We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Cascadas de Baja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Cascadas de Baja
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We traded our home resort for Club Cascadas and we could not have been happier with our choice. This resort is small, intimate, and lovely.

Our room consisted of a large common area, kitchen, and a spiral stair case up to the bedroom.
We had a large patio off each level one with a great hot tub that we used daily. We had daily maid service which was nice because we have been to other time shares that did not offer this service. The resort has a old Mexican feel which for us just adds to the charm of being in mexico. ATTENTION PEOPLE...there is NO t.v in your condo, so don't book a vacation here and then complain because there is no t.v. in your room. For me this is blessing, this is why I go on a vacation to get away from it all. If you need to get some screen time don't panic the club house has numerous t.v's.

The resort grounds are beautiful and spotless. We ate at the onsite restaurant for many breakfasts and lunches and we also had one dinner on the beach. The food was very good for all our meals and the wait staff was great. I also want to give two thumbs up for the beach service, this was something that we also used a lot and and was another bonus that you don't get at all the other resorts. Ditto for the free internet use that is provided as well!

The only issue I had was the bed was on the hard side for me, and they really could use a pillow upgrade.

I must say I hope to return one day to Club Cascadas as my this place exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimbo-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    82
    22
    22
    17
See reviews for
136
133
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We've been going to Club Cascadas for the last 8 years. My parents were the owners of a Timeshare and they just recently gave it to us. We LOVE it at Club Cascadas. Be prepared to relax! There are no TV's in the rooms, no telephones either. The rooms are beautiful, well kept and very Mexican themed. The history of Club Cascadas is fascinating, take the time to read about it in the Clubhouse.

The beach is just steps away, the villas are situated amongst beautiful greenery, trees and flowering shrubs. The pools are well cared for with a swim up bar and hot tub in each one.
Our particular villa is right by the pool, the view is gorgeous!

You are given a towel card at check in and a key to the safe, we have always kept our wallets in the safe. The towels are nice big beach towels, just turn them in each night to get your towel card back, or ask for a clean towel at that time and take it back to your villa for use in the morning. The beach is where we spend our days relaxing in the sun or under a palapa. There is also plenty to do in town, which is just a short walk away, or you can take a taxi, which are always waiting outside.

When we are at Club Cascadas we truly feel like we are in another world, away from everything. The staff makes you feel so welcome and they take the best care of you during your stay. You can have turn down service at night, and the maid staff takes care of cleaning your villa every day while you are away, they even do the dishes!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pumpkinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Think of your condo as a little home situated in Cabo. You have access to the beach with a 1-2 minute walk. You might actually have a view of the Arco from your condo. You have a fully equipped kitchen with a stove, fridge, plates, silverware etc. There's a spa, salon, two pools with swim-up bars, a small store, fitness center and movie room all onsite. You have a cozy bedroom and an adjoining bathroom. You have a balcony off the bedroom and a sitting and dining area to entertain friends. You might even have a hammock.

Your condo does not have TV or radio, but you have a fabulous hot tub! You probably won't need the A/C because the materials the building and roof are made with have been tested in this Baja climate for centuries and work just fine against the sun and occasional winds or rain. It is a simple life here in Club Cascadas.

You have everything you need close by: downtown is a few minutes by foot if you want to go out to eat or do some activities in town. There's a Wal-Mart so you can stock your fridge with Coronas tto drink in your hot tub or go for lunch or breakfast treats (think local foods for great prices). The view of the Arco is unparalled here- truly. It's the view everyone wants to have when they go to Cabo, and you've got it here at Club Cascadas. Also there are beach vendors patroling the beach if you should want to buy a souvenir or two.

You'll pass the time everyday sitting on the beach under or near your palapa. The stresses of the day won't be stresses at all. You'll just be thinking about how long those cruise ships are going to be sitting there. Or, did we just see a whale off in the distance? Another Corona please.

The restaurant onsite is excellent for plated meals and buffets. Be sure to try their production of Mexican coffee (at night). They have a traditional dance/show night once a week and other activities there as well. Other activities onside include water aerobics and even things for the kids like pottery painting. They have a salsa/guacamole making classes which are fun, too.

It's the little things that make this place such a stand out. It is totally unpretentious and relaxing. It is a mainstay in Cabo and hasn't changed much in years. You'll truly relax here and become one with the environment. It's great for families with children young or old, for retirees, for couples just wanting to get away. We love it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullhead city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We just returned from the most wonderful two week stay at Cascadas. We love love love it there! Be prepared for disconnecting from everything as Cascadas does not have telephones, radios or televisions in the villas but you can go to the Clubhouse for television, phones by way of cellphones or go to front and bring a small radio if you need to have music. The staff is outstanding and always remembers you by name, our favorite is Salvador. He takes such wonderful care of us each and every year. He greets us with a smile and a hug and leaves us with a hug and smile! Over the years we get to know everyone more and more, we always look forward to our week in Cascadas! The grounds are immaculate, the villas are spotless and the restaurant is great.

Room Tip: If you dont want stairs then I highly suggest booking first floor as many do have stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewlz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I am a little late in writing this review ... we actually visited in November 2010.

Our visit was a last minute trade through San Francisco Exchange, and well to be blunt, there was not much of a selection of properties left by the time I made the reservation ... so we went there not expecting much especially since there are no telephones or televisions in the rooms.

As it turned out, we had a very enjoyable vacation and met some wonderful people. Club Casacades is one of the original time-share/hotel properties in Cabo, and is located next to Pueblo Bonito Rose. Visitors are mostly an over 50's crowd, but because the place is quaint and smaller than many of the surrounding resorts, you did not find yourself fighting for a spot on the beach or finding a lounge chair by the pool.

I would recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: This is an older place with no in room telephones or televisions ... but it does have its charm, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrance,ca
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We received a "gift" of a week's stay from our friends who couldn't use it during this time period. Positively the most relaxed vacation ever-we were planning on using the kitchen and did not cook once! Our daily routine (after doing a half hearted work out) was to secure our palapa #3 and hail Edith for our beer, mojitos and lunch!
The beach was beautiful and only a 30 second walk from our Perlita. Yes, the vendors try to get their sales, but they are only trying to make a living, and were completely fine with a "no, gracias" and walked away. The service as Club Cascadas was great, especially the housekeeping and gardening. The front desk could use a little more politeness, but it didn't bother us.
We got our internet/TV fix in the upper Clubhouse Two, and saw a great football game in the main clubhouse on 3 flatscreens.
The thickness of the walls in our Perlita keep all the noise out and the AC kept us cool at night. During the day, the ceiling fans did the trick.
We walked into town 3 different times with no problem, except the constant hawkers trying to make us try their restaurant. Had some boring meals in town.
The food at Cascadas was fine, but overpriced. Tobascos, next door, was cheaper and just as good.
As far as activities, we took the water taxi out to Los Arcos, did some snorkeling and relaxed on Lover's Beach. The clarity of the water was excellent for snorkeling (we were surprised that it was better than Hawaii 3 weeks previous). Also tried SUP boarding and got a great deal for 2 of us-it was fun! The water temperature was soooo warm, clean and clear during our stay.
All in all, a relaxing trip to Club Cascadas-could it be due to all the 2 for 1 drinks???

Room Tip: Stick to Mexican food if you want a good meal (duh!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W.O.F.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I booked my stay through my parent's timeshare exchange for the last week of Oct and the 1st week of November. I'll give you the good, bad, and the ugly:

The Good:
1. Conveniently located to all of the action in Cabo San Lucas. You are within walking distance to the mall, the boulevard (street vendors, liquor stores, silver jewelers, pharmacies, bars, marina, and eateries). I wouldn't recommend walking during the day. It was anywhere between 93 and 96 degrees while we were there and it gets hot early. Although we rented a car, we did walk to the strip/boulevard twice. Once during the day and once at night. Walking at night is much cooler.
2. The staff is super friendly and for the most part they stay out of your way.
We stayed in a one bedroom villa and it was spacious with a kitchenette. We bought food from Walmart and cooked at least one meal each day.
3. The property is well maintained and clean. It's an older property, but you will find that the grounds are kept very well.
4. The property is literally a few blocks from Walmart & Sam's club.
5. Hailing a taxi is easy. The taxi drivers camp out across from the property. There are several other timeshare properties on the same road as Cascadas, so there is no shortage of taxis.
6. The beach is gorgeous.
7. Wi-Fi is availble (my caveat is in the ugly section)
8. You're greeted with margaritas, tea, and a light snack upon arrival.
9. Two pools are available. One pool had a swim up bar. (I'm not sure if the other pool did, but I noticed that one had a swim up bar)
10. Very peaceful and quiet property.
11. The smoothies at the cafe are pretty tasty and it only costs $50 pesos ($4 U.S.)


The Bad:
1. The food at the restaurant is overpriced. Breakfast for 2 was about $400 pesos or $32 U.S. You are better off going to the marina (Senor Sweets quickly became our favorite place to eat) or buying food at Walmart or a supermarket and cooking it in the room.
2. You are in the middle of hustlers' row. Although they are not allowed to come onto the property, there are alot of walking vendors hustling various items and services on the beach. There is a rope that separates the boundary lines of each hotel/vacation property and the public portion of the beach. It was a turn off to see walking vendors/hustlers at 8:00 a.m. peddling their various goods on the beach. They are literally out from sun up to sun down.
3. There is no television or telephone in the rooms at Cascadas.
4. If you want room service, you will need to use the telephones that are located by the elevators on each floor. You can contact the front desk and housekeeping from these phones.

The Ugly:
1. This property is extremely dated. The floors are actually tile (the same kind used in bathrooms back in 1970's and 80's) with dirty, yucky grout. Cascadas has to be one of the oldest vacation properties in Cabo. Some would say the look of Cascadas is part of it's charm, but I compare it to staying in public housing compared to other properties.
2. The property lacks amenities. You have the basics and that's it. There is a spa on property. The gym is for members/owners only (I'm not sure if guest are allowed) and there is a tennis court. No golf course at this property.
3. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Wi-Fi is only available in cafe and the area behind the front desk.
4. Wicker furniture. Need I say more.
5. Check-in time is only for 2 hours (from 4pm to 6pm). I'm not sure if they extend check-in time or not, but we arrived at the property at 1:30 p.m. and was told to come back around 3:30 p.m. When we came back we were told that we would have to wait until 4 p.m.
6. There is one television on the property and it is located in the cafe. Everyone will have to watch the same thing.

Additional info:
1. The property is geared toward older couples, 50+. It's not for 20 somethings and 30 somethings. 40 somethings on vacation might find the atmosphere a bit old as well. Bingo was available one night and I think there was an open mic night later on in the week.
2. You can rent a vehicle once you arrive at the property. U-Save Rental Cars is the vendor that is on site. Someone from U-Save will bring the car to the property for you.
3. You are not allowed to have guest on the property after 10 p.m. I don't see this as a drawback, but it could be for singles who like to hook up with others while visiting Cabo.
4. The beds are very firm. I've seen some reviews where the reviewer says the beds were to hard and uncomfortable...your mileage may vary on this one. My fiance and I slept like babies. For us the bed was perfect and it was the best sleep we have had in years.

If you like peace and quiet then Cascadas is the place to be. If you like venturing out on your own and taking in all that Cabo has to offer I would say give Cascadas a try. However, if you like a property that has alot of amenities and lots of things to do on site, then you are out of luck if you book Cascadas. If you are under 40 and you love to be in the thick of things, Cascadas is probably not the property for you. It skews older...typically those who are of retirement age. If you are over 50, then you will probably make quite a few friends and have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I noticed that the staff at Cascadas knew certain owners by name (probably the owners that come several times per year) and they treat the guests like family. The customer services is unparrallelled and they really do make you feel welcomed. I enjoyed my visit to Cabo and I liked the Cascadas, but after doing a timeshare presentation at Pueblo Bonita (not the one next door, but the newer property that's about 7 to 10 miles out) it's hard to say if I would come back. Nothing against Cascadas, but I like having the luxury and the amenities that new properties and hotels have to offer.

Room Tip: Everyone wants a view overlooking the beach. It's extremely hard to get. Be happy with whateve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank divalicious757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.6 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#22 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Medano Beach Villa
Medano Beach Villa
#18 of 38 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cascadas de Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cascadas de Baja

Property: Club Cascadas de Baja
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Apartado 72, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cascadas de Baja 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Club Cascadas de Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cascadas De Baja Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Cascadas De Baja
Resort Cascadas De Baja
Cascadas Baja Club
Club Cascadas De Baja Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing