We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Okay - first off to address a few previous complaints: yes, there is a time share sales pitch. It's polite, brief, and if you have an IQ over 85 along with the ability to utter the words "no thanks" it is NOT A PROBLEM. Of course, if you want to do a bunch of tourist stuff, like take a sunset booze cruise, have a dolphin "experience" and do it for half price in exchange for sitting through a presentation - by all means, do so. Just don't complain about it later, because it's not this beautiful property's fault you're a sucker.

Secondly, no - this place clearly wasn't built with toddlers in mind. It's sprawling, romantic and well thought-out, with loads of discoverable nooks and surprises. If you're going to drag your squalling brood around with you, please don't give them their first swimming lesson at the infinity edged pool bar, because there are people around you that are trying to enjoy a pina colada in peace.

The rooms are lovely, the property is gorgeous. Great location on a private (though non-swimmable) beach. Stop thinking and just book it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 86laurel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Our team at Grand Solmar is here to help you unwind and relax, making sure you have a wonderful and memorable vacation experience.
Happy New Year
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,425
    298
    83
    28
    28
See reviews for
940
1,174
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Grand Solmar for a last minute NYE get away. We usually always stay at the ME but it was sold out so we decided to check out Grand Solmar and I'm SO glad we did! Grand Solmar is my new fave hotel in Cabo! It was absolutely gorgeous and it felt like we were on our own private beach! If you like the strolling beach vendors and noisiness then Grand Solmar isn't for you. If you want a romantic, quiet beach setting then this is your place.

My one complaint was that once we checked in we were shooed over to sit and speak to someone about a timeshare opportunity. Once my husband told her we were only there for a few days and didn't have the time to partake in any presentations, the manager stepped in and rudely dismissed us. We were shocked by her obvious aggressive behavior. Everyone else who worked at the hotel was friendly and great though. That incident left us with an initial bad taste in our mouths though! Once we got to our room that rude manager was long forgotten though!

Our room was impeccable! Our room was more of an apartment than a hotel room. It came equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, dining room and even an extra murphy bed along with our king bed! We stayed in room 6307 which was fairly close to the main lobby area and far away from any of the construction going on. The Grand Solmar is a fairly new hotel and they still have a lot of building going on but we were unaffected by any of that since we were on the complete opposite side.

We especially loved their infinity pool that overlooked the beach. We happened to get there right before the sun was setting and it was an amazing sight to see! Their restaurant La Roca was excellent as well. We did notice their service is pretty slow but thankfully we weren't in a major rush when we ate there. All in all, I'd definitely stay at Grand Solmar again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction going on. Grand Solmar is a huge resort so you shouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
It is so rewarding to read you had a terrific time with us.
We will do our outmost to accommodate all of your needs.
Happy New Year.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Just returned home from a 5 night stay at the picturesque Grand Solmar "TIME SHARE". I emphasize time share because it operates as such! Pros- Staff is attentive, friendly, helpful. Rooms are well- appointed and perfect for families. Location is IDEAL! Easy to walk to marina and restaurants. Beach is so lovely, although one cannot swim because it is dangerous.
Cons- Still undergoing construction until 2015, although we experienced silence during the holiday week!!! We arrived 1 day late due to the storm that went thru Dallas ( had a layover) Flights were cancelled! We contacted the hotel while stuck in Dallas to inform them. When WE ARRIVED we asked them to make any necessary adjustments to our bill because of the delayed arrival. Every day we had to ask.. Finally, on our last day, management decided to refund 50% of the "missed" night! They also tried to slip a " Grand Solmar" donation onto my bill. I had that removed immediately. THERE IS NO HEALTH CLUB! One can take a short walk, or shuttle to Playa Grande ( sister resort). Then be charged $10 per PERSON, per USAGE! Unheard of!!! If the time share owners wish to have return guests they need to change this immediately. Also WIFI charges are $12.00 per day, service is definitely spotty... It does not operate as a higher end resort, however the food, service, and rooms were lovely. I would return in the future, ONLY if some adjustments were made. The mini- mart is not stocked with magazines. You cannot charge 5 star prices without operating as such.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samson_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
We appreciate your comments very much and for sure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. We all wish you and family a Happy New Year with good health.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Grand Solmar is a mixed bag. Let's see if I can sort it out...

1. LOCATION: The location is an A+. It is within walking distance of the marina as well as town and it is a much better alternative to the hotels in the "Hotel Zone" if venturing off the property is important to you.

2. ROOMS: The rooms are beautiful. The bathroom has a separate tub, shower and toilet room. We had a kitchen in our suite as well as a Murphy bed. There was a gorgeous balcony with 2 cushioned chaise lounge chairs and gorgeous views. All tile/marble throughout.

3. SERVICE: Here's where we start to run into trouble. The service is spottier than the wi-fi for which they charge you $12/day. Lots of small mistakes and delays on food orders, bills, etc. I had to make 3 calls to secure a robe. They also nickel and dime you. When they delivered the robe, they automatically put $70 on my bill in case I didn't return it. Aren't I innocent until I actually go loco and steal it?! They already have my cc#, no reason to charge me and then credit me later. No gym facilities at the hotel, no magazines at the mini mart. I was told to walk to the sister hotel to buy a magazine. I have an idea, how about someone on staff go fetch 5 magazines and put them for sale in my hotel's mini mart?

CONSTRUCTION: Construction was suspended during Christmas week, but I cannot imagine being there if it were going on. It's a massive project right in the middle of the complex.

Bottom line is that they charge as much as you would pay at a Four Seasons and they just don't compete in that arena. The staff is sincerely trying, but if you are going to charge like the big boys, you've got to deliver like them.

Overall we had an excellent time and the pools are stunning and well heated. Just be aware that this hotel is experiencing some growing pains.

Many thanks to Manny and Jacob...hardest workers in Cabo!

Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Your invaluable feedback with help us to achieve higher standards of excellence in near future.
Happy New Year to you and family.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our family spent a week here over Christmas and overall was wonderful. Staff was great (like Jose and Roberto @ the pool, Felix, Sammy, Manny at front, etc), rooms nice, pools great, beach nice but too bad cannot swim in ocean due to rough seas and have to ignore crane and possible construction between 2 wings of hotel but will be really nice once it is completed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
We are truly delighted to know you enjoyed your vacation with us.
Happy New Year to you and family.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Lovely place to be away from the hustle and bustle of Cabo- but see whales out the window. While the property is still under construction, it is worthwhile to go there- and enjoy the quite time at the pool. We enjoyed the Sunset pool, where we were taken care of by Julio quite well. Our complete review is on EatPackGo.com This is where we celebrate X-mas, and with every new building, it just gets better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Our endeavor is to ensure we deliver the best service and to make your vacation memorable.
Happy New Year.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Newbies to Cabo San Lucas, my partner and I spent a week at the Solmar Land’s end. Overall, we had an excellent time and the amazing location, impeccable accommodations, and excellent service easily made up for some of its shortcomings. First, the property is still a construction site, with a huge red crane looming at its center. It’s noisy and an eyesore. Sadly, large chips of paint and debris from the site litter the otherwise phenomenal pools. I’ll wait for the property to be complete sometime after 2015 before I return. Also, it’s annoying that the property calls itself a spa when there is NO SPA OR FITNESS CENTER. You can get massages and limited spa services at the beach and use the fitness center at the adjacent Solmar property for a fee, which I did, but found very annoying. Solmar should be more transparent about its transitional state. Also, there’s only one restaurant. Another seems to be opening very soon. That said, meals at La Roca were consistently excellent and the menus changed a few times during holiday week, so I can’t complain too seriously. (Amazing Christmas Eve buffet!) The restaurant has some expediting issues to work out. (I waited 15-20 minutes at every meal for one thing or another--coffee, wine, water, and always, the check. The place is just too good for a silly matter of a late check to ruin a meal.
I encourage the management to institute a “No Radios” rule at the pool. For some reason, a few people found it fine to blast their speakers at the very tranquil and chic pools.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
We have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing