We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cabo Vacation at Well Resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cabo Vacation at Well Resorts”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The good, the staff was great, the views were great, the pool was nice. The amenities were nice and the rooms were decent.

The bad, the food and drinks were way overpriced and not very appetizing. There were no free activities for adults outside the best up pool table. There is no maid service unless you want to pay extra. The cold water is actually warm water ( no cooling of the water).

The nearby beach has very hot sand and very coarse sand that is so soft you sink in. Makes walking very difficult. The water is shallow and there are rocks everywhere. Would not swim there. Lastly, there was one concierge who was just a miserable unhelpful person.

Once you get used to overpaying for everything then you can appreciate the great and friendly staff. Would recommend you go to Walmart and buy groceries and limit your experience to local restaurants which were quite nice and we'll recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    263
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
348
797
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The resort, view, room, wait staff, pools everything was perfect! We couldn't have asked for more. Gabriel, Mario, Ricardo, Alex and Manny were like family, it was so hard to leave. We ate a few breakfasts in the outdoor cafe and lunch poolside, food was good. We loved Taco Tuesday and took a taxi every day to town for dinner. It's $20 each way but we felt safe and finding a return taxi was simple. Shopping at Walmart was a great choice, don't forget your ID though. The view from our room of the ocean was amazing, we loved the deck. We travelled with our family and we all enjoyed every minute. Thank you Sirena Del Mar staff you made our vacation a huge success!

Room Tip: Couch sleeper was not comfortable, choose a room with beds for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort is quiet, pristine, incredibly well-kept and has very a warm, hospitable style of service. The pool is just beautiful, located atop the cliffs with a beautiful view of the arches. There are many locations where you can grab a lounger and relax away for the day or just for a little while. The resort has planned activities each day that are and seem quite fun if you are the joining type. These are either free or very low-cost. We stayed in a Villa-B style room overlooking the private beach. It had a living area completely separate from the bedroom. The kitchen area featured a full refrigerator with filtered ice maker, sink, dishwasher, 2-burner stove, and all necessary kitchen equipment. The unit also had a full-size washer and dryer. There was also detergent in the unit for both the washer/dryer and dishwasher free of charge. The bathroom in the smaller B-villa has a tub/shower combo. We had opportunity to view the larger A-Villa while on the time-share tour (which paid for 3 nights of our trip). This unit has a larger, more open layout, a four-burner stove, and separate tub and shower in the bath area. Overall, our stay at Sienna Del Mar was wonderful. We enjoyed top notch service from one employee in particular, Ricardo at the pool bar. He has a vast knowledge of the area and offers impeccable service. The choice of restaurants on the property is not vast, but they are more than willing to make whatever you would like. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request villa overlooking the private beach. These are "typically" reserved for time share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeeKVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you are looking for a place in Cabo San Lucas, look no further. The Sirena del Mar is absolutely the best! It is an absolutely gorgeous property and very close to the harbor and downtown, but the people are what make the experience amazing. The resort is smaller than many of the large Cabo properties but what's nice about that is that the staff gets to know you by name and you're not just one of many staying at a hotel. I chose to own at this location for that very reason. Everyone is as helpful and friendly as can be! If you visit and are interested in purchasing ask for Jessica and you will have the best experience with her! Jimmy, the sales director is The Man! I couldn't have asked for better individuals to help me purchase what fit my needs. The activities director, Manny, will have you laughing all day long. The Sirena del Mar is a very family oriented location as well, so if you have children they will truly enjoy their stay. Last but not least, Barbara and Lila at the front desk are two of the most helpful and sweetest women you'll ever encounter. Barbara helped me put together my vacation from start to finish and answered many questions for me along the way. I wish I could've stayed longer than a week and can't wait it go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We did a family vacation to this property, with 18 year olds, and it exceeded our expectations. If you need the all day activity of cabo-wabo, whomping music, and kids gone wild, this is not the place. However, if you want a vacation, a way to wind down in a beautiful location that understands customer service, and you can taxi to the chaos when you want....this is it.

Last time in Cabo, we stayed closer to town. Welk's property was exponentially better, and a breath of fresh air. We were preparing for indifferent staff, blocked views, and getting swamped by vendors on a beach. Instead, they made life easy. They allowed us to have a great vacation, and we'd give it an absolute return, thumbs up.

On the way in, we paid our shuttle driver the extra $40, so we could stop and stock up at Costco, the closest major store to the resort, and about an 7 minute drive, or a 20 min walk (1 way). They don't care if you take 20 minutes or an hour...it's $40 for them to wait for you, and it's a huge help. You can also walk there, and Costco will get you a taxi back "home" in seconds for like $12 USD (they recommend no tip for this super short trip). In addition, Costco allows you access to an ATM in USD or Mexican currency, where you can convert up to $250 a day USD, at the bank conversion rate, without the mark-up fees you see everywhere.

Sirena del Mar sits at the bottom of a road. You will have no appreciation of where you've just arrived, until you get out and walk around. The property is under some enhancements, which will only continue to drive value, as the facilities are all new, clean, and well maintained. The grills on the deck to cook, the pools, the gym, their bathrooms. This property is very well taken care of. The units were excellent. Clean, operational, large. They left or stocked dish soap, with a full kitchen, which was nice. And it has a real washer/dryer, also where they left/stocked detergent. This allowed us to pack fewer clothes, knowing we could do laundry quickly. Even had a garbage disposal which limited our waste. Internet access was free at the resort, which was a nice perk for the kids. The views are ridiculously beautiful, with the sound of crashing waves and a covered balcony to hang out on, to shade you from all day sun, or even a little rain. The unit was well thought out, and very relaxing, with quality furnishings. While it would help to have large recycling bins on each floor, as we filled the unit bin they had in a day, the housekeeping staff took the recycling that had accumulated.

The staff on site is simply excellent. They were all attentive, courteous, and helpful. The bartender, bellman, and activities director knew my name after one small interaction, and remembered it the next day too. They strive to serve, and they are very good. We had dinners delivered to the room the first night, which was at our door in 30 minutes, as fast as most restaurants. The food quality was excellent, well beyond my expectations, and we sampled a variety of menu items. One thing we don't do is go to Mexico for a hamburger. Most yip it's not the same, no matter what restaurant they visit. You can get burgers at home...try the other things that can be exceptional and yummy. They had a new master chef on site, and he was very attentive to the prepping, and quality of food. He even gave a class on making Ceviche, which my wife loved, and it tasted good too. You could tell the staff was enjoying his changes. A new restaurant should be done soon too, which will help you eat on site and inside. While some events have a small charge, 2 things to enjoy are the pool party on Sunday afternoon, and the Mexican Fiesta on Friday night, where food, drink, some culture and group interaction are excellent. You can pour beverages in your room, and continue the activities at the pool deck. It's hard to leave the pools because they are so incredible, but the beach is only a 5 minute walk and 97 steps on the south side of the property. You should not body surf here, but the activates director coordinates snorkeling, where you will get to see some fish in a cove-like area. If you like a beach, this is great, and nobody is there to bother you. It's you and the ocean. The entire resort is intimate, in that it was never crowded...not in the pools, the beach, the swim up bars.

If you need recommendations, they will help you. If the concierge staff is not there, the resort team will help. Their recommendations proved better than visiting the normal "tourist lures". Manny, the activities director, was incredibly helpful all week. If you need medical attention, the best hospital around is located at the top of their hill, so you're close to what you need in crisis. While you can work on your Spanish, the staff will also try to help you by speaking in English, where some are bi-lingual and others are still better at English than I am at Spanish. Several options for booze cruises, and local restaurants. All good to ask in advance.

For getting around, bring money in USD, and lots of lower denominations. No credit cards are used for taxis, and there's a room safe to lock up what you don't want lying around. It was much easier to just pull out the proper USD you'd want to pay, instead of worrying about conversion rates, etc. And, tips are appreciated, which might be why they are so attentive. Traveling to town is actually easy. Pay them money, they take you. It's about a 12 minute drive back and forth to the resort. Taxis proved far less expensive than renting a car, needing the insurance, and worrying about accidents. If/when Welk adds a shuttle, it will be well worth the ease, even if used occasionally.

We've been to a lot of places, and Welk Resorts did a great job. This is not a cheap property, nor should it be for what you are getting, but Cabo is not a cheap vacation amongst Mexican destinations. However, this was certainly not expensive either. What it did was give us a great value, with tremendous people, facilities, and experiences. When you come home from a vacation, and the stress all happens away from the resort you were just at, you gain an appreciation of what great vacations are made of. Go enjoy ~

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank midfielder7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The good: Nice clean grounds. Beautiful infinity pool. That is it. Other then that, I cant understand how this place gets 5th place among San Jose Hotels.

The bad: Watered down drinks at the bar. But ridiculously watered down. I confronted the bartender at that very moment and he did not say much. I said I was not paying for that driknk and I was not charged for it.

I thought that was going to be the end of it, but minutes later, the hotel manager approached me trying to convince me that it was impossible for that to have happened. The worst part is that he was even aggressive about it. Very unpleasant experience.

I have been drinking straight alcohol (vodka, whiskey and rum) for 25 years now, so believe me, I know when my drink is watered down.

Solution> Ask for your liquor to be served separately first. Taste it, than mix it.


Another thing that you must know is that your room will not be made up daily like in a regular hotel. This has an extra cost in case you want it.

Standard check out time is 10 am (earlier than most hotels) so make sure you request a late check out when you check in.

And the last thing, the beach is not right in front of the hotel, you do have to go down (then back up) something like 3 stories to reach the beach and you must also know that there is no service there. No beach club, no nothing. You are pretty much on your own.

The bottom of the sea y mostly rocky and sea urchins are pretty common, so you are taking a good risk if you want to enter the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and i visited for a week in april , place was really nice , views were excellent , very peaceful , clean , staff were very nice , plenty of sun loungers , access to beach a real plus , well equipped gym . a cab ride from cabo but that suited us , we shopped at costco and used the well equipped kitchen and hotel grills .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ciaranobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing