We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location is beautiful, especially if you don't want to be in the busy Cabo San Lucas center. I believe the Welk was sold out the week we stayed but it was still very quite and peaceful. A car seemed essential. There is no shuttle service and taxis are too expensive to get to and from this location. Our room was a "Premier Villa". Absolutely gorgeous views. The villa was fantastic with travertine floors and shower, granite counter tops, full kitchen and comfortable dining and living area. The waves hitting the rocks right below our balcony was soothing and relaxing. The two infinity pools are great with the swim up bar. There was some construction but it was never intrusive to our stay or activities. The restaurant was under construction/expansion but still in service. The food and service was good but way too expensive! We only ate there once because of the price. The bell, valet and front desk staff was excellent. There are onsite activities that the hotel staff run which were great. Semi-private snorkeling and beach area below the hotel are small but very much appreciated. The time share pressure was almost none existent. We were asked about timeshare presentation at check in and never hassled again, which was nice because everywhere else from the airport to San Lucus they constantly pester you including the rental car agencies.
Overall, the Welk Sirena del Mar was great. We would definitely return to the resort but not really into to the constant San Lucas harassment.

Room Tip: There are currently two ocean front buildings with a third NON Ocean front building under constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi ajzn,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Cabo and that you were able to enjoy the accommodations and amenities that we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    253
    56
    17
    12
See reviews for
336
777
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here in September of 2012. Although the hotel is located somewhat from the main area of town, we really enjoyed our stay. Set back off the main road on the cliffs, this hotel offers a fanstatic pool with a swim up bar. Down the steps there is a small private beach. Get some snorkels from the hotel and go check out the fish. The beach is not great for swimming, but good if you want to get a tan. We took the local bus ($1) to Walmart the first night and stocked up on supplies. We took a taxi back which was relatively inexpensive (make sure you have small bills as they like to make the excuse that they don't have change). Given the location of the hotel, there are not many options for dinner. Their dollar fish tacos (a once a week special in the afternoon), were delicious. We also had the chef prepare some Tuna we had caught while deep see fishing (small per person charge). It was a ton of food and very good. Unfortunately, there were a ton of bugs by the water feature outside and so we had to eat and quickly head back to our room. The staff was extremely helpful. The only downside is the location if you are like us and like to get out and do stuff. It meant either taking the local bus (which wasn't really bad at all, a straight shot to town) or catching a cab. The staff was helpful and kind and mostly stayed out of your way. If you are more of a beach fiend (which we are not), you may want to stay somewhere closer to the main resorts. While there, I would recommend: deep sea fishing, four wheeling and our favorite, the sunset cruise on the catamaran.

Room Tip: Any of the upper level rooms give you a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Jeremy W,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see you had a great stay here at Welk Resort Sirena del Mar. I appreciate the details provided on your accommodations and the comments on the beauty of our Resort. We would love to have you come again and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my first time to Cabo. Really, it's less than what people "hipe it up to be!". We are owners at the Welk, so they offered us a package deal. The deal was fine, the resort was beautiful but TOO, TOO, TOO expensive. The food at the Restaurant is so over priced. It's ridiculous. There is no need for that. The resort is located 1 mile south of the main highway on the beach. To get to the main highway you have to WALK about 1 mile UPHILL. It was so hot & humid, it was awful. The resort needs to offer some type of shuttle at least to the main road even if you have to pay ($1-$5), it's worth it. The nearest small store is an OXOX store, which is equivalent to a 7-11 store. The taxi to anywhere is $20 one way. The only restaurant seating is outdoors and when it's hot & humid, who wants to sit outside.

The resort itself is beautiful. The staff is very friendly and most helpful. You couldn't pay me to come back here again!!

Room Tip: Stop at the Wal-Mart or Costco and stock up on groceries,etc for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoCalifornia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear SoCalifornia1,
Thank you for being a member of the Welk family. It is great to hear you loved the beauty of our Resort and felt our staff was great. We regret to learn that your experience at the Cabo resort did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate you bringing your concerns with our attention. We will be looking further into your comments. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my second visit to Cabo San Lucas. There is no comparison between Hacienda del Mar where I stayed last year and Sirena Del Mar. I wonder how this resort could possibly be rated #5 of 66 resorts in the Cabo area. Our stay was from 7/26 to 8/1. To begin, the Welks customer service representative who contacted me via email about our visit had the wrong dates of my arrival (the first of July instead of the end of July). That should have raised a red flag! Upon arrival, I requested a room with 2 queen size beds instead of 1 king because we decided to take my friend's 11 year old son at the last minute. I was told that there were none available. However, it was evident that resort was less than half full during our stay. It just happened we were able to see the room next door to us which was much larger and would have been better equiped for the addition of the young boy. The maintenace gentlemen showed the us the room next door when we asked about available rooms, not knowing what we had been told. We were given no consideration at all. The bartenders and other staff at the pool area were unfriendly, never approached us to offer drinks, not one time in all 6 days that we were there. The resort has only 1 restaurant which is outdoor tables. We ate two meals at their restaurant. We were nearly "carried away" by the flies and other bugs flying around our food and table. When we asked about getting rid of the insects, we were told that there was nothing they could do about it. At the pool on Sunday, they offered all the food that you could eat and drink for $38 per person. The food was good but when we went to the bar to order drinks, we were told that the drinks that we requested were not covered on the special. How can you advertise "all that you can drink" and then have exceptions without prior notification? So, we asked about cancelling the special on our tab. Since we already had had some food, we were not allowed to cancel. We got into a heated debate with the lead bartender which did no good except put a damper on our trip. So we had to pay $38 for 1 plate of food and also pay an additional charge for the drinks. Aparently this Resort knows nothing about customer service. There was no maid service offered so we cleaned our own room after borrowing cleaning supplies from the cleaning staff although we were charged $7.00 per day for who knows what!. The beach was a public beach so there were people with dogs that were doing their business around the area next to the Resort. (Draw your own conclusions from that statement). There were no chairs, umbrellas, towels or a bar at the beach area. This Resort should be rated at the bottom of the list instead of near the top. If I didn't love visiting Cabo so much, based on this experience I would never return. However, for those who read this, there are some really nice Resorts to accomodate a stay! This one is not one of them.

Room Tip: Learn more about the availabitly of room sizes and room amendities prior to booking a stay. Insist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bandit0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Bandit0615,
Thank you staying with us here at Welk. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are certainly concerned by your comments, as quality and customer service are among our highest priorities. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer services levels that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Welk Resorts SIrena Del Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Shocked that this resort is rated #5 in Cabo! We stayed at the property from 7/26-8/02/14. The views were amazing. Beautiful view from our room of the resort and the Cabo beaches. That's the good. The entrance to the resort is very unimpressive. If you blink, you'd drive right by it. Also, the lobby is very small and unnoteworthy as well. The one bedroom suite was a decent size. The water pressure was horrible and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The beach was small, no amenities like chairs or towels. Also, the beach is not private and most umbrellas were occupied by local residents for the day.
The resort had little to no planned activities for children. We were traveling with our three children ages 11, 7 and 5. The pools are small and very quiet. The resort has no spa, only an outdoor cabana. The gym is small and not well stocked, twice there was no water. The one restaurant choice was extremely overpriced for bad food ($160 for four meals and no alcohol!) The bar at the pool was also overpriced with $10 french fries and $10 non-alcoholic smoothies for the kids. In general, it appeared that they were understaffed.
The overall location is a taxi ride everywhere, nothing is within walking distance. Your roundtrip taxi ride will add $40 to the price of anywhere you go. Check-out is 10 AM sharp. We had housekeeping knocking on our door at 10:03. And be aware that this property charges a daily resort fee, for what I'm still not sure?? In closing, I would not recommend this resort for an active family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LucasAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear LucasAloha,
I am glad you found the view here at Sirena del Mar amazing. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I appreciate the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to change your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We here at the end of 10 days travel around Baja, a perfect pick to relax before heading home. Large apartments, big comfortable bed, great shower, large bath, good wifi and laundry in the room great to catch up on all the washing.
The pool bar was the perfect place to enjoy some cold drinks and chat to other guests, while enjoying the stunning view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casswa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Casswa78, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us at the end of your trip. We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities here at Welk. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed on this property from 0723-07/27. Right when we step foot in the property we we welcomed with a smile. We were greeted with ice cold water bottles which was the thing i needed after our flight and shuttle ride to the property. Our check in was easy and we got a room with a view of the private beach in building 3. We loved our room everything in it was perfect. We were very impressed with the decor in the rooms, AC, fans, washer dryer etc.. We decided to have lunch there at the outdoor restaurant (the only one they currently have). I was a bit disappointing with my tacos as they weren't the street tacos that i expected, but I guess staying at a resort i should have expected fancy tacos. We enjoyed the pool area and the views were amazing. Lots of towels and chairs to lay out. The property is really clean and well kept. Everyone is very friendly and smiling and they look like they enjoy their jobs very much. The concierge (Fedra) helped us planned our activities and we enjoyed her attentiveness.

The only other slight little disappointment was at the restaurant. It was a bit our fault because we arrived at the restaurant at 8:45 AM and our shuttle for our zipline tour was going to pick us up at 9:25 AM. We figured we would grab something very easy (oatmeal and granola with yougurt). We asked our server around 9:15 if we could check on our food because we had a shuttle picking us up and if they had not made the order if they could cancel it. He then told us it was coming. By then it was 9:20 so i asked for our food to be placed in a to-go for us to take on the shuttle. We got 2 boxes with plastic forks (not spoons) and granola came with no yogurt and my oatmeal very watery that it spilled on the shuttle. I didn't bother to complain about this at the time because I didnt have time nor did i bring this up when i checked out. However, since this is a review to provide feedback, my feedback is that there needs to be some changes to the food.

Overall my experience was a positive one. I would come back to Welks Resort in a heart beat and I would recommend this place to anyone as its a secluded little gem. I also didnt mind about not having our room cleaned since they did offer free wi-fi which i used to upload lots of pictures of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lücio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar

Property: Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 4.5 | Cabo Bello, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious secluded 7-acre resort is perched on the cliffs of Cabo San Lucas corridor peninsula, with amazing views of El Arco. Every villa is either ocean or garden view. Whale watching Dec 15 - March 15. Sunbathing and swimming at private protected cove beach (no vendors permitted). Resort is ten minute drive to heart of Cabo San Lucas shopping and night life. Guest amenities: two infinity-edge pools and spa, swim-up bar, al fresca body massages, al fresca and indoor Estrella Restaurant and bar, ocean view fitness center, multiple planned activities for all age groups, game room, fire pit and mini-market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing