We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Awesome-Service Not So Much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed Nov. 7 to Nov. 14, had a Master Suite booked. When we arrived the bellboy took us to our room that consisted of a bedroom, a kitchen/dining and living room and then another bedroom on the side. He called the front desk to make sure this was what we were supposed to have. A while later, my husband was in the "extra" bedroom and another couple was brought in by another bellboy. After much confusion, we were told that the "extra" room was really not ours. That was ok because there were only two of us, however they never locked the door between the rooms (You needed a key).

I called room service; took them 3 calls and 2 service charges (which I had to hassle to get removed) to get our order right. The next day I asked for our umbrella to be put up by the pool; an hour later my husband finally did it. I had lunch at the restaurant there by the pool, everyone was complaining and asking where there food was...I never did get my extra pillow or ice that I called for on the first night.

That being said, the hotel is in an awesome location as stated in other reviews. The older rooms are a little worn and dated, the maid kept the room clean, the towels were pretty good, beds comfy (pillows--not very good), amenities included; shampoo, soap, sewing kit, lotion, shower cap. The water pressure in the shower was decent and for those who smoke, smoking is permitted all over the property and even in some of the restaurants below the hotel.The pool is VERY cold. There are 2 hot tubs by the pool, another hot tub in the Solarium on the 5th or 6th floor, a rooftop gym and also a room in the spa with treadmills/bikes/stair steppers.(You have to pay to use them). The spa was alot cheaper than many I have been to in other resorts, the service was just adequate-nothing special. The spa girls did come around the pool one day and offered 30 percent off coupons.
We will stay there again, we are just hoping that the service will be better next time--maybe it is just their slow time and they have a shorter staff? For service that was lacking I am going to rate this one a three.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TERRESA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoU, Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are working very hard to make sure your next experience with us excelent!

Thank you!

Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

Cabo San Lucas is known for its beaches. Also known for its nightlife. Better yet, let me tell you about the Marina Fiesta.

The Marina Fiesta is located right on the Southern end of the Marina. It is not on the beach as that is controlled by a giant timeshare that is part of the same company. The Marina is the excitement that we came to Cabo San Lucas to enjoy. Water Taxis, Glass-Bottom Boats, Sailboats, Mega-Yachts, and Huge Cruise liners are all within sight.

It has several restaurants that face and are on the Marina. The outdoor dining varies from reasonably prices breakfasts to fancy lobster dining. The ones on the Marina have great service and food. The resort does have one poolside dining area that could use more staff. On a Saturday evening rib-fest, only one waitperson and one busser were there to serve the 32 people at various tables. They had three (3) cooks but too few servers. I tend to over-tip for good service. I did not have the occasion to over-tip at the poolisde restaurant.

The resort has two pools. One is very quiet and in their Phase 2. The larger pool has hot tubs and a swim up bar. My only complaint is that people reserve their loungers by placing a towel and personal goods out very early in the day and prevent others, which are actually there, from any place to relax out of the water.

The Marina Fiesta is so close to the tourist hotspots. You can walk 200 feet and be at "luxury Avenue" with fine shopping from Cartier and Coach. A mall with a Ruth's Chris is just a few hundred feet away. The Hard Rock and Cabo Wabo are within a few walking blocks. A taxi is not needed unless you go to Costco or Wal-Mart, and who needs to do that while on vacation?

The Marina waterfront is very expansive. It is lined with every food and bar possibility. We were even able to watch our favorite college football team play on ESPN on the Marina.

The hotel does have small eight passenger (skinny people) elevators to the five and seven story towers. Ramps are at each elevation change in the hallways for the wheelchair bound individuals. One interesting item: We checked out at 5:00 am to catch an early flight. The hotel turns all hallway lighting off during the night to save electricity. Not a problem due to area light from other buildings, but this might be a reason to keep a flashlight in your bag if you are an early riser.

A final note: The timeshare promoters in the hotel and restaurants are not as obtrusive as those found on the street and especially at the airport. They do not deter a favorable experience at the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This was a nice hotel. It is right on the marina. You walk down a set of steps from the pool and go through a locked gate. There are tons of restaurants on the marina. I ate at Mangos, to the left, for breakfast about every day. We even ate there one night after fishing. They cooked our fish, gave us sides and chips and salsa for $9 each. 2 for 1 drinks too.

Walking down the marina you will get hit up by everyone for ...silver, cigars, fishing trips, activities. You can definately barter with the activities guys. ATV tour we paid $50, reg $70. Fajita cruise $25, regular $50, Rented a Jeep for $55 a day included tax and insurance/National. Gabriel hooked us up. He is in the booth that is two booths left of Mangos restaurant. M-Sat 8-2.

The pool was nice. Had a swim up bar. Good food, but the downside is the bar and restaruant close at 9 pm everyday. If you want a nightcap, have to go elsewhere. Room was nice. Airconditioning worked great. Fridge was nice. I didnt think it was as noisy as some reviewers. Free wifi, and it is fast. Great pool/marina view from my room. It was 315. Pictures are from my room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iflewjetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

First let me say that I was a Hotel and Restaurant Administration major in college and I've also worked at a hotel, so I am very critical of hotels when I stay in them. We were a little weary of staying here from some of the reviews, but we were very pleased with our stay.

When we first arrived after traveling for 11 hours we were pretty tired. During checkin they told us our style room wasn't available (we started to worry), but they actually upgraded us to one of their newly remodeled rooms. After checkin they sent us over to Sendy to go over any activities we might want to do while we were there and also to find out if we wanted to receive some benefits by sitting through the condo opportunity sometime during the week. We told her we really just wanted to hang out by the pool and didn't want to sign up for the talk right now, but that we would take the information to look over. She was very friendly and understanding and called the bellboy to come get our bags and take us to our room.

The room was AMAZING. It had a fresh/modern nautical theme complete with a wrap around deck looking over the marina. The HUGE bedroom had two queen beds, a large dresser, TV, DVD player, and sitting area. There were also two large closets, a make up area, and the bathroom had a large shower. I bet you could fit 5 people in there (not that we tried.) And that was just the bedroom area. Then we walked through another door that had a medium sized kitchen, a full dining room, and a living room complete with another TV, DVD player, and a couch with a chaise. It was much larger than our first apartment!

The air conditioning was fine and we didn't feel "swampy" like some mentioned in another review, but perhaps we had a newer room that has a different airconditioning. I also read complaints about the noise, but our room was the closest room to the outdoor bar that is loud and we couldn't hear a thing from our bedroom. They may have put in soundproof glass or something, but it was very quiet in our bedroom.

Even though the hotel isn't right on the beach, it actually was very helpful to be at that location because you are right on the boardwalk that has a ton of restaurants, a mall that is nicer than our local mall, and is within walking distance of the town and also the beach. I was under the impression that the area was more for the party crowd, but we aren't the "party" type and really enjoyed it. It has everything you would need within walking distance which is very nice when you are out of the country.

My husband did end up going back down to the Guest Services person and signed us up for the "condo talk." We got $75 in restaurant coupons which we could use for the restaurant on site or for the restaurants which were right below us in the marina boardwalk, a $25 spa coupon which I used for a pedicure, and 15% off any other services, food, or activities. The next morning we met Jay (the condo rep) downstairs and he took us to the breakfast buffet on site and told us about how they aren't selling individual rooms, but more of a worldwide timeshare opportunity. He showed us a short video and explained how it worked. If we had the money we would have bought it, but we don't so didn't buy it. Jay was extremely helpful, friendly, and completely non-pressuring. If you come to stay there ask for him. When we told him we weren't in a position to buy it he said it wasn't a problem and showed us to the concierge to get our free coupons.

The pool area is very nice and we spent most of our time there. The bar servers work hard to please everyone and are very friendly.

Here are a few tips that would recommend to those visiting either the Marina Fiesta or Cabo San Lucas:

1) Before you arrive, reserve the TransCabo shuttle the hotel recommends from the airport. Make sure you bring your reservation confirmation for the drivers as well. The drivers wear bright orange polo shirts and you will find them outside of the airport. Don't be swayed by the other guys in orange button up shirts that are in the airport who will try to sell you rides and activites for the week. They will hound you to no end.

2) Take an $8 cab ride to Walmart to get food for the week if you don't want to eat out the entire time. It was nice to have some breakfasts and lunches in the room.

3) Eat dinner at The Office which is a restaurant within walking distance right on the beach. The tables are in the sand and there are Mexican blankets for you to cover your shoulders if you are chilly. They had the BEST fajitas I've ever had in my life and had some nice live music. Definitely make a reservation, but it is moderately priced. You might ask for a table toward the center of the restaurant otherwise you might be bothered by the peddlers that are on the beach but they have to stay outside the restaurant propertly line.

4) Like any other country you visit, use your credit card in order to get the best exchange rate. Make sure you call your bank or credit card company ahead of time to let them know you will be in Cabo so they don't put a hold on your card or account.

5) We brought our laptop and used the free WiFi in the room which was nice to be able to communicate to our family back home and stay in touch with the office too.

I think that's about it! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank StampnAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We got a killer deal on our stay here so I was a little wary. But it met all of our needs and was very pleasant. We managed to avoid the timeshare pitch by saying we wanted to put our luggage in our room first (you can leave the hotel by a gate past the pool which deposits out onto the marina) and not going back except to rent a car (good price and convenient).

We loved the view from our balcony and spent many hours on it. All of the facilities were clean and comfortable. The 'kitchenontte' was small but convenient and useful, especially since there is a supermarket and good restaurants nearby (they do leave soap under the sink but the container looks like margarita salt).

The beds aren't super comfortable (but not horrible) and there is noise from the clubs in town. But in general, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay and avoid the major resorts this is a good place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ineedagoodname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Basically at check in, the staff was trying to charge each of us (5 girls) an extra 35 dollars each per night, when we already paid the full amount via their website. It didn't make sense and they couldn't give us a good reason other then we "had to". We refused and wanted to leave the following night but they wouldn't allow us and said they would charge our credit card. So we stayed the second night with plans to leave the next night. But we made friends with some other guests who had an extra room for us to stay in. They also told us the check in staff was rude to them also. But after we had the feeling the staff was watching our every move.

So while the location is nice because it is on the marina and a quick walk to all the beaches, restaurants and bars. The staff made our stay unpleasant and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggjuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoU, Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Very curteous staff, short walk to the marina shops and restaurants. Our only real complaint was that the room was always wet. I believe the rooms use swamp coolers rather than real air conditioners, so everything in the room is constantly moist. We will stay at a more modern resort on the beach next time we visit Cabo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDBCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicardoU, Manager at Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are working very hard to make sure your next experience with us excelent!

Thank you!

Marina Fiesta Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#39 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,813 reviews
1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. La Marina | Lotes,37 y 38, Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £104 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Or the ultimate Cabo vacation with the best location, luxurious accommodations, and the most amazing experience, the Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa is unbeatable. Experience the heart of Cabo San Lucas at it's best and take advantage of its unique Dine Out All Inclusive concept where you can enjoy an A la Carte All-Inclusive dining at a selection of fine dining restaurants and bars down at the Marina Golden Zone and at selected restaurants at its sister resort Hacienda Encantada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Fiesta Resort And Spa
Marina Fiesta Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing