We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay in Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The bungalows is a wonderful place to stay if you're looking to stay in Cabo close enough to all of the downtown action. My husband and I stayed in the garden bungalow for 4 days before heading for a week long stay in Todos Santos. The staff is wonderful - and helpful. Their breakfast was awesome! It's a super laid back property - none of the hassle and craziness of a mega resort - we loved it so much we've already planned our next trip there. It's an easy walk into the heart of Cabo -should you want to taxi it back - its relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheShadyYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked The Bungalows for our 20th anniversary trip to Cabo the first week of Juine, and couldn't have been more pleased with the room, the breakfast, the staff, and everything else!
Erik is the best. Everyone comments about the hugs, but he can also arrange any activities you want, with trusted folks, and at the best price, so you don't have to worry about wasting time looking around for yourself.
My wife is kind of a "foodie" so part of the reason we booked The Bungalows was so that we could try out lots of different places, instead of feeling like we had to eat whatever they serve at the AI places, because we already paid for it. We were not disappointed (for the most part - i.e. Cabo Wabo) with any of the places we ended up, and Erik and Beto were great at recommending wonderful places. Plus the breakfast every morning on the shady patio, was always amazing.
The location was also perfect, far enough from the center of town to be quiet, but close enough to go anywhere you want quickly.
Finally, the room was great. We had a King Suite on the 3rd floor, and despite the stairs, really loved it. Great bed, which is always iffy when I'm not home on my memory foam. Lots of space. Clean. And the hammock right out the front door was a joy to relax in as well.
OK, they get no TV signal, so you have to watch DVD's if you want to watch something, but who goes to Cabo to watch TV? The only thing I could say could be improved is the shower was a little awkward. No real ability to adjust the shower head, and for a bigger guy, it was hard to get coverage. But that was a small price to pay for such otherwise excellent accommodations.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank MDEnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Bungalows was the perfect place to call home for our week in Cabo. Erik and Aletse were amazing hosts - warmly welcoming us when we arrived, and helping us arrange everything we wanted (snorkling cruise, car rental in the middle of our trip, medicine for our kid who got a bee sting, etc.) What a great brother and sister pair! The entire staff went out of their way to take good care of us, and were warm and personable.

Our apartment was elegant, comfortable, and clean, and the beds were excellent! The mattresses were perfect, and the sheets were super soft. Our unit also had a hammock, which our kid practically lived in. He loved the pool and the mangos that dropped, ripe, from the tree in the courtyard. He loved the breakfasts as well - juice, smoothies, amazing pancakes, waffles, french toast, eggs benedict, and on and on. And we loved the coffee... dark, rich, with plenty of cream and sugar, and available all day.

As a same sex couple, we were treated as warmly as all the other guests, and brought right into the family love Erik and Aletse share with all of their guests.

More than just a place to stay, being at The Bungalows was a highlight of our trip. We loved chatting with Erik, who is hilarious, and just enjoying the space - it really is a beautiful place, with lots of character, spirit and love.

Room Tip: We had a second floor unit, and loved our high palm frond ceiling. The one night it rained we got to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Incredible, laid back atmosphere where the owners treat you like family. Had a birthday cake waiting for my girlfriend when we arrived. Private, Old Mexico feel... Breakfast was absolutely amazing! Can't say enough good things about this wonderful place! We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

in early May, 2014 we opted for the quiet charm of The Bungalows over the glitz and glamour of Cabo resorts and mega hotels. We were richly rewarded for our choice from the minute we stepped foot on the property. We were greeted with warm hugs from Aletse, Beto, and Erik and immediately felt part of the family. The place isn't fancy, but the inviting pool, palm trees and bougainvillea, cabanas and hammocks, all combine to make it the quintessential Mexican hacienda.

The gourmet breakfasts were delicious: strong coffee, fresh juice and fruit, and delightful entrees served on talavera dish ware. Each morning we ate near a water fountain under a palapa-roofed patio-so tranquil.

Because this is a family run business, they know everyone and can setup all your sightseeing adventures. Beto helped us rent a car, book a jazz cruise, and recommend some great dining. He even booked my husband an in-room massage from Lilia. Don't pay high prices at the large hotels. He got an hour long massage for just $50!

Now for the cons. We found the neighborhood to be a little noisy, and it's about a 20 minute walk to the marina. However, all the pluses, including reasonable prices, more than make up for these small cons. The entire staff, from the gardener to the maids work hard to provide a delightful experience. Book it today!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel4250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a wonderful, friendly, family style B&B. I travelled with a friend for a relaxing getaway but it would also be perfect for a family or for a romantic vacation or honeymoon. My friend and I met a young couple with a baby, who are from Mexico City, and they loved it too! Ali and Eric who run the hotel are super sweet and always ready to help in any way. They greet guests with a warm hug and a very sincere "Welcome Home!" and it's clear they get a LOT of repeat business. One day I asked Eric if he could recommend a masseuse in town and he offered to reserve one to come to our room!! Breakfasts are delicious and always include fresh fruit and fresh juice or smoothie, plus an entree that changes daily (such as homemade waffles). Beds are very comfortable and the grounds are tranquil and lush with hibiscus and bouganvillea. There's a small but very clean (and uncrowded) pool. Free Wifi. Hotel is in a safe residential neighborhood but a short (20 min) walk to downtown. There are several lovely restaurants even closer (5-10 min walk). My friend and I had the most relaxing vacation that either of us have had in years. We are recommending The Bungalows to all our friends and family, and definitely plan to return!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A stay at The Bungalows in Cabo includes a private swimming pool, lovely suites, and fantastic breakfasts that include good morning hugs and beautiful singing by the owners! I highly recommend this place for those who want to stay away from the high-priced all-inclusives!
Just a short walk away from downtown Cabo, the marina, the beach and many wonderful restaurants. We stayed for 9 glorious, sun-filled days and would go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All the rooms are terrific, but if available ask for the Honeymoon Suite! It is over the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13Moondance13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £117 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing