We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Beautiful INfinity Pool, fantastic ocean views. Staff is helpful and courteous. Easy walk over the hill to the harbor town and water taxi's to go elsewhere. Room view was magnificent and the bar staff exceptional.
Would have preferred more options to eat there at the site but there are quite a few within walking distance. Construction was underway but it didn't detract from the experience that much.
Would go back in a heart beat... truly a place to just stare at the water and have your drink in hand... watch the whales, tourists go by....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amparo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to constantly enhance our service quality.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    286
    83
    27
    27
See reviews for
889
1,115
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in the Presidential Suite for our first stay at Land's End. The floor plan and furnishings were top notch from the beautiful marble floors to the granite counter tops. The view of the Pacific Ocean was spectacular and we spent time watching whales spout and pass by. The sunsets from our room were breathtaking and can't be beat! All the staff are top notch and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The resort is nicely laid out and the reception area is open air and gives you the feeling of being on a tropical island. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjm423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We are delighted to read that we have fulfilled your vacation expectations in full.
Our cordial co-workers including me will indulge you 24/7.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I own a week at Grand Solmar and typically come in the summer. This time, I exchanged my week to come during February so that my husband and I could whale watch. In the past, I have been pleased with Grand Solmar, but this time, I was definitely disappointed. Below are a list of the issues we have experienced during our stay here:

1) When we arrived they were way overcrowded. In fact they were so overbooked, that people were being moved to different hotels. No one was able to take care of getting us situated. We arrived at our room and the maid was not finished. When we walked into the room, the floors were dangerously wet everywhere. There were no bathrobes (which we never did receive). They also were only able to provide us with one room key for the first part of our trip.

2) After our first day, they only provided us with two towels each day which was not sufficient.

3) At the pool, there was a towel nazi coming around to check and see what time you sat down and to make sure you were really sitting there (people would put their towels down in the morning to reserve their spot and not come back until later).

In general, it is a nice hotel, but the level of service is definitely subpar during whale watching season. It was great being able to see the whales from the end pool, but overall I was disappointed with the service on this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience Grand Solmar is renowned for and exceed your expectations in future visits.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I am only on my 3rd day here (leaving Saturday), but felt compelled to write a review, as I am feeling so fortunate to be here. This is my 9th trip to Cabo, but this hotel is one of the best (if not the very best) I have stayed in. The only place comparable is Capella Pedregal, which is on the same beach and more expensive (I have previously stayed at Villa Palmar, Casa Dorada, and ME Cabo - but this place blows them out of the water). First, the location. I have seen 5-10 whales a day and big groups of eagle rays jumping out of the water- all from either my deck or from one of the breathtaking, heated infinity pools overlooking the ocean. There are no vendors and the beach is practically empty. So, it is very relaxing. You can also climb over the rocks to Lover's beach (it was a bit difficult to do barefoot and maybe dangerous, but worth it). You can also easily walk into town for the nightlife, so it is the best of both worlds. Serene, peaceful and quiet at "home" and crazy and fun only 20 minutes walk away. The hotel itself is simply gorgeous. All the little touches are lovely- understated and beautiful. The rooms are tastefully decorated, modern and gorgeous. Great bathrooms, top of the line everything. Comfortable beds and lots and lots of space. The staff here are also so lovely and welcoming. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. I am already sad I have to leave in 5 days!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicacarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Our endeavor is to ensure at all times you have an incredible vacation with us.
Your gracious comments where gladly appreciated by our cordial staff.
Wishing you good health and many happy moments, I remain.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We vacationed in Cabo in January and stayed at this resort it was fantastic! We spent 10 days and experienced the most amazing friendly service. A big thank you goes out to everyone at the Sunset Pool you are all fantastic at what you do and we had a fabulous time with all. Thank you Roberto, Jose, Carlos and Guillermo. The staff at reception and the bell service are absolutely pleasent, helpful and on schedule. Thank you so much to Jacob, Cesoy, Cristian, Alvarl, Arturo, Sammy, Manny and Felix. The unbeatable sunsets, great pools and awesome service made it difficult to leave. We will definitely be back next year! See you all next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
It is so rewarding to read that our cordial staff exceeded your expectations.
We have great pride accommodating all of your needs.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were scheduled to arrive at GS on Saturday, Feb 9 into a one bedroom unit. Due to the forecasted snowstorm in NY we changed our arrival date to Friday, Feb 8. The hotel was extremely accomodating but did not have any one bedrooms availalable but did have a studio for the one night.

We were greeted at the hotel by the wonderful, welcoming bellboys. Sammy and Manny stood out throughought the trip as the go to guys. Always eager to help both with a great sense of humour. I was a little concerned that we would have to check out of our studio by 11 AM Saturday and then wait until 3 PM to check into our one bedroom (we also stopped on the way to the hotel to get perishable groceries). The front desk assured us that everything would be taken care of. We just needed to stop at the front desk sometime during the day Saturday to pick up the keys.

Sammy took us to our studio and gave us a great tour of the rooms amenities. Though the studio did have a construction view and I am sure we would not have been happy there for the entire week, the unit itself was fabulous! We really did not need the one bedroom for the two of us.
True to their word on Saturday, everything was taken care of for us. Manny saw us at the front desk getting our new keys and offered to take us up to our new room. It was amazing! The unit was still in the main building (same as our studio) but had a direct view of the main pool and beach. We were not affected at all by the construction. The room was beautiful, spotless and the huge balcony with great views of the whales.

The pool and pool service were fantastic. We never used the main pool as it was right under the construction but once the construction is finished, it will be fantastic. The poolside service was great. We ate lunch everday from our loungechair. The wings, ceviche, guacamole and even sushi were delicious! The drinks were fantastic. They have a daily special with two for one drinks and during happy hour (3 - 5) all drinks are 2 for 1.

We had a couples massage and it was great. They were offering a deal, 80 minutes for the price of 50! I had Nataly and my husband had Annen (not sure if spelling is correct). Both were fantastic. The sounds of the waves crashing added to the ambiance!

We loved Grand Solmar and will be recommending to our friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We always share heartfelt personalized service and attention to detail.
It was an honor meeting you and family.
With best personal regards,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Once again, we enjoyed a wonderful three weeks at Grand Solmar, watching jumping whales and sting rays, smoothies by the pool, and dinners accompanied by crashing waves, with music often provided by mariachis.

We want to thank the front desk crew, especially Bruce and Ramon, who went out of their ways to assure we had a lovely room. More thanks go to Sergio, who served us smoothies at the pool every day for three weeks, becoming a special friend. His partner, Freddy, was also very helpful. Each day the two of them anticipated our arrival, bringing towels, carrying our swim bags, turning chairs to face the ocean, setting us up and waiting on us in style.

The Grand Solmar's staff and service is excellent throughout the resort.

Thank you all, once again, for making us part of your family. We can't wait to see you all again next year!

Room Tip: The entire resort is superb. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizattheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Our service ambassadors are honored with your visit.
We all look forward for your next year’s vacation with us again.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing