We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Cabo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been going to Cabo every year for over 10 years. The Bungalows is the best deal without question. It's absolutely beautiful and peaceful. It is hidden away from street view by beautiful plants and is only a couple of blocks off the main drag. The accommodations are very comfortable and relaxing and the pool is perfect after a hot day in the sun. The best part is the family that operates it. They are the nicest most accommodating people you will ever find. I absolutely recommend this place without reservation. Lance

Room Tip: Get one of the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my wife and very happy with our decision to do so. Eric and his mother were very friendly and helpful from the start and the rest of the staff were awesome as well! The breakfast every morning is a great way to start the day and was always very impressed with what was served. The one drawback is that there was never any type of meat offered. We had booked a cozy suite as the bungalows were not available. We actually stopped in the day before we were to check in just to find the place and check out our room. I was disappointed with the room and I think the manager could tell - cozy is an understatement! However, upon checking in the following day we were told there was a cancellation and that they were upgrading our room at no charge. We ended up in a ground level two bedroom bungalow that was much roomier than what was shown us the previous day. Thank you Estelle and Eric - I would not have been happy staying in the cozy suite! The room was extremely clean (and kept that way) and the staff more than willing to help whenever asked.The pool was a bit neglected - the whole time there it was making gurgling noises and had a very low water level but that didn't seem to bother management or the few people that we saw using it.

I really liked our stay at The Bungalows and will certainly stay there again when I am in the area and want access to downtown. A few things travelers should be aware of:

While this place is indeed somewhat out of the way there is still a VERY large amount of traffic that flows past the place. There is a round-a-bout right outside the hotel that is used as a turning around point for those cruising the main drag of Cabo at night. The traffic noise did not reach our bungalow as it was away from the street but I don't know about some of the other rooms that are closer to the road. Barking dogs, however, did pose a problem for me as I am a light sleeper and they did bark every night.

I do not agree with some of the other reviews stating an easy 10 minute walk to downtown. You may be able to reach the very edge of 'downtown' in 10 minutes but downtown is a fairly large place and you will certainly not reach the marina in that amount of time. The walk back will be anything but 'easy' as it is pretty much all uphill with horrible walking conditions and lots of traffic! (This is from the perspective of a 55+ year old) If you plan on spending a lot of time downtown exploring you will certainly want a rental vehicle if staying at The Bungalows.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makwa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Ten days here was total bliss. From the moment we arrived Erik and the staff made us right at home with big hugs. The atmosphere is tropical and serene, with the bungalows centred around a wonderful secluded pool.

We got a great deal on a cozy suite which was modest but worked just fine for two. Air con, fans, DVD player (no cable but heaps of DVDs) and everything immaculately maintained by sweet housekeeping girls. Included in the price is as much juice, coffee and water as you want (available all day) and a proper home cooked breakfast. That means fresh fruit then a generous dish like frittata, breakfast burritos, waffles or pancakes. Yum! Erik is also happy to help recommend great local restaurants (try Capitan Fish for lunch, just a stone's throw away, and Maro's Shrimp downtown!!).

The location was excellent, a ten minute walk from the restaurants, bars and shops around the marina. But if you need beer or snacks there's a convenience store right nearby. In total, I'm soda we stayed here. A reputation well deserved :) thanks Erik and team!

My only tip for Cabo - bring good mosquito repellant as they descend after rain!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Ideal 3 night stay in the Garden Bungalow. Excellent location just a 10 minute walk from downtown Cabo and the marina. Fantastic grounds, cute pool, and rustic comfort. Beto and Eric will do everything to spoil you during your stay. Scrumptious breakfast, DVD library, WiFi, and purified water are all included. If you are looking for a resort experience keep searching, this is old world charm and southern hospitality done right and for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at The Bungalows for our 9-day honeymoon and were thrilled with every aspect of this charming and cozy place! We were greeted with hugs (strange to us at first, but we acclimated quickly!) and fresh watermelon juice. The staff are warm and friendly and provided top-notch service. The beautiful pictures we had seen on Trip Advisor were completely accurate. The pool area is quiet and peaceful. Twice, we spent the entire day lounging poolside and swimming. Breakfast is included in the price of your room and it's mouth-watering every day; made from scratch and accompanied with luscious ripe fruit and delicious fresh juice.
I highly recommend getting a room with hammocks. Some rooms have them on the patio and some have them attached to the outside wall. Perfect for napping or watching the palm trees sway in the breeze or listening to/watching birds. Eric, Aleste and Beto are the managers and are the most likeable people. They are so friendly and helpful, and really foster an atmosphere of "you are at home". Their restaurant recommendations were spot-on each time. They are incredibly helpful about arranging taxis and giving input on local vendors and anything else you want to know. We are already planning our next trip and can't wait to go "home" to The Bungalows.

Room Tip: Get a room with hammocks - trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AprilandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved our upstairs Bungalow with two bedrooms and baths plus hammock. It had just the right size kitchen for French Press coffee in the morning and a small refrig for sodas. The location was very convenient, but luckily we had a navigator lead us to it or we would never have found it on our own. Hugs upon arrival and at the sumptuous patio breakfast. We had amazing stuffed french toast, which was included in the price of the room. We had a couple of minor complaints: our DVD player didn't work, and although they had a huge selection of DVD's, very few were appealing. We had a thatched roof, and although charming, the noise of party goers and barking dogs made for a less than perfect night's sleep. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay, and we would recommend The Bungalows highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackYurBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is perfect if you want to be away from the crowd.
Walk down the hill to Cabo , and all it has on offer.
This not a resort , with only 16 rooms it has charm.

As my purpose for visiting Cabo was to fish,i needed to be up at 6.15am each day.

Eric made sure a cab was available and my alarm was set.

Thanks to all,and hope to visit again.

Rawdon..........Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rawdon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
375 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £105 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing