We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay! Great Location. Would Do again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bahia on our 2nd trip to Cabo. We luckily got a Groupon Deal which was awesome. The hotel is boutique style, small enough to feel personal but large enough to have privacy and very peaceful. The ambiance is very relaxing and the lighting especially at night is very romantic in the hallways (especially the 1st and 2nd floors). The pool is VERY relaxing and the pool side beds are so comfortable i noticed everyone couldn't help but fall asleep there...its perfect location to get the ocean breeze. There are multiple hammocks throughout the building which are so relaxing to layout on. The hotel is literally like a 2 minute walk to the beach, 5-7 minute walk to marina and 7-10 to heart of downtown............we saved a TON on taxi fare compared to our last stay at the RIU. Couldn't ask for a better location....of course the beach isn't at your doorsteps but neither is the noise of boats and jetskis, or the constant stares of the beach "salesmen". And its literally a hop, skip jump away when your ready for it.
We got the romance package which was very romantic...there was turndown service with candles, chocolates, a flower in vase and massage oil. The birthday cake was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bonus is you can make free calls to the US!!!! How awesome is that. Also there is free wifi in the common areas and luckily we could pick up signal on our balcony as we were over the lobby.
The rooms are very plain and simple with white walls and very little wall decorations and such BUT the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. Gives you a private room on an island kinda feel. They are suite style so there is a stove and fridge(stocked as minibar) which we didn't use. The balcony is large and the seating chairs are comfortable. The shower is very nice with the large waterfall type shower head.....there was a little issue with maintaining water temperature but didnt bother me much as hot showers weren't really the thing to do in July.

We absolutely LOVED our stay and highly recommend it. We did all inclusive last trip and although the "resort style" trip was fun, we rarely left the resort and when we did we payed alot in taxi fare to and from. At Bahia with its awesome location we really got to explore Cabo and see so much more!!!

I would definitely stay here again.
A few tips. There is a minimart down the street from Bahia (to the left when walk out lobby) that has most essentials (water, beer,wine, snacks).There is a cool taco spot last store on right on the way to beach that has $1 beer, $3 2-for-1 margaritas, and $1.50 tacos that are DELICIOUS and safe to eat. La Ricazon is 2 blocks away and has good margaritas, crab cakes and seafood. There is a restaurant 1 block down (opposite direction of beach) on the right that has awesome breakfast at a great price. If your looking for a great place to go eat in the marina try Ole Ole.
If you are walking to marina or downtown- ask someone in the lobby and avoid going the long route :) ENJOY!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deez404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review. The location and service are at the root of the guest experience here at the Bahia. I often here from the guests of other properties that dine with us that they wish there were staying closer to town and the beaches of Medano. It is difficult to communicate and organize groups while traveling in a foreign country therefore being within walking distance makes planning much easier and less expensive.
We have several different packages and the romance one is very popular, glad you enjoyed it
Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Wonderful small hotel in great location. The front office staff with Karim, housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. The "classic" rooms are ok but dated. The "deluxe" rooms have been renovated with modern furnishings, flat screen tv and nice pool views and are recommended. The hotel is a block from Medano Beach, although with the Dorado Hotel blocking any beach/sea view.

Bahia Hotel is an excellent alternative to the large Westin or Hilton style resorts located on the highway between San Jose Airport and Cabo San Lucas city. The hotel is located close enough to walk to restaurants, clubs, bars etc or just a short cab ride. Cabo Wabo has live music every night in centro.

Medano Beach has all the popular beach clubs and beach activities, parasailling, banana boats, jet skis, standup paddling etc,. The ocean is very calm in that area unlike the Pacific side of Cabo with rip tides. Try Tabasco's restaurant on Medano Beach 1/2 mile from the hotel. A small very comfortable restaurant without the loud music of the nearby beach clubs.

The hotel is also easy walking distance to the central restaurant, bar and shopping district. You may need a $6 taxi ride on your return due to the uphill walk after a full meal and drinks. The hotel restaurant, Esquina, has an excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. There is also a morning/afternoon coffee bar adjacent to the restaurant. The Esquina has live music some evenings week until 11pm. It's great to come back to the hotel after dinner in centro and have dessert and listen to the easy listening music groups. If you decide to hang at the hotel during the day, the pool bar with palapa and free wifi is very popular.

La Dolce or Romeo and Julietta are both excellent choices for Italian food. Mocambo is excellent Mexican seafood restaurant popular with residents. Also Pollo de Oro has excelent rotisserie chicken at very reasonable prices. Nick-San sushi is a beautiful but a little pricey. A cheaper alternative is Koi Sushi located in a shopping plaza near Wal-Marts, with little ambience.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xlagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

what a great trip! from the courteous, respectful and prompt staff, to the outstanding restaurant, the trip could not have been better. the rooms and beds were simply divine! from the cotton sheets to the light cotton blanket, they truly made the sleeping experience a pleasure to await. the sunflower shower head is a great touch! the menu and restaurant offer great sensations from the Must Have Tuna tartare to the simple marghareta pizza. they don't overlook any detail here. there was No noise and yet it is steps away from downtown and harbor. don't miss this spot on your trip there.

Room Tip: see if a room has a view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for the review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beds and got some rest while on vacation.
The tuna tartare has become the specialty of the house and one of our most popular dishes. Thanks for choising the Bahia and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

When you first get there, the staff were ready to greet you with a smile and really went out of their way to make the check-in easy. The room was very comfortable and think all of the amenities were excellent. drinks by the pool in the afternoon and then at the bar at night. the ambience of the lobby and bar area, as well as seating on the deck next to the bar were well thought out. excellent location and easy to walk around, very safe. i look forward to returning there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rslabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review. The staff here work very hard but make it look easy. The care about your vacation and take pride is the service of the hotel.
Cabo is a very safe area and I appreciate you pointing that out. We get lots of calls from the U.S. asking about saftey and traveling in Mexico. It is hard to imagine when one watches the news in the U.S. just how safe it is here and how welcoming the Mexican people are. One has to come see it and feel it to understand it.
Look foward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our room was fantastic! The hotel upgraded us to a poolside room! The bed was very comfortable! The location was perfect! Walking distance to the beach! Sharky's Restaurant, right across the street was wonderful! Bahia's restaurant was a little pricey. The staff at Bahia were all very helpful and ready to do anything you asked! We really enjoyed the pool and swim-up bar!
My husband and I will definitely come back to Bahia on our next trip to Cabo!

Only one suggestion, the bathrooms need to have a blow dryer available for the guests! Oh and the room discription states that guests will have to share a bathroom! Not so! Every room has its own restroom. I am guessing this statement was lost in translation! Great Place!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room! They are in the process of remodeling the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maximo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Where to start...

- staff are extremely nice
- beds are very comfortable
- pool area is relaxing - love the sunloungers
- food is really good and the vibe at the restaurant is a lot of fun!!
- location couldn't be more perfect - just off medano beach and a 3 min walk to the piers

This place was a tenth of the price of some of the other hotels on offer and I am so glad I didn't pay more to stay somewhere else. Great value for money, incredible service and an all-round beautiful place to stay.

I will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saraht1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

To start off, I had a great expectation of this hotel from reading previous reviews. The outside is nice, the lobby, restaurant, bar, etc. But then we go to our room and everything chaned. it was so ugly. I guess because it was an older room. The a/c was leaking water big time! It was the classic single. right after we had to upgrade to a room with two beds because it was three of us. Which I got charged an extra $114. This room was a little better but still had its flaws. One of the bed sheets had some type of stains which looked like blood! It was so disgusting we had to call for new sheets. So we got new ones and also had some type of stains! One of the beds also had the bed frame sticking out and i got a cut on my leg. Then moving on to the bathroom, there is NO privacy! The door is like made of sticks so u can see through. Then the shower water would turn super hot, then would turn super cold! Oh and our whole 5 day stay they were renovating some Rooms so it was sooo noisy and would wake us up early in the morning..Those are my main complaints about the room even though there was still other little things we were not happy about! The only good thing was the pool area which was nice. Maybe we would've had a better stay if we had tried the newer more modern rooms (deluxe). But with this experience I don't think I will EVER stay here again. I will probably stay at Casa Dorada across the street. Now THAT'S an amazing hotel! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabel4774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medano Hotel and Suites
Medano Hotel and Suites
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#6 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabo Vista Hotel
Cabo Vista Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Address: Av. El Pescador s/n | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £102 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach House Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing