We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Cabo - great stay”
Review of Marina Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Sol Resort
Certificate of Excellence
denver, co
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas in Cabo - great stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I organized this trip a few weeks in advance of Christmas 2012. We were looking for a centrally located place, but did not want an all-inclusive or timeshare and did not require beachfront property (or prices).
Happily, we found Claire at Cabo Caliente Vacation Rentals. Claire lives in the Marina Sol complex and manages several units for individual owners. The complex is a mix of residents and rental units. She and her staff were wonderful and easy to work with.
We booked #D101. It had recently been renovated and was quite comfy (Some units in this complex are original, with no updating. Claire's units offer a nice selection).

They arranged airport transfers (including a grocery shopping stop) for us at a reasonable price. After our arrival, they also booked a fishing trip (local captain with a panga boat) and rental car for a day in Todo Santos. Both outings worked very well and we were pleased. My husband caught 2 marlin at the same time! Quite unusual and amazing!

The drinks and food at the pool bar were reasonable and the staff was quite nice. There are lots of other dining/drinking choices within easy walking distance. We particularly liked Tacos Gardenias (Claire's recommendation) and Sharkey's (just out the back gate of the condo - great lobster).
Medano Beach was about 1 1/2 blocks, which was perfect for us. We walked the beach several times and caught the water taxi to Los Arcos, but we were glad to be staying away from all the beach bar frenzy and relentless vendors. The marina was just over the hill and was a nice early morning walk for the fishing day.
I'd say this was a great value for what can be a very expensive destination. We will definitely recommend Cabo Caliente Vacation Rentals to any friends bound for Cabo.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    60
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
83
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just came back from our first ever trip to Cabo, and loved everything about it. Including our very spacious 2 bedroom condo at Marina Sol. We weren't quite sure what to expect, booking everything online, but we were very happy. Raul was a great concierge, always greeting and smiling on every occasion. Our room, A-214 was very clean, and spacious for our family of 4 (kids 18/21). We could have used more bowls for cereal in the morning, but we can over look that. The only thing we noticed with this room was, we were on a busy street, so noise at night was evident. We sleep fairly well, but some may find it too loud. It was suggested to us to get the private transportation from the airport, and that also worked out very well. Our driver said we should stop at Walmart on the way for groceries etc, as it was on the way. Good thing, as we would have forgot, and then would have had to cab it back there. The main reason we booked this hotel, was so we could walk eveywhere, and it didn't dissapoint. it is really 1 1/2 blocks to the Beach, and the same to the Marina. We walked to the Marina most nights for dinner and it was quite an enjoyable walk after filling ourselves with seafood. It was also great to be able to get up early and just walk to the Marina for fishing, rather than having to count on a cab to arrive at 5:30am. Even though we took away 1 star for the noise, lack of bowls, spa hours not great, we will definately stay here again, probably next Christmas. AC worked very well in the room. The WIFI was also not great, you had to find the right spot. The best spot was the balcony at night, so the kids were able to catch up, and enjoy the nice cool brreze in the evenings.

Room Tip: rooms facing downtown, are on a busy street. Inside rooms (pool view) would be quieter, or facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We wanted a good condo location near Medano Beach and all the action, without paying the high prices the timeshare resorts charge. (2 adults and 2 adult children). We found it, with Marina Sol and Cabo Caliente rentals. Unit A610 is a roomy 2 br/2ba, with a full kitchen, outdoor barbq, satellite tv and beautiful sunset views. The pool is nice and Oasis has the cheapest drinks in town, but the best part is being just a short walk from the beach, marina, mall and anything else you want to do. All for a fraction of what the beachfront properties want to charge you. Highly recommend renting through Claire Griffiths and Cabo Caliente. They were so helpful with transportation, recommendations for restaurants and other Cabo tips. The money we saved on our room gave us extra to spend on activities, dining and loads of fun. Loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: Rent through Cabo Caliente. We had city view, which was beautiful, but a bit louder. If you want q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Upon arrival we had to pay a $500 security deposit that wasn't mentioned. We clarified that we would get it back when we left. The Marina Sol Resort rental company charged us $450 for the utility bill for 1 month without proof of the bill. So we received $50 back of our "security" deposit. Everybody in the building(locals and staff) said we could have air conditioning and lights on for the whole month(which we didn't) and the bill should be a hundred at most. The Marina Sol Resort rental company is a scam artist. Don't get me wrong marina sol and its staff are great just be careful who you go through! Raul is a great concierge And the Oasis bar staff are great but i recommend Rick Lauman of Cabo Leisure for better rates and rooms at the same great location without getting ripped off!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akfinest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

3 friends and I stayed in 706A (Sunset Penthouse) for 6 nights in early December 2012 and had an amazing time. The penthouse is very spacious with everything you could ever need. The resort pool in fantasic with excellent priced breakfast and drink, and the staff are very friendly. The resort is only a block and a bit from the main beach, so the resort pool allows you time away from the beach sellers and crowds, but is close enough to get into the thick of things when you are ready for it. It is a similar distance to the marina so no complaints there. The price is hard to beat in such a great location too!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottb018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have stayed here twice & will keep coming back. Excellent price for what you get! I would definately recommend for family travel. Very nice staff! The pool is excellent for kids & adults. I felt very secure here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Marina sol is such a great complex to stay in. Everything is easily accessible from the complex. The Beach is 1 1/2 blocks up a scenic road, the mall is 2 blocks away! We put a lot of miles on our feet and enjoyed every minute of it.


What we did run into ( and I read that this may happen) was a condo that was not ready! We actually didn't get our room until the next evening after our arrival. I can honestly say that I think the only reason we ended up finally getting the room we paid for was because I mentioned that I was going to phone the owner to complain! Not half an hour later it was ready. We were told that they had installed new tile and that was the delay. No new tile to be found in that complex! Regardless, the room was perfect once we were in it.


The front desk attendant, Raul was very kind. The pool was decent but really warm(not complaining) and we did feel like the people working the pool bar were a little pushy wanting us to order from the pool bar rather than bring our own drinks.There is happy hour from 3:00 - 7:00 daily and they do make great drinks. We didn't eat there at all as there are so many restaurants that we wanted to try! They are a great group of people and very friendly. We felt very safe as there was always security on the grounds. Even after four nights there, the security guard still asked us to see our key! That was fine with us. We really enjoyed the condo life over all inclusive and would definitely stay at the Marina sol again. I would prefer to have contact with the owner rather than their hired person because I'm not sure that the owners always aware of the "delays". I know that the complex wasn't booked the week before or after ,so they knew we were coming. The only other downfall was that the pool was closed for "repair" for our last two days there! I guess these things happen.

Room Tip: Make sure you can be in contact with the owner. Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelindreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#40 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Sol Resort

Property: Marina Sol Resort
Address: Paseo de la Marina, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Sol Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Sol Resort since 1997. Is central to everything and within walking distance to Medano Beach, The Cabo Marina, Puerto Paraiso Shopping Mall and Downtown Cabo. Our English speaking, professional staff and concierge assistance are available 7 days a week to make your Cabo experience unforgettable. See you soon at Marina Sol Resort in beautiful Cabo San Lucas...Mi Casa es su Casa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marina Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Sol Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marina Sol Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing