We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in an "ideal location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in an "ideal location"”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Bahia Hotel is very clean and well kept. Rooms: The first 2 floors have refurbished rooms which are very nicely decorated (clean, simple, w. a touch of tropical bohemian) and come with a microwave, small refrigerator and sink in the kitchen area. The older rooms have a full stove but nothing to cook with such as pots or pans and no microwave. It did have dishes and utensils (the new rooms do not) If you need a hair dryer, toothpaste, toothbrush, razor, shaving cream, etc. they will provide it for you and the soaps & shampoo, lotion, etc. are excellent quality (same ones used at the Plaza Bonita, Sunset) and the towels are thick and over sized. The hotel is located in a great area of the city. It's a block up from Medano Beach (until 4 years ago it was beach front but a new hotel was built in front of it so you need to walk on either side of ‘Casa Dorado’ to get to the beach) literally, 100 steps away. Some of the best restaurants in the city a few steps from Bahia (Edith's, Peacock's, Sharkey's & the Bahia's on-site restaurant is one of the best in the city / Bar Esquina) The pool bar menu was excellent and moderately priced. On Site: They have 5 sun beds at the pool which you need to secure early on busy pool days (we had 2 out of 8 days that were busy) and the service is excellent. We were in a pool room (103) and it was great to walk out to the pool & hot spa in the evenings and convenient while sunning in the afternoon. The front desk staff serve as concierge & they were more than helpful in any & every request. The ONLY negative is the beds are HARD!!! If you're use to sleeping on the floor, or a futon, then you'll be fine. But if you like "heavenly beds" you won't find it at Bahia! But the linens were very nice and the AC worked great! It's an awesome VALUE - if you're looking for a local above average quality, clean, nice, perfectly located boutique hotel - this IS THE PLACE! No bugs. Animal friendly. People Friendly. And we've been to at all kinds of different resorts (all-inclusive, 4 Diamond, 5 Star, Time-share, in the Cabo area and we had a blast at the Bahia!

Room Tip: First two floors are refurbished. Rooms 101, 102, 103 are all pool front - excellent location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    317
    116
    39
    29
See reviews for
157
489
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful weeks at this hotel. Great location, friendly staff that was always helpful and accomodating.
Matias, the doorman was especially friendly and we noticed he even took on double shifts as he was there when we left on our 5am fishing trip and he was still around when we got back from a evening out on the town. He added some extra welcoming and made us feel like home.
I would recommend a rental car as there are lots of beaches on the Sea of Cortez and the town of Todos Santos is a nice drive away (the 2 lane divided road is almost done).
We'll come back to the Bahia one cold future winter and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The basic room there is very nice but we upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was fabulous. The staff seemed very concerned and help especially Matias who tried very hard to help me locate a missing item. The pool area was nice and the restaurant and bar were great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesnurgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I were some of the lucky guests of the beautiful bride and groom just below this review. We had an amazing time. My husband travels a lot and we had enough points to stay at the Hilton in Cabo for free, we choose to stick with the group and thank goodness we did! The Deluxe Room was amazing and our patio was right off the pool. The food and drinks were great and a great price, the beach is super close and everybody at the Bahia treated us like we were their dear old friend. We can't wait to go back and when we do, I hope we can stay at the Bahia! Please note, as amazing as this hotel is becoming, book your stay now, I bet in a year this will be the number one hotel in the area and the prices will soar. Hi Fernandez! We miss you already.
PS. Don't forget to tip your cleaning crew, we didn't realize that until the end of our trip and felt so terrible!

Room Tip: Go with the Deluxe and try to get level one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for the review. We love you too! Happy that you gave us a chance(by not booking at the Hilton and taking the freebie) and we succeeded!

Don't worry about the maids but thank you for advising others to tip them. Mexican people are very hard working and take pride in what they do. It's wonderful as an owner to see them interact with the guests and enjoy what they do and have people recognize them for it.

As far as the holidays next year we are close to sold out so good advice on booking early!!! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wedding group of 19 stayed here from 1/18-1/23. We all chose the deluxe rooms, so keep that in mind when reading.

Service:
Our rooms were cleaned everyday with an extra visit late in the afternoon to see if we needed additional towels (every day). We had rooms on pool level with our patios facing the pool--we were a bit worried about the rowdiness of late night hot-tubbers, but every time someone entered the pool after it had closed, the Bahia quickly asked them to leave without us having to call. The front desk was extremely accommodating with any request we had (ex: my sister asked maintenance for tiny screwbdrivers to fix her camera--they Were more than happy to lend them--front desk didn't even know about that).

Rooms:
Beautiful. Exactly like the photos. Do note that not all upper level rooms are the same. Some of my party had an extended room w/no patio, etc. We did have an issue with the phones which was kind of aggravating since it was our only method of communication, but I never brought it to their attention, so I can't really complain. Also, in some of the upper level deluxe rooms, the wifi was not that reliable--again, a minor issue. The minibar prices are extremely reasonable. To comment on noise level the way one reviewer did: it's what you'd expect in a hotel. You can hear people in the hall & when your neighbor takes a shower. It was not overly loud--even the big groups partying late did not disturb my group.

Extras:
The location is hard to beat. At first, I thought we'd stay at Casa Dorada (who now blocks the beach view for the Bahia), but they were unaccomodating and rude. I am so happy I looked elsewhere. The one block to the beach is a bit of a hill. Some elderly people in our party had to take that hill slowly, but they made it. Point of reference: you get to the beach right at Baja Cantina & The Office. It's awesome!

The restaurant adjoining the Bahia is hard to beat. I think we ate breakfast there every morning. The portions are great, prices reasonable & food is yummy & fresh. The prices increase throughout the day (breakfast is around $9 chicken sandwich at lunch is $14 & filet at dinner is $58). This enhanced our stay for sure.

Overall, the Bahia made us feel special--they knew our group, helped when we asked them, and made it a pleasant experience. We will be back as will all of our 17 others.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for the review. Groups like yours make this a very rewarding buisness. I remember the group well. The staff enjoyed the energy you brought to the hotel and it was fun watching the celebration!

We understand that there are a lot of memories created and stories told that will bring us additional
buisness in the future so thank you for coming and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife & I stayed here for two nights at the end of December 2011, our adult kids stayed 1 night. The only positives were that the bed was comfortable and the view of the pool & area was nice. The negatives are many, stating with the unfriendly front desk staff. Checking in was fine, but anytime after that, whenever I had a question, I had to wait until they finished texting and then it was as if I was bothering them0 They would semi-answer then go back to their cell phones a.s.a.p.. This was not one person, this was three different girls. The friendliest people were the bell-hops/valets, they were all awesome. The rooms were adequate, however, the bathroom door didn't close, the shower water pressure was poor, and the temperature was constantly fluctuating. The air conditioner would kick on and off all night with a loud bang. As I said, there was a lovely view of the pool, but no furniture on the patio so as to sit and enjoy the view. The kids room had 1 chair on the patio but it was broken. I asked at the front desk for a couple chairs, but they never arrived.
We had booked a room with 2 double beds for our 3 kids to sleep in, but got a room with 1 double, the hotel blamed Expedia for the error and was fully booked so they sent up a cot. It was the worst cot ever!!! A 10 yr old girl might have been fine in it but not a grown man, it sagged almost to the floor when he got in it.
We only ate one breakfast here, so not much to say about the restaurant other than it took 20 minutes to pay the bill and there was only one other table at the time, speed and good service is not a priority here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, IL
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The Bahia hotel is in one of the best locations. You are walking distance to the beach clubs, the marina and the town. Active area but not to busy or noisey. We stayed in an updated room on the main floor and it was good size with great beds and the bathroom was nicely done. The bar area and the restaruant are great. It was definatly the place to be.

The service was also great. We we there over Christmas/ New Years so it was very busy, however, the bar/wait staff were excellent and the front desk staff were very responsive.

The only negative I have is that the pool only gets sun after about 11:00. We went to the beach club most days so it did not bother us. We used the pool area more for late afternoon relaxing by pool bar and testing all their wonderful gourmet pizzas.

Overall nice boutique hotel, great food and service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool otherwise you face the hotel across the street. The remodeled room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmomDeerPark_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
889 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#40 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#28 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Property: Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Address: Av. El Pescador S/N | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach House Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing