We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place, 5 stars service and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal place, 5 stars service and accomodation”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located outside of the crowded city center, walking distance to the restaurants, marina and shops.
The rooms (cosy suite) are clean, spacious and comfortable.
The swimming pool is very nice, the sofas around make you feel like staying the whole day, between sun and shadow.
Ali and Eric are very cheerful, giving you advice about what to do and where to go if you need.
The breakfasts are amazing, original and fine recipes and ingredients.
Don't miss the massage service (50$ for one hour full body massage in your room), arranged by Ali.
After 3 weeks in Baja, from Tijuana to Los Cabos, the bungalows is one of our favourites.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manue_FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    90
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
127
397
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at The Bungalows on a trip to cabos last week! The place was nice with the authentic 'Mexico' feel. My room had a hammock which was cool. The rooms were clean with AC.

Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very welcoming, they assured we would feel like at 'home'.

great place, I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beepyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a last minute end of summer vacation before our boys went back to school. After searching on several different websites it was clear to us that we were not interested in a big-on the water-over-hyped-over priced sky rise hotel. The Bungalows is exactly what we were looking for!

We are so happy that we stumbled across the reviews for The Bungalows! Every post is true! Erik, Ale their staff Claudia and Celia and others were are amazing hosts and made our stay feel at home and well, like family!

The hotel itself is quaint, beautifully decorated, the grounds are kept up daily the pool was maintained daily as well...I know that is expected but believe me we have stayed in hotels with some murky water!!

Like I said we had looked into a few other hotels in the area, and well I mistakenly thought that our room came with a stove/oven so before checking into our hotel we stopped by Costco and picked up a pizza to warm up in the "oven" least to say once we checked in I realized MY mistake however Ale and Erik were both so understanding and offered up their oven! The room comes with a mini fridge and a microwave, the kitchenette is stocked with plates, cups and utensils. Traveling with 2 teenagers and a 9 yr old we have to be sure to have extras and snacks!!

The hotel is close to shopping, great local restaurants 15-20 minutes walking distance from the marina and shopping. We rented a car so we were in town in no time at all!

We will definitely be staying with Erik and Ale again!! I mean if only for the gourmet breakfasts!!

Room Tip: If you aren't sure about dinner ask Ale and Erik!! They recommended a delicious mariscos (mexica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Bungalows was our second stop in Cabo after a week of all-inclusive resort action. We wanted a quiet, romantic little suite that was close enough to downtown to walk places, but far enough away that it wouldn't have all the noise, hustle and bustle. We were not disappointed. Upon our arrival Erik and his staff made us feel like treasured family, greeting us with hugs, fresh cold watermelon juice and a surprising upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. It was beautiful -- a comfy king size bed, beautiful sitting area, kitchen with some amenities, lovely tiled bathroom, and peaceful outdoor plant-filled patio with hammock, table with chairs, bar with stools, and lovely fountain that attracted doves every morning. Each morning we awoke looking forward to the day's phenomenal breakfast, always served with smiles and hugs! This laid-back paradise on the hill served to relax my boyfriend and I tremendously with its comfy loungers, rockers, and inviting saltwater pool. The service and romantic ambiance in this rare hideaway is so unique! It has an old-world, rustic feel that speaks to the soul! Thank you Erik, Ally, Junior, Beto, Claudia, and Soccora for taking such good care of us! I didn't want to come home yesterday! Frank and I will see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ssankner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This little family owned hotel more than made up for my unpleasant experience using Expedia to book the trip. Contrary to my thoughts, booking a package thru Expedia was not easier, less stressful, nor cheaper than booking everything direct. Lesson learnt!
The bungalows hotel is small, quaint with an authentic old-world style and is situated on the top of the hill overlooking down town Cabo. What i liked about The Bungalows is you actually feel like you are vacationing in another country, a far cry from the impersonal Vegas style all-inclusives on the beach. The walk into DT is around 10 minutes, 20 to the beach. I walked it everyday but if you don't like exercise this maybe isn't the place to be.
The staff are really lovely, so personable & they go out of their way to make a difference in your stay. The breakfasts are on parr with any 5 star resort, if not better. The free wifi made a huge difference to my stay for business, & the free juice & fruit in the afternoon was much appreciated.
I was a single female traveller & i felt completely safe the entire trip. I had an absolutely lovely time & i had no idea what to expect prior.
The only reason i would not want to write in & give a review of the Bungalows is because i want to keep it my own secret little get-away.

Room Tip: Email direct. It is a very small hotel but If they can accommodate you they will. The rooms are old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nigella_LA_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The bungalows is a wonderful place to stay if you're looking to stay in Cabo close enough to all of the downtown action. My husband and I stayed in the garden bungalow for 4 days before heading for a week long stay in Todos Santos. The staff is wonderful - and helpful. Their breakfast was awesome! It's a super laid back property - none of the hassle and craziness of a mega resort - we loved it so much we've already planned our next trip there. It's an easy walk into the heart of Cabo -should you want to taxi it back - its relatively inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShadyYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDEnce
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked The Bungalows for our 20th anniversary trip to Cabo the first week of Juine, and couldn't have been more pleased with the room, the breakfast, the staff, and everything else!
Erik is the best. Everyone comments about the hugs, but he can also arrange any activities you want, with trusted folks, and at the best price, so you don't have to worry about wasting time looking around for yourself.
My wife is kind of a "foodie" so part of the reason we booked The Bungalows was so that we could try out lots of different places, instead of feeling like we had to eat whatever they serve at the AI places, because we already paid for it. We were not disappointed (for the most part - i.e. Cabo Wabo) with any of the places we ended up, and Erik and Beto were great at recommending wonderful places. Plus the breakfast every morning on the shady patio, was always amazing.
The location was also perfect, far enough from the center of town to be quiet, but close enough to go anywhere you want quickly.
Finally, the room was great. We had a King Suite on the 3rd floor, and despite the stairs, really loved it. Great bed, which is always iffy when I'm not home on my memory foam. Lots of space. Clean. And the hammock right out the front door was a joy to relax in as well.
OK, they get no TV signal, so you have to watch DVD's if you want to watch something, but who goes to Cabo to watch TV? The only thing I could say could be improved is the shower was a little awkward. No real ability to adjust the shower head, and for a bigger guy, it was hard to get coverage. But that was a small price to pay for such otherwise excellent accommodations.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MDEnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Property: The Bungalows Hotel
Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing