Hotel Mar de Cortez
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabo Inn Hotel
Cabo Inn Hotel
#43 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Milagros Hotel
Los Milagros Hotel
#45 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Suites

Address: Calle Emiliano Zapata | Between Guerrero & Hidalgo, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £48 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siesta Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The managers keep a close eye on this four story hotel—a calm refuge two blocks from the marina—and dispense great insider advice to visitors. The kitchenettes come with full-size refrigerators, a queen size bed, and living rooms with wide padded couches, the standard rooms come with 2 queen beds so if necessary, there's room to sleep quite a crew. Included are Wi-Fi, cable TV, and morning coffee in the lobby. Rooms have front side balconies and there's a sundeck on every floor. If your budget allows, opt for the PH Suite with an incredible view. Salvatore's Restaurant, an Italian eatery, is situated next door; it's widely acclaimed by resident gringos in the know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siesta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Siesta Suites Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing