We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun at the pool bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun at the pool bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My friend Judy and I recently celebrated her birthday at the pool bar at Grand Solmar in Cabo. Our servers made it a party with wonderful humor, good fun, and fine drinks, even freebies for her birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of David, Victor, and Javiar. Great people. Great bar.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at Grand Solmar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Frances, we are thrilled you loved our little birthday surprise by the pool. To make your stay memorable is our daily goal, so please do not expect less.
Please receive big hugs from all of us.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,338
    290
    83
    27
    27
See reviews for
907
1,128
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We have been coming to Cabo for over 30 years, but have made the "Grand Solmar Resort" our "2nd home" of choice several years ago, enjoying a "presidential" suite that accommodates our entire family & invited guests. We are still down here vacationing, enjoying every minute - we are literally steps away from land's end, with the pounding of the surf just outside our door. The staff here goes out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible every visit. We especially LOVE the new restaurants, "La Roca" and "Don Luis", and really feel these are 2 of the BEST in Cabo! The surfing down is here is the best.... the sunsets insane... and did I mention the food here.... oh yes, it is incredible at both restaurants! The service from all departments excellent!

Room Tip: Every building has a unique view of the Pacific Ocean... I don't think you can go wrong on any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Deborah, the staff here will always go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible on every visit.
Don´t forget to tell us when you are celebrating something as we will make it special.
Cordially yours,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

OMG! - We just returned from a week in Cabo (July 14 - 21, 2012) at the Grand Solmar Lands End Resort! The resort is absolutely beautiful - truly paradise! We had a total of 9 in our group (6 adults and 3 children) and stayed in 3 studio suites. The rooms are beautiful! The staff treats you like queens and kings - beginning with our initial greeting upon arrival from the head bellman Manny and one of his assistants, Felix, to the registration staff, concierge's Ericka and Ruben, and the bar staff - Victor, David and Andres (and others I can't remember!). The Hotel General Manager Jean Louis was very visible and made us feel like treaured and valued guests. The attention to detail is impeccable I would say the resort is at least 75% complete - construction was going on daily (M-F) on the west side with the last tower. The only loud noises occurred with the demolition of one small partial wing of the original old Solmar resort that was still standing (truly nostalgia!). We are owners and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Diane, thank you very much for your kind words. We will treat you like Kings and Queens because your are Kings and Queens.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This place is just a mediocre stab at building a grand resort. Elegant decor? Great amenities? I don't really think so, but you can be the judge of that. Here are some things that really spoiled our stay here:
o You're really far from town. Want to hop into town for some shopping? Considering it's ~20 minutes walking or a ($$) taxi, you're looking at a huge pain in the tush. Especially if you want to hit town during the day, freshen up in your room, and head out for dinner or drinks at night.
o You can't swim on the beach. Basically when they developed the property they left a sliver of sand. And there is a massive shore break there so you won't be swimming in it. If you want to head to the beach you can swim in, it's a ~30 minute walk or a $$ water taxi (which is still pretty slow).
o They call it a "cashless" resort, which basically means your long, languorous day by the pool is constantly interrupted by staff asking you to sign bits of paper and clarifying when they can't read your name. Oh yeah, except for the bits that only take cash (like the coffee stand) which is a pain because you don't have any on you.
o You need to take a golf cart to leave (the entrance is down an access path from the actual road). And it's valet parking. Kind of a pain when your 20 minute walk into town is being delayed by a slow thinking guy arguing with somebody at the desk. And a real problem when you're trying to get to the airport and a huge line of slow moving people materializes while the front desk is tallying your bill.
o The moment we checked in they hit us up for a time share presentation. Really? Can't you at least romance me a little bit before going for the grab?

There are so many places like this, they're a huge cliche. You can do better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank santrellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just returned from a week stay at the Grand Solmar Lands End and it was the most incredible vacation we have ever taken! The appearance of the resort, the staff, the cleanliness and the special dinner I planned for my wife were all perfect.

Let me start with the staff... We arrived and the first person we met was Manny as we stepped off the van. This guy is so helpful and even remembered our names the rest of the trip after only introducing ourselves once. With all the people he see's everyday he had the biggest smile and was always helpful. Alana at the concierge desk was extremely helpful before we arrived at the resort. I contacted the resort before arriving to see if there was something special I could arrange for my Wife and our anniversary celebration. Alana helped me arrange a private dinner for 2 right on the beach! She worked with the restaurant staff to prepare a menu that I was able to approve and everything was perfect when we arrived. The restaurant staff all over the resort was perfect but I want to single out a few people at La Roca. The manager Isaac was extremely helpful and made our special dinner run smoothly. The Executive Chef Hector prepared the meals to perfection. And the best waiter on the planet Renzo took care of us and was never more than a half step away when we needed something. I was a waiter many years ago and he did everything he could to make our dinner the best experience. Yurie was also a big help with local places to see and general information about the area. Joel at the front entrance was also so helpful and always greeted us with questions about the adventures we had during the day.

Ok, some people have complained about the construction at Solmar and yes there is quite a bit of activity. If you take the time to research where you are staying before you go then you'll be prepared that you might hear a little noise. All of this happens during the day so if you are still at the resort instead of exploring Cabo then you might as well stay at home! By the time you return most of the construction is winding down for the day and isn't an issue. If you happen to be at the resort during the day the noise really isn't that bad and shouldn't ruin your vacation. While we were there we did get a chance to see the original Solmar building right before they started taking it down. It would have been nice if they could have saved it but sometimes "Progress" has to win out. At the end of the day the construction is a non-issue and shouldn't scare you away from visiting the resort.

The only minor issues we experienced mostly have to do with the fact that not all the facility is completed. #1: The small store on the premises is not very complete. This is minor as they have a free shuttle that will take you to their sister resort Playa Grande which is right down the street. Their store is fully stocked and will have everything you need from 8 in the morning until 10:30 at night. It's a little inconvenient but not a big deal. #2: It would be nice to have entertainment at Grand Solmar during the day and evening. It wouldn't take much effort to have a live band or activities on the resort property. Yes, you can get on the shuttle and go to Playa Grande for this but I shouldn't have to leave the resort just to hear live music or do a little dancing. #3: With a resort of this high caliber there should be FREE wifi in all the rooms! If we needed to use our iPad to search the internet for local activities we had to go to the lobby or the pool area and pay $30 for a 5 day wifi pass. That's a little annoying as wifi is not that expensive to have in a resort. Yes you can plug in a lap top in the room (which is also $$) but most people now-a-days have tablets when traveling which are wifi only. #4: Please install an ATM on the premises to get cash!! Even if the ATM is pesos only it would be a big help to your guests. Most of these issues are minor and can be fixed quickly. It may be that because the complete resort is not finished these issues are planned to be fixed in the future.

We absolutely plan to return to Grand Solmar when the resort is completed in 2014. I can't say enough about how great a time we had visiting. From climbing the rock cliff at the end of the beach to get to Lovers Beach, zip lining, the ATV tour and exploring the wonderful and safe town of Cabo San Lucas this has been the best vacation we have ever taken!! Thank you Grand Solmar!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Wayne, we are thrilled you and spouse had a memorable 10th anniversary vacation with us.
We are here for you 24/7.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My parents have been going to Cabo for the past ten years. My husband, daughter and I finally joined in the fun last year. To say it was awesome is an understatement. So we joined them again this year. The staff remembered us, like family they were there to make sure all our needs were met. From Manny who has the biggest smile and heart, who only wants to help at all times. To David O., who manned the swim up bar, who was there to share his beautiful country and make us always feel welcomed! Then Catilina, who kept our room amazingly beautiful, even with kids who tracked buckets of sand. The property is fantastic, the food amazing and the people, well amazing! We are counting down to Cabo next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Presidential Suite, perfect for a large family. As for the fitness center, who needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Kim, it was wonderful to have you here and so see how much you enjoyed the beauty of this place.
We all loved to pamper you.
Big hugs, Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here last yr, had another great time.
Room 7701 WOW! what else can be said, private pool and spa.
Great Food. Loved Monday nite at La Rocha and Friday nite at Don Luis dinners.
Thanks to Staff, Felix, Ana, Samuel, Andres, Freddy, Rueben, Monica,(who cleaned our room daily for two wks. Also like thank all the other people who made our annual Trip to Cabo a wonderful stay. Thanks to all Adios!!!

Room Tip: Do the Meal Plan well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Gary, we loved your comments about unit 7701. Over 6300 sq ft, private pool, private Jacuzzi, state of the art furniture and equipment with breathtaking views to the Pacific make this unit unique. Manny, Sam, Anita, David, Sergio, Braulio, Alana, Leo, Isaac send you best wishes.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing