We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing oasis bit off the beaten track.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent three nights in the Bungalows with my parents and young daughter. When we first arrived we were greeted warmly by the staff and immediately offered an up-grade from the shared suite to two separate "cosy" rooms. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, reasonably clean, and most facilities are available, apart from cable TV which surprised us as you would expect a decent B&B like this to provide some kind of televisual service, for what it's worth there is an extensive DVD library in reception.
The pool is unheated and was full of the owners children most of the time we spent there, but we didn't spend much time lounging about the hotel anyway as there are some truly fantastic beaches about 15-20 mins drive up the coast towards San Jose del Cabo. The breakfasts are decent enough, but I think it slightly overblown to call them Gourmet. The rest of our stay was pleasant although we did find ourselves asking for things repeatably as requests for additional items (such as an iron) did not always register after the first time of asking. I would recommend The Bungalows to couples and families with younger children as it provides a good cosy atmosphere at a tolerable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelmurphy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife & I had a very nice stay here. Nice room in a small & cozy Hotel.
Not on the beach but we didn't miss it.
One small drawback...there are tons of dogs in the neighborhood & they pretty much bark 24/7. We travel with a small portable white noise machine which covered up the barking at night so no problem sleeping.
We would stay again at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ddocktx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife & I spent 5 nights at the Bungalows. The hotel is very nice, quiet, great service. The breakfast was wonderful. Every morning was something different, and they were all good. We had teh honeymoon suite. It had a nice view, comfortable bed, and a view of the water in the distance. It was our first time in Cabo, and we wanted something other than the usual resort. The only drawback was that we didn't have a car, so we had to walk up the hill from downtown. We took a taxi back up sometines though, and it was only a 5 minute ride.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a view, and you can get breakfast delivered to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky dog 99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed for a week at the Bungalows, and it was Wonderful! It was our first time in Cabo, and we could have been anywhere. We felt so comfortable at the Bungalows, we didn’t leave very often. Estella and her children, Erik, Alexi and Junior are so warm and welcoming that they made our vacation. When people first arrive at a bed and breakfast, they tend to be in their own world, but the atmosphere our hosts created felt like a family. And by the end of the week, you felt that you were leaving friends.

The meals were delicious and very different from day to day. The rooms were unique and large, and very comfortable. The wifi worked better than it does at our house. (Maybe too well—some folks were glued to their Ipads and smart phones.) They did not have cable TV, but had a large collection of current movies for a night in, munching on popcorn. The family is also very helpful with recommendations for meals in the neighborhood, excursions and airport transportation.

We will definitely return to Cabo—just to spend more time at Los Bungalows!

Room Tip: The Upstairs Bungalows give you plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have stayed at The Bungalows about 4 times in the last 10 years, and am embarrassed that I have never written a review. I initially found The Bungalows on Tripadvisor after looking for an alternative to the cookie cutter overwhelming timeshare sales hotels. The best part is the staff. Estella, the innkeeper of over 15 years is super warm and was able to accommodate my husbands severe milk allergy. She always gives the best suggestions for restaurants, taco stands, scuba dive shops, and hang over remedies. Then there are her staff/kids, this time it was Junior and Ale who are super friendly and helpful. It feels like visiting family, but without the drama or tension that often comes along with family visits. I recognized the kitchen and cleaning staff from previous visits, they seem happy, and I felt comfortable leaving my electronics in the room while on day trips. Every breakfast was supper yummy and was accompanied with coffee, fresh fruit and juice or smoothy. My favorite this time was the fritatta. The other guests were friendly. The walk into town is 5 minutes and 15 minutes to the beach. Timeshare hotels suck you into staying and spending money in-house but The Bungalows is situated so that you can easily go into town to enjoy dinner, nightlife, and culture. Then there are the rooms, which they obviously have thought of every detail. The rooms are immaculately clean and well-maintained. The decorations and grounds are inspiring. Overall, a wonderful place to stay of you like the character of a bed & breakfast and the convenience of traveling to a Mexico tourist destination.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom bungalows are best units and only a little more expensive than the cozy-suites.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mariana0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Although you can stay on the beach and listen to non-stop partying and music, the Bungalows is a little oasis to escape from all the crowds. We had a 2 bedroom, which allowed everyone their own bed and much more room than any hotel could offer for the price. Estella and her family ensure that every need is taken care of. There is a bit of a walk involved to get downtown, but the delicious breakfasts we were served every morning, necessitated some exercise. Very walk brought a different discovery, and seeing Mexico outside of the cosmetic walls of an all inclusive, really opened your eyes. In the words of my 21 year old son, this was hands down one of the best vacations we have taken.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyWillyRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a very friendly place, more like the "old Cabo". It is near enough to town to walk although we drove and parked on public lots. Our room had two bedrooms, one double and one triple and was just fine for the four of us, all family. We were only there one night but were able to enjoy the sumptuous breakfast and lovely garden. Our teenagers appreciated the well-stocked video library. The room had a minimal kitchen, fridge and microwave. Coffee makings were provided as well as tea.

Room Tip: Some rooms require fairly steep step walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portland_OregonGrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £117 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing