We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Cabo San Lucas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wow. What a great find! Tucked away a short walk from the center of activity is a gem of a place. Five women shared a bungalow suite. The suite was clean, charming and comfortable for all five of us. We were greeted with a warm hug and a fresh glass of pineapple juice from Eric. Eric offered us early checkin, a ride to an appt we were late to, and excellent references to good food and entertainment. The breakfast was truly incredible! This place and the staff are 'over the top'. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sockeyefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip out to Cabo and spent half of the trip in Cabo San Lucas at The Bungalows hotel (we spent the second half at the Welk's Serena del Mar resort).

From arrival to departure, we were extremely happy with the service. Greeted with a hug, fresh juice, and friendly family-run cozy welcome. We stayed in the smallest room, but we even had our own private outdoor area which we weren't expecting! The beds are VERY comfortable and the accommodations pleasant (great decor/feel). They even provided gallons of water for use every day and a coffee press which I wasn't expecting but was very pleased with.

We had breakfast two of the three mornings (had to leave for a Hike very early one day) and it was DELISH. Food was great. They were offering seconds on everything and the service was great too.

The location was a little outside of the immediate downtown, but we walked to a couple restaurants for a couple of meals. They also gave us great recommendations in the area. Otherwise, we rented a car and drove down to the marina (also about 10-15 min walk if you're up for it).

My one negative critique came when we spoke with the hotel and wanted to book a snorkeling tour. They recommended a tour and said they'd set it all up for us. We booked it for the day we were checking out and confirmed the night before to meet Pez Gato at the marina. But, after check out when we arrived, we were met with the fact that our Pez Gato boat was CANCELLED. We were kind of overwhelmed with the decision to get on another boat (we were pretty set on going that day since we had planned other trips already) that we settled with a different boat offered. Our tour was a huge disappointment and waste of money - full of drunk people (11a), the snorkeling was limited to an hour on our own in life vests with 100 other people splashing around, and crappy food of canned tuna "salad" and "nachos" which were the gross nachos you get at an arena. We saw the Pez Gato boats (the tour we were expecting to be on) were smaller and more intimate. If we had known, we would have changed our schedule. I was super bummed that the miscommunication happened like that through the hotel - if they hadn't booked it or had any issues they should have told us before we left - we booked it 2 days prior and had been by the main office a few times before the tour. We received no confirmation or anything from the hotel - should have been our first red flag that nothing was taken care of. BOO.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but ours seemed to be 1/2 in reach of the wifi. We could get wifi near our doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I arrived to receive a hug and a "Welcome home!" What a great way to start our five day stay! Our honeymoon suite was beyond our expectations and the breakfasts (and great coffee) were super. Everyone on the staff bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect.
We highly recommend The Bungalows Hotel!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently stayed at The Bungalows with my best friend for 10 nights, and it was DIVINE!!!! Our hammock suite was lovely, well appointed and super clean. The AC was great and the patio was beautiful. The breakfasts everyday are wonderful, and Elsa will even whip eggs up for you if you desire. The service by Eric, Beto, and Ali is wonderful!!!! They are fabulous people with very kind spirits and GREAT at their jobs. I would LOVE to visit again, have told all my friends in Cabo about the property, and will be back for sure. The Bungalows are really lucky to have such awesome local people running their hotel - it was a pleasure in every sense!!!! Thank you SO MUCH!!!!

Tips- try Capitan Fish for tacos just around the corner, the sashimi at the pizza place (!) down the street, and walk everywhere if you can!!

Room Tip: Loved the hammock suite - but could use a nicer hammock, as it seemed very worn. But otherwise, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanaPfeifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chose this hotel because of all the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor and were not let down at all. The rustic charm of The Bungalows cannot be stressed enough. So relaxing and charming. The staff will literally bend over backwards for your every need. While I was there, a couple forgot their cell phone in their room, the owner Erik drove the phone 45 minutes in traffic to the airport so that they would have it for their trip home. Erik, Ali, and Beto are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. The "Hugs" you read about on here are not a joke. They greet everyone as if you are a part of their family. I will definitely be staying here again and again. I want to personally thank the staff for their hospitality, and all of the previous contributors for their helpful reviews.

Now for the particulars; the hotel is maybe a 10 minute walk to downtown, a 15 minute walk to The Marina. And for all of you Van Halen/Sammy Hagar fans, 12 minutes to Cabo Wabo. If you need any excursions, cabs etc. The staff have connections for cheap cabs, snorkeling and day trips.

Here is my disclaimer: If you are an American who makes $50K a year and your trips to Mexico are your way of feeling rich and pampered for a week filled with gold sinks, stainless steel refrigerators, cable TV, and rose petals on your bed every day, The Bungalows is not the place for you. This is a place to relax in a small setting away from the pretentiousness and twenty-something kids doing shots of Tequila off of their girlfriends belly.

I highly recommend The Bungalows to people who are truly looking for a getaway of relaxation.

The WiFi is not as bad as some people have claimed, it is not blistering fast, but it does work.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room for better WiFi and ease to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonnyDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Yet another great time with "TheBungalows Gang" Thanks for your perfect service again.A+++ If you prefer a mellow and relaxing place to stay, this is the place to go.Just blocks from town and the walk is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for Erik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surf4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you want a relaxing and joyful experience, this is the place. We were greeted with warm smiles and hugs. They were very accommodating to our needs (we are traveling with a 7 month old baby). They even upgraded us to a more comfortable room since it was the slow season. They carried our bags (which was over the top gracious of them) and brought us a play pen for the baby. It has the family owned feel to it, with extended family working alongside of each other and their dog that greets you in the office. We felt more than taken care of here, even at breakfast, when they asked us what our baby could eat and brought out a special plate for her. Very happy with the place and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,136 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £115 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing