We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't return to this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my second visit to Cabo San Lucas. There is no comparison between Hacienda del Mar where I stayed last year and Sirena Del Mar. I wonder how this resort could possibly be rated #5 of 66 resorts in the Cabo area. Our stay was from 7/26 to 8/1. To begin, the Welks customer service representative who contacted me via email about our visit had the wrong dates of my arrival (the first of July instead of the end of July). That should have raised a red flag! Upon arrival, I requested a room with 2 queen size beds instead of 1 king because we decided to take my friend's 11 year old son at the last minute. I was told that there were none available. However, it was evident that resort was less than half full during our stay. It just happened we were able to see the room next door to us which was much larger and would have been better equiped for the addition of the young boy. The maintenace gentlemen showed the us the room next door when we asked about available rooms, not knowing what we had been told. We were given no consideration at all. The bartenders and other staff at the pool area were unfriendly, never approached us to offer drinks, not one time in all 6 days that we were there. The resort has only 1 restaurant which is outdoor tables. We ate two meals at their restaurant. We were nearly "carried away" by the flies and other bugs flying around our food and table. When we asked about getting rid of the insects, we were told that there was nothing they could do about it. At the pool on Sunday, they offered all the food that you could eat and drink for $38 per person. The food was good but when we went to the bar to order drinks, we were told that the drinks that we requested were not covered on the special. How can you advertise "all that you can drink" and then have exceptions without prior notification? So, we asked about cancelling the special on our tab. Since we already had had some food, we were not allowed to cancel. We got into a heated debate with the lead bartender which did no good except put a damper on our trip. So we had to pay $38 for 1 plate of food and also pay an additional charge for the drinks. Aparently this Resort knows nothing about customer service. There was no maid service offered so we cleaned our own room after borrowing cleaning supplies from the cleaning staff although we were charged $7.00 per day for who knows what!. The beach was a public beach so there were people with dogs that were doing their business around the area next to the Resort. (Draw your own conclusions from that statement). There were no chairs, umbrellas, towels or a bar at the beach area. This Resort should be rated at the bottom of the list instead of near the top. If I didn't love visiting Cabo so much, based on this experience I would never return. However, for those who read this, there are some really nice Resorts to accomodate a stay! This one is not one of them.

Room Tip: Learn more about the availabitly of room sizes and room amendities prior to booking a stay. Insist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bandit0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Bandit0615,
Thank you staying with us here at Welk. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are certainly concerned by your comments, as quality and customer service are among our highest priorities. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer services levels that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Welk Resorts SIrena Del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Shocked that this resort is rated #5 in Cabo! We stayed at the property from 7/26-8/02/14. The views were amazing. Beautiful view from our room of the resort and the Cabo beaches. That's the good. The entrance to the resort is very unimpressive. If you blink, you'd drive right by it. Also, the lobby is very small and unnoteworthy as well. The one bedroom suite was a decent size. The water pressure was horrible and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The beach was small, no amenities like chairs or towels. Also, the beach is not private and most umbrellas were occupied by local residents for the day.
The resort had little to no planned activities for children. We were traveling with our three children ages 11, 7 and 5. The pools are small and very quiet. The resort has no spa, only an outdoor cabana. The gym is small and not well stocked, twice there was no water. The one restaurant choice was extremely overpriced for bad food ($160 for four meals and no alcohol!) The bar at the pool was also overpriced with $10 french fries and $10 non-alcoholic smoothies for the kids. In general, it appeared that they were understaffed.
The overall location is a taxi ride everywhere, nothing is within walking distance. Your roundtrip taxi ride will add $40 to the price of anywhere you go. Check-out is 10 AM sharp. We had housekeeping knocking on our door at 10:03. And be aware that this property charges a daily resort fee, for what I'm still not sure?? In closing, I would not recommend this resort for an active family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LucasAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear LucasAloha,
I am glad you found the view here at Sirena del Mar amazing. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to change your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We here at the end of 10 days travel around Baja, a perfect pick to relax before heading home. Large apartments, big comfortable bed, great shower, large bath, good wifi and laundry in the room great to catch up on all the washing.
The pool bar was the perfect place to enjoy some cold drinks and chat to other guests, while enjoying the stunning view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Casswa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Casswa78, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the end of your trip. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities here at Welk. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed on this property from 0723-07/27. Right when we step foot in the property we we welcomed with a smile. We were greeted with ice cold water bottles which was the thing i needed after our flight and shuttle ride to the property. Our check in was easy and we got a room with a view of the private beach in building 3. We loved our room everything in it was perfect. We were very impressed with the decor in the rooms, AC, fans, washer dryer etc.. We decided to have lunch there at the outdoor restaurant (the only one they currently have). I was a bit disappointing with my tacos as they weren't the street tacos that i expected, but I guess staying at a resort i should have expected fancy tacos. We enjoyed the pool area and the views were amazing. Lots of towels and chairs to lay out. The property is really clean and well kept. Everyone is very friendly and smiling and they look like they enjoy their jobs very much. The concierge (Fedra) helped us planned our activities and we enjoyed her attentiveness.

The only other slight little disappointment was at the restaurant. It was a bit our fault because we arrived at the restaurant at 8:45 AM and our shuttle for our zipline tour was going to pick us up at 9:25 AM. We figured we would grab something very easy (oatmeal and granola with yougurt). We asked our server around 9:15 if we could check on our food because we had a shuttle picking us up and if they had not made the order if they could cancel it. He then told us it was coming. By then it was 9:20 so i asked for our food to be placed in a to-go for us to take on the shuttle. We got 2 boxes with plastic forks (not spoons) and granola came with no yogurt and my oatmeal very watery that it spilled on the shuttle. I didn't bother to complain about this at the time because I didnt have time nor did i bring this up when i checked out. However, since this is a review to provide feedback, my feedback is that there needs to be some changes to the food.

Overall my experience was a positive one. I would come back to Welks Resort in a heart beat and I would recommend this place to anyone as its a secluded little gem. I also didnt mind about not having our room cleaned since they did offer free wi-fi which i used to upload lots of pictures of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Lücio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The good, the staff was great, the views were great, the pool was nice. The amenities were nice and the rooms were decent.

The bad, the food and drinks were way overpriced and not very appetizing. There were no free activities for adults outside the best up pool table. There is no maid service unless you want to pay extra. The cold water is actually warm water ( no cooling of the water).

The nearby beach has very hot sand and very coarse sand that is so soft you sink in. Makes walking very difficult. The water is shallow and there are rocks everywhere. Would not swim there. Lastly, there was one concierge who was just a miserable unhelpful person.

Once you get used to overpaying for everything then you can appreciate the great and friendly staff. Would recommend you go to Walmart and buy groceries and limit your experience to local restaurants which were quite nice and we'll recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RoyH339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The resort, view, room, wait staff, pools everything was perfect! We couldn't have asked for more. Gabriel, Mario, Ricardo, Alex and Manny were like family, it was so hard to leave. We ate a few breakfasts in the outdoor cafe and lunch poolside, food was good. We loved Taco Tuesday and took a taxi every day to town for dinner. It's $20 each way but we felt safe and finding a return taxi was simple. Shopping at Walmart was a great choice, don't forget your ID though. The view from our room of the ocean was amazing, we loved the deck. We travelled with our family and we all enjoyed every minute. Thank you Sirena Del Mar staff you made our vacation a huge success!

Room Tip: Couch sleeper was not comfortable, choose a room with beds for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort is quiet, pristine, incredibly well-kept and has very a warm, hospitable style of service. The pool is just beautiful, located atop the cliffs with a beautiful view of the arches. There are many locations where you can grab a lounger and relax away for the day or just for a little while. The resort has planned activities each day that are and seem quite fun if you are the joining type. These are either free or very low-cost. We stayed in a Villa-B style room overlooking the private beach. It had a living area completely separate from the bedroom. The kitchen area featured a full refrigerator with filtered ice maker, sink, dishwasher, 2-burner stove, and all necessary kitchen equipment. The unit also had a full-size washer and dryer. There was also detergent in the unit for both the washer/dryer and dishwasher free of charge. The bathroom in the smaller B-villa has a tub/shower combo. We had opportunity to view the larger A-Villa while on the time-share tour (which paid for 3 nights of our trip). This unit has a larger, more open layout, a four-burner stove, and separate tub and shower in the bath area. Overall, our stay at Sienna Del Mar was wonderful. We enjoyed top notch service from one employee in particular, Ricardo at the pool bar. He has a vast knowledge of the area and offers impeccable service. The choice of restaurants on the property is not vast, but they are more than willing to make whatever you would like. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request villa overlooking the private beach. These are "typically" reserved for time share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AimeeKVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.7 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,980 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £176 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing