We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bungalows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

sweet and special. my sister and i stayed here in the hurricane season so it was a good thing we liked the place. a bit of a walk to the marina and beach so if you are looking for a beach luxury situation this is not it. its more of a in-town experience. breakfast was amazing and different every day and fresh. it's a non-smoking facility and the pool was perfect after walking around all day. overall, it was a good place for us, but if i ever go back to Cabo i would stay closer to the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigpalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    88
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
123
387
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at The Bungalows the first week of October during our annual pilgrimage to see Sammy Hagar's birthday bash. The hotel itself is cozy and our room was clean and well appointed with a spare bedroom and a hammock on the patio. During the day it was very quiet with a nice breeze coming in from the sea to keep everything cool. The staff was excellent, very personable and friendly and willing to bend over backwards to make us happy. We didn't meet Eric until the second day but he lived up to his positive reputation from the other reviews on Tripadvisor.

Overall we really liked The Bungalows, especially the proximity of the hotel to everything you might want to do in Cabo. Our only issue was that we are both light sleepers and the city noise (trucks, dogs barking, etc.) at night made it very difficult to sleep at all. We ended up checking out early and Eric was very gracious about the whole thing.

I definitely would recommend The Bungalows, I would just caution that light sleepers might not find the peaceful nights sleep that they're looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
200 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a wonderful week here and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cabo! A few locals were surprised we were staying "so far away", but it's a 10-minute walk to the marina, and the Bungalows' pool is a great place to cool off after the uphill walk back. Our "cozy bungalow" (a studio apartment) was spotless and comfortable, though the beds are quite firm. The staff is the best, always happy to provide recommendations, make reservations and solve problems (like a cancelled tour or a missing credit card). The cooked breakfasts are phenomenal, especially the cheese omelet with mushroom sauce and the apple-cinnamon-pecan waffles (but if you need to leave early for your day's activities, they'll make you a "little something" like fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, beans and tortillas).

Room Tip: We had Suite 6, a "cozy bungalow" on the second floor, and it was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have recently returned from my second stay at the Bungalows and felt compelled to write a review! I have literally fallen in love with this place and will definitely be going back.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast is delicious and lovingly prepared (the juices are especially good!). We stayed in the honeymoon suite (stayed in the Patio Bungalow the 1st time - spacious, with patio, but no view) which had a wonderful balcony overlooking the town and coastline (you can see Lover's Beach in the distance). The decor was a mix of traditional Mexican meets arty - colourful and full of character. The accommodation surrounds the swimming pool which is peaceful and serene. I found myself spending 2 days out of 7 just by the pool reading because it was so peaceful and relaxing, definitely something that is easy to get used to.

During our stay there was a day of rain. The hotel offers a very good selection of DVDs that we dived into to keep ourselves amused whilst the rain came down. This was a very welcome touch.

On the days we wanted to venture outside it took about 5 minutes walk to nearby restaurants, 10 minutes to walk to the Marina and 20 to the beach. It may seem far but the benefits of being far from the madding crowd outweighed that of proximity to amenities for us.

If you want to do any activities we found Eric (the hotel manager) to be incredibly helpful, the boat cruise he recommended to us made our holiday.

All in all this place is fantastic place to stay for someone looking to experience the quieter side of Cabo. I hope this review is helpful for other people considering this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The Honey Moon Suite has a great view of the town/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordyD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for several days and LOVED it! Eric and all staff made us feel like we were family. I noticed he was just as nice to the other guests. Eric I thought we were special? Just kidding ;-) The Hotel is not on the beach but is downtown Cabo San Lucas. If you want a place to unwind and relax this is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Don't get me started on the Breakfast... I think I gained a few pounds OOPS. Overall I would highly recommend this place. Thank You Eric and Staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Bungalows is a small, secluded, hotel run by brother and sister Eric and Ali. It's situated about 15-20 minutes walking distance from the downtown area, though the closest bars and restaurants are about 10-15 minutes easy walk. The Bungalows is almost impossible to see from the street - there is no sign, and the entrance is a small doorway surrounded by shrubs and bushes. This doorway opens into a secluded courtyard with the charming old-style accommodation blocks arranged around a small but atrractive swimming pool with loungers and umbrellas around it.
Due to a six-hour flight delay, I arrived at the hotel around 10pm, but Ali had stayed on personally to welcome me and get me settled in. She gave me a quick tour around and showed me my room - a "hammock suite", ground floor room with a small enclosed patio with its own hammock and lounger chairs. Inside was a small suite with sleeping area (very comfortable bed!), kitchenette with sink, fridge, caffetiere, microwave and small dining table, and a lounge area with sofa and chairs. There was a flat screen TV and DVD player in the sleeping area (a large selection of pirated DVDs on free loan from reception). There was also a safe, and surprisingly fast (and free) WiFi.
Breakfasts were served in the reception building in a small restaurant area. Like everything else at The Bungalows, breakfast is very informal. The cook (not sure if she was part of the family or not) makes her daily special (French toast or omelette - both excellent - on my days) and fruit, yoghurt, juices and coffee are freely available. Whoever is available will serve you, or you can help yourself.On my first morning I was due to go diving, but not sure exactly where the dive centre was, so Eirc took me in his car.
The atmosphere at The Bungalows is laid back, relaxed and easy. If you need anything, you go into reception, stepping over Valentina the Mexican mastiff, and ask Eric or Ali and it's done.
The only downside (which may not be a downside at all for many people) is that it's a quiet place. There's no spa, no gym and no bar, although they do allow you to bring your own booze into the hotel and will keep your beers in the kitchen fridge for you. There a convenience store 2 minutes walk away,a nd as i said earlier the town's bars and restaurants are an easy walk away.
Overall a very pleasant, relaxing and friendly place that I would be happy to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bj666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have been going to Cabo every year for over 10 years. The Bungalows is the best deal without question. It's absolutely beautiful and peaceful. It is hidden away from street view by beautiful plants and is only a couple of blocks off the main drag. The accommodations are very comfortable and relaxing and the pool is perfect after a hot day in the sun. The best part is the family that operates it. They are the nicest most accommodating people you will ever find. I absolutely recommend this place without reservation. Lance

Room Tip: Get one of the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Property: The Bungalows Hotel
Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing