We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff... very helpful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff... very helpful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This place was outstanding! The staff was amazing... very helpful, clean and friendly. My friends and I always took the bus to the city. It was cheap only a $1.00 = 13 pesos. We never ate in the resort because it was expensive, instead we ate in the city... It's a good way to explore the city.
The resort had it's own private beach and every room has a safe box. The view, is breath taking.... This is one place I will go back... it's worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nereida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    253
    56
    17
    12
See reviews for
336
777
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The rooms and pools are exceptional. The resort is truly beautiful, private, romantic, and relaxing. Those are big pluses. However, the one and only restaurant is WAY overpriced. Breakfast charges 50 pesos for toast, which consists of two pieces of tasteless bread. We tried the fish tacos. The fish tasted like it was frozen and then fried, limp and tasteless. The beef tacos are very good, and the best buy on the menu. The sea bass was over cooked. The fried calamari was overly breaded and over cooked. The chicken in the Caesar salad was over cooked. It is well worth the walk up the road to the Villa Sirena restaurant. No charge for toast with your breakfast!!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noraliec67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just back from a trip to cabo for wedding anniversary. The resort is great...staff super nice and professional. Its a bummer to see some of the security reviews posted here. There are safes in the rooms which we used no problem. The beach you can walk to is cool...but we did note that it's not supervised. Would recommend the hotel invest a bit in making the area feel even more secure.

But security aside...as I'm sure every place will have its issues...the food at the resteraunt here is EXCELLENT. Everything we ate was incredible...especially the Mexican dishes and the seafood dishes. Would like to tip our hat to the Chef here. He knows how to cook.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We picked this hotel for 3 main reasons:
1. Large suite with full kitchen (in case of bad weather and we got stuck inside)
2. Has a private beach (most beaches on this strip are not swimmable)
3. Great reviews about the service

We wanted a serene, relaxing oasis away from the crazy downtown area, but still a close cab ride away. Cab is $15 each way to the town. We got what we expected in this area. The views are amazing and the rooms are spacious (except the beds are not King size which is a minor point deduction). The balconies also spacious.
If you need to work out on vacation as I do, the gym is better than average for a small resort. They actually have a full set of kettlebells - very surprising!

Unexpected: House cleaning is an extra charge. I've never had this experience except when renting a condo.

I also read about the impeccable service here. I was not overly impressed and would not give it 5 stars for service. We had a slight plumbing issue which was fixed immediately. But when we told the concierge we weren't sure if we were going to stay an extra day, she said we needed to give the shuttle company 3 days notice to book a trip back to the airport or pay $50 for a cab.
We decided not to stay the extra day and she reminded us of the 3 day policy. We had to remind her other people would also be leaving on the same day so can't we just be added to the shuttle? She called the bus co. and of course they added us. In my opinion, a concierge should say "yes" before they say "no."

The food was fine. Tip: Stick to Mexican fare. Two of the fish dishes were sub-par. I told the waiter we didn't like one of the entrees and hoped he would gladly offer to exchange the dish for something else. I had to prompt him by asking if the chef would mind exchanging the dish and he replied, "I hope not" making us feel like we'd be imposing on the chef to exchange the order.
I don't consider this excellent service.

No other complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phitnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

4th time in 12 months?!!! Makes a statement of the resort. Every time we leave we start talking about when we can return to our beautiful ocean front room. Since there are only about 65 rooms, you're guaranteed great quality service and a beautiful experience. The BBQ over looking the crashing waves while you grill your own dinner, to the fabulous food in the restaurant, to the swim up bar, infinity pool, massage table outside with the ocean crashing below as you get a pleasurable massage is beyond perfect!! The gym is perfect for working off the best chicken tacos in all of Mexico, or running laps in the pool in the middle of the day, is another great alternative:) Every time we return, Domingo greats us while getting our bags with a big smile and "welcome back, we missed you", or Manny entertaining us while we sit by the pool with water aerobics, taco Tuesday or Bar Tender class. Oh and the fabulous, most engaging Alejandro, the General Manager that will do anything to please his guest.you want it, he'll get it for you! yes we have 7 days remaining still but I'm already looking at my calendar to return to our paradise:)

Room Tip: A rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is great, pleasant staff, nice rooms, clean and well maintained, but much to my surprise I was informed of a $7 per day "Resort Fee," upon my arrival. Since I booked this hotel via an Interval International exchange for my Marriott timeshare I did not expect to pay any additional charges beyond meals, tours, local taxes, etc.

I questioned the "resort fee,"and was told by a desk clerk that it is not a Mexican tax but was charged to everyone's account by the hotel owners to maintain a profit margin.

This "resort fee" is, simply put, a surcharge imposed by the hotel to pad their bottom line. It is a hidden addition to their posted room rates that can add nearly $50 to a week's stay at this hotel. Guests are not informed of this fee prior to arrival, when it is too late to find a hotel that is not inclined to add charges for non-existent services.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank philly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This place has the most beautiful grounds (Sirena Del Mar), great, friendly staff, excellent food. The rooms are new, clean & very high quality. You feel so at home here that you almost forget you are in Mexico. Downtown cabfare is about $$30.00 (US)round trip. We took a glass bottom boat ride for only $$10.00(US) per person (about a 45 minute tour to the arch rock, lovers beach..etc..lots to do in down town of course!! The only thing at this resort that I would love to see next time...an espresso bar. You have to wait until about 7am to get a regular ol' cup o' coffee. All in all, this place was one of the best vacation resorts we've been to yet. Definitely consider this resort and you will not be sorry!!

Mike & Ammy
(Portland, OR -9/4/12)

Room Tip: We had the corner on the 3rd floor, and loved it. Except our last day when the elevator was out of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruffin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing