We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap hotel”
Review of Cabo Cush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Cush Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice and cheap hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

Very close to the downtown strip - a few blocks
Rooms are quite comfortable and spacious
Parking in the rear
Dd I say cheap?
You can't get anything else remotely close to this price in Cabo.
This is no a 5 star resort and u are definitely not paying for one
Couple of minor things to fix
Wifi is pretty weak in the rooms at the back
Breakfast would be a nice addition

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Cabo Cush is a comfortable hotel in Cabo San Lucas. The room I stayed in seemed recently renovated room with tasteful decorative tile work. With new bedding, flat screen TV, and a small balcony sitting area nearby, it is a very reasonably priced place to stay. The central atrium is decorated with flowers and decorative tilework, providing a pleasing feel outside the room. It is about 15 minutes walk away from the large resort hotels at less than one quarter the cost. The downtown mall and marina restaurants are less than a five minutes walk away. Public bus service is also very close, providing an alternative to expensive taxis. I can strongly recommend this hotel to singles, couples, and small families interested in a lower priced non-resort hotel.

Room Tip: My second floor room in the rear of the hotel seemed perfect for my needs. The fan above the bed ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank van360573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

First of all, if you're traveling to Cabo San Lucas and looking to stay at a fancy resort along the beach with all inclusive amenities, then Cabo Cush will not be the hotel for you. However, if you're traveling to San Lucas with a budget trip in mind (or at least a budget for where you will be sleeping) then Cabo Cush hotel is a great bargain. Located just 4 blocks from the main tourist strip (where Squid Roe is), Cabo Cush is a two story hotel with about 16 guest rooms, all very spacious with king size beds and AC units. All guest rooms have satellite TV and private bathrooms. Some rooms offer an extra double bed in the room. For a budget traveler, a room at Cabo Cush will cost you only 600 pesos (about $50usd). While running water doesn't get steaming hot, it is warm enough for a shower (albeit not a strong shower flow). Cabo Cush provides towels and cloth hangars, but besides that, you're pretty much on your own for other amenities. The hotel offers free wi-fi to all guests (just ask for the password) and has a gate and security guard at night. Again, this hotel is not a vacation resort, it is a basic hotel in a great location for a pretty good price. The owner and staff are very nice and accommodating, and will help you with any needs you might have.

Pros:
-Great location
-Friendly staff
-Large beds
-Good price
-Free wi-fi

Cons:
-Weak shower
-Not on the beach

Recommended for:
-Singles
-Partygoers
-Budget travelers

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a view. Some rooms are smoking, so be sure to ask for a non smoking room at c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed for a total of 3 nights. Friends that stayed at another hotel nearby at a much higher cost were very impressed with our hotel. Very clean, nice bed with new linens, roomy, no problems with wi-fi. Far enough away from the city center but close enough for safe daily walks to the marina area. Can't say enough good about this place. They even helped me make a long-distant? call to Lapaz. We hung wet clothes outside to dry with no problem. This truly is a gem of a hotel for less than $50.00. There was some traffic noise but that's to be expected in a town like Cabo. We walked around at night and felt completely safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy98201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Pescadero, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We're very fond of Cabo and this trip the airlines made it worth traveling 2 days earlier than we would ordinarily. Check-in was easy (although I did manage to drive a block in the wrong direction). Clean and well lighted place with very friendly staff. When i asked if I could buy ice at the corner store, Jeffery offered us a bag he had in his own place!

I like Mexico and I enjoy hanging out with Mexican people. This hotel reminds me of my neighborhood at home. I even played street volleyball with some of the "boys in the hood".
e
Salud Jesus, Geraldo, and Victor and Hefe Jeffe'

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMenscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todos Santos
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

You get what you pay for....A friend and I needed a place to stay for a night out with friends in Cabo. Both the slick little brochure I had seen, along with going to the hotel's very professionally designed website had us thinking we may have found a hidden gem, so we booked a room. What was marketed and presented as a contemporary, clean and new, inexpensive place to stay in the heart of the business district, was extremely disappointing upon arrival. We called ahead to let them know we would be checking in late, and the manager was kind enough to be waiting on the sidewalk by the time we arrived, around 10:30pm. There was no obvious parking, but he directed us to a dark sidestreet around the corner and met us in the back, then locked the gate. We seemed to be the only guests.
The first room he took us to reeked of smoke, so we asked for another room. It was an improvement, odor-wise, and there was a king bed and a twin. The first thing I saw were all the stains on the bedspread...very gross. The manager soon returned with a cable box for the TV, and a code for me to get online. He put the AC on for us, and there was an old fashioned fan attached to the wall above the TV that he turned on as well. He came back a second time with towels, wash cloths and little packets of Pantene shampoo.
We were pretty tired and not up to looking for another place at that hour, so looked at each other and knew as the troopers we are, we would be ok for just a night...no big deal. When I turned down the bed, there were holes all over the top sheet....ugh! looked like maybe cigarette burns...really tacky, and hard to make the best of it, but I did.
Not sure who Cabo Cush is catering to, obviously clients with low expectations...but they sure hired some classier person to market it! WE fell for it. To be honest, the place has potential to be what it says it is...with some major cosmetic surgery....the lighting was horrible, the linens were shabby and dirty. If they put as much effort and money into upgrading the decor and overall feel of the rooms, as they have into their advertising, they might stand a chance as a cool place to stay on the cheap.
The manager was a really nice guy and very accommodating, and he was the nicest thing about Cabo Cush....No "cush" was anywhere to be found. You'd do much better paying an extra $25 to stay at the Santa Fe, a half block up the road.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilkmaidTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlayton53, Owner at Cabo Cush Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
All of us here at The Cabo Cush Hotel have read this review. We send our sincere apologies to these two weary travelers. We are a small hotel (with a very small advertising budget). The impact of this review has been strongly felt by all.

We pride ourselves on the quality of our mattresses, our towels, and our linens. Every effort is made to provide a very clean, cozy, tidy room for our guests, at the best price possible. A room was prepared for the ladies. All rooms are non-smoking. Unfortunately, this room had been smoked in by the previous guest, and we didn't catch the problem prior to check in.

We are currently inspecting each and every room for damaged linens, and these will be removed and replaced with new ones. We are committed to providing a quality hotel experience at a bargain price.

Again, our sincere apologies to the two weary travelers. You gave us a chance and we let you down. We vow to remain a bargain that is a bargain, and to never let a weary traveler down.

Sincerely,

Jeff Layton
Owner, The Cabo Cush Hotel
Cabo San Lucas, BCS Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed here for two weeks without a hitch. The facility itself appears to be new...I'm guessing it was built no more than two yrs ago. The staff was helpful, the desk clerks spoke sufficient english, and the cleaning staff did a great job. For the price(under $50) I was a bit nervous...almost everything decent that I found online was over a $100. The room itself was very spacious(see photos) The King size bed had a QUALITY mattress on it...for me that was huge. Who wants to be exhausted while they're on vacation because they can't sleep on their crummy mattress?

Not only would I highly recommend them, I am coming back for business in a month, and will definitely be staying here again.

To address one complaint about the wireless internet...I did experience a bug or two in my rm...but overall, had great connectivity. They also have a nice lounge-type area where the wireless was very strong.

Possible negatives? No pool, and the area, like much of Cabo isn't very wheelchair-friendly. It's a bit of a walk to the main drag...like 6 blks(for me this was a plus) But again...there is going to be trade-offs for the price-point. I found some great restaurants while I was there, so I put the $50-$100 that I saved to good use...and ate like a king!

Room Tip: My room was smack dab in the middle, and it was very quiet...there are rooms closer to the street th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overcomer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#6 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
885 reviews
0.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#25 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Crown Hotels
Seven Crown Hotels
#46 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Cush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Cush Hotel

Property: Cabo Cush Hotel
Address: Calle Zaragoza, entre Revolucion y Carrana | Colonia Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabo Cush Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Cush Hotel features spring-air pillow top king size mattresses with good quality mattress pads, bed pillows, sheets and decorative coverings. Each room has independent mini-split AC, cable TV, hot shower, and hand painted sink and matching bathroom tile. All at an affordable economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Cush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Cush Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing