We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We recently spent a week at this resort in a studio room. We were in the brand new building (3 weeks old) so everything was nice and clean. The only problem we found was that noise came through the connecting doors. Also, the floors are tile and each time someone moved a chair in the unit above us we heard it. But aside from that, the units were lovely. They were quite spacious. We loved the way the bedroom faced the beach cove area. The patio doors opened almost all the way across the room making it feel like we were outdoors when we were in the bedroom. The unit was very well equipped with dishes, pots and pans. We had rented a car for the week, but we were sorry that we did. We had major difficulties with the rental company and in hindsight it would have been FAR cheaper to take taxis. It is only a 1 km walk along the road to the tourist corridor where we could have taken the local bus for next to nothing. They come along every 7 minutes according to people we met at the resort who used them daily. Taxis are readily available (10 dollars US each way to the grocery store and 20 to downtown Cabo). We spent quite a bit of time just hanging out at the resort around the pools and on the beach. The water at the beach was too cold to swim in but the sand was great! I found the pools to be a bit too cool for my tastes so I used the hot tub (which was not super hot) the most. The fire pit area was great for the evenings. There were always a few people there and it was great to chat with them and find out what they had done during their stay. We never ate at the restaurant at the resort, preferring to cook our own meals. People were complaining about the BBQ's not working properly though. We used a BBQ once but when we tried another day, both were out of service. The staff all seemed to be very friendly and they spoke fantastic English!! When we checked in, we had to talk to the Concierge (who of course wanted us to sign up for their time share presentation) but when we said we were not interested she did not push at all. Others we met had done the presentation and said they liked them because they limited them to the promised 90 minutes, were not high pressure and gave them great gifts in return. So perhaps we should have considered that option. Would we return? Hard to say. Even though we got a really good deal, I think we could have gone to an all inclusive place for about the same cost. But we did like the view and the room was very comfortable. The bed was terrific!! The only downside to this place was the small size (only about 64 rooms even with the new building) and the lack of places to walk. Since it is not in or near town, you can't just go out for a walk around for exercise. The gym they had was fantastic, but I do like to walk around the neighbourhood and that was not an option here. But I would not hesitate to recommend it if a person was looking for a nice place and did not care about it being a bit far from the action. It made for a relaxing vacation, aside from all the Mexican car rental issues!!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Arch, ask for a room in the older wing at the most eastern corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,055
    256
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
345
783
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We traveled to Sirena Del Mar for a four night stay with another family. We went for a quick trip to relax with our 10 year old and 6 month old. This resort was PERFECT for our needs. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and we felt completely safe having the two ten year olds play in all the pools without us right next to them to watch. It was quiet and peaceful, perfect for a family experience. We actually stayed with both families (four adults, two ten year olds, and a 6 month old) in one of the Penthouse rooms. IT WAS AMAZING. We had a Jacuzzi on our balcony and could literally sit in that and watch whales right in front of the resort.

Because the resort is new, there is only one dining option at the resort. The food there was very good and the only negative thing I can say is that the service, although friendly, was a bit slow on a few evenings. It wasn't a problem for us b/c we were there to relax and not in a hurry, but it could be a problem for some people.

We did book activities through the resort and discovered that it would have been more beneficial to take a taxi to town and then book something there. (Prices are cheaper b/c they are competing for you there.)

Additionally, b/c there was only the one restaurant on the resort, we STRONGLY suggest taking one evening and walking to the Sunset Italian Restaurant only about 10 minutes away. (The staff can tell you how to get there.) The full restaurant is supposed to be amazing. We actually just did the wine and pizzaria on the roof top and it was fabulous. Amazing view, large telescopes for the kids to view the stars and moon through, and great food.

Overall, we hope we can go back.

Room Tip: The Penthouse was worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great Hotel at a quiet location. Be sure to rent a car since the valet service is free. Wifi works best by the pool so ask for a room close to the pool if that is important to you. Restaurant is ok but Maro's Shrimp House (downtown) is not to be missed. Room comes with detergent for washer and dishwasher so you don't need to worry about that. Costco is down the road so load up on groceries there. Costco's house made pizza is great and has a very thin crust so grab one to make for lunch.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent a car since the valet service is free. Wifi works best by the pool so ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDubb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Sirena del Mar is a beautiful resort. The rooms offer an amazing view that stretches as far as Land’s End. It’s in a great location, 10 minutes from downtown and a 2 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are spacious, very clean and modern. The staff is incredible, they go out of their way to give the guests the best possible experience and are very informative and helpful. I highly recommend this beautiful resort. I was there with 7 girls for 4 nights for a bachelorette party and all of us agree, that Sirena is the most amazing resort we’ve ever visited.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tip42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This place is the perfect setting for a nice relaxing getaway. Here's a quick rundown:

Location: The resort is about 10 minutes away by cab from downtown Cabo. So if you want to be super close to all the action of downtown Cabo this isn't the place for you. But if you want a nice, quiet place to relax this is it! I would suggest renting a car if you plan on getting around to save you cab fare. Beachfront is the way to go, you can't get closer to the ocean than this place.

Staff: Everyone is so friendly and helpful. When you first get in you are welcomed by the smiling Francisco. He is wonderful and will definitely make you feel at home. Abraham at the front desk was also very helpful.The rest of the staff is equally wonderful...always smiling and giving you a nice "Hola"

Room/Amenities: Great size rooms and all oceanfront. The sounds of the ocean waves crashing is unlike any other. I wish there was a bigger selection in the restaurant. The food was good though for the dishes they did offer. All rooms have a kitchen, so I would suggest going to the Costco or Walmart a few miles away and stocking the fridge. Since the restaurant and room service closes at 10 pm, having food with you is a must or else you'll starve till the next day.

Overall:Would definitely come back to this place. One of the best hotels I've stayed at!

Room Tip: Arrange for airport transportation ahead of time so you don't get hounded by taxi cab drivers at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakersfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We had such a wonderful time at this resort. All I can say is that every morning we awoke to the gentle sounds of ocean waves. In the late morning and early afternoon there were whales visible from our deck. Staff was phenomenal and their restaurant was very good as well. I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Choose building A for the best whale views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greenbay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were expecting a beautiful resort after reading the rave reviews on TripAdvisor; however, this place exceeded our expectations! We had a view of El Arco and saw lots of whales from our balcony. We also enjoyed the beautiful infinity pool, swim-up bar, and both of the jacuzzi pools. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and the room itself was beautifully decorated and very spacious. The beach was beautiful, and it felt like you had it all to yourself. We also thought the food was spectacular and were pleasantly surprised that they now serve dinner 7 nights a week. The location might be a little bit of a drawback for some, but there are plenty of excursions/tours that have hotel pick-up, so we only used a taxi once. We loved the intimate feel of the resort as well (I believe they told us that they have less than 70 rooms). This resort just had everything we could ever ask for, and we are very glad that we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing