We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“be careful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

this is a fabulous resort but be careful of the cerviche. got very sick after eating it at the pool bar and lost a day of my trip. The doctor who did come see me from the resort was wonderful and the meds she gave me did the trick. She advised I be careful about eating raw fish. thanks to her help I was able to fly home the following day.

Room Tip: the studios are quite sufficient. try to get as high as you can for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience Grand Solmar is renowned for and exceed your expectations in future visits.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,343
    290
    83
    27
    27
See reviews for
908
1,131
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at Playa Grande, the sister resort to this site two years ago. Our friend bought a timeshare here at that time and this was our first time using it. We were in the main building on the 10th floor which has a magnificent view of the beach. Unfortunatly the building is also next to the construction site which operates nonstop from 7 am -6pm. We were unaware of this as when my friend bought he was told the entire resort would be completed in 2013. We were unable to enjoy our balcony and taking a quick nap or sleeping in was not possible. We have been told that the new buliding which will have an onsite fitness center and kids spot will be completed by 2015. The resort itself is just beautiful and the staff is very attentive. The grounds are immaculate. There are numerous pools and several restaurants on the grounds as well as a mini market and laundry facility. We had maid service and turndown service daily. There is a shuttle to Playa Grande which has a fitness center and other great restaurants but the walk is a short distance. We had a one bedroom suite which offered a king size bed, murphy bed and large couch as well as two bathrooms and a well applianced kitchen. The staff at both the front desk and concierge desk were very helpful. Grand Solmar is a more secluded resort than Playa Grande and seems to cater more to couples and friends traveling together than families with small children. There is free wifi in the room which is great and reception was fine. Although the construction noise was excessive the resort is immaculate, beautiful and in an excellant location. We could see whales from our balcony and the sunrise from the far end of the resort is just gorgeous. We do look forward to our return in a few years when an afternoon of lazing on the balcony while trying to site whales may be a more pleasant experience when the construction is done. The dinner at LaRoca was superb.

Room Tip: Do not stay in main building as it is right next to the construction site. The buildings in back are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catlover710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We appreciate all of your wonderful comments.
Service is an art and we love to share it with you at Grand Solmar.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Grand Solmar is undoubtedly one of the best time share properties I have ever been to. It is truly a spectacular property. The staff is wonderful, the pools are amazing, the views are out of this word! February is a great time to watch the Whales play. Its proximity to lands end makes this beach private and clean. There are no vendors on the beach at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Our staff and I are very happy to know that our service and attention to detail is so well appreciated.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our 17th trip to Cabo and our fourth time at Grand Solmar. It doesn't get any better than this. Not only is this one of the most beautiful resorts anywhere, the help is over the top. From the bellmen, Manny, Sammy, Felix, both Cesars, Arturo, Jacob to the front desk with Leonardo, Juan and all the girls, and the waiters at the pools, Braulio, Freddie, Sammy, Edgar and Carlos to the maid service and Luisa who took such great care of us during our two week stay. If you happen to see a handsome man, salt/pepper hair, fair skinned-just handsome--he always looks serious and is roaming/inspecting every inch of the resort, all the help and ensuring all guests are well taken care of and happy---that would be Senior Jean Luis. His exceptional management and staff make it so difficult to leave. It is no wonder this was our 17th time ,first to Playa and now THE GRAND SOLMAR. We will never tire of these amazing friends!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms or views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
It is inspirational to read that the service and attention to detail was the highlight of your stay.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Grand Solmar is well designed, the staff are professional and provide exemplary service, the rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed, and the location can't be beat. BUT they are still building two more 11-storey buildings and the construction noise goes from 7:30 AM to 9PM 6 days a week - and will probably continue through at least early 2015. You can escape the noise at most of the pools, but if you stay in the main building (which you will if you don't have a specific suite in your timeshare), then relaxing on your balcony is almost impossible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuho45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
It is by all means an incredible and beautiful place to relax and unwind.
Please allow us to pamper you while staying with us.
We all wish you good health and many happy moments.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Check in was a breeze. We were approached for a “Welcome tour/package” which we declined and we were never bothered again about a timeshare. I was expecting the worst from the reviews and forum posts I read, and we are usually prime targets, but absolutely no issue whatsoever - a simple “no thanks” and that was it.

Our room was a one bedroom unit in Building H on the 6th floor far away from the construction, we couldn’t see or hear it. That being said, if our room was by the construction I would have been disappointed. The only day I noticed the noise was when we were eating breakfast at La Roca outside on our last day by the main pool before we caught our ride to the airport. I was like “what the heck is that noise?” My husband said “it’s that crane”….what a drag it would have been if our room overlooked that.

The resort is gorgeous, absolutely breathtaking. The pools are amazing, warm and clean with breathtaking views, the best pools in a resort I've ever been too hands down. We saw many whales right from the pool area this time of year. The beach chairs were fabulous, cushy with some singles and some doubles. We mostly went to the VIP pool and also the other one below our building, we never made it to the main one but it looked great too. The service is top notch here. The bellhops, front desk, maids, bartenders and especially the poolside service were outstanding.

Every day there were two for one drink deals. The food was delicious from what we had with four lunches from our beach chair, I especially liked the sushi. We had a couples beach massage which again was excellent. The outdoor massage hut is situated away from any noise of the pools and overlooks the Pacific. This is smart….there is nothing worse than getting a massage and having people partying around you. Not that there is much partying here anyway. The demographic when we were there is older, everyone seems to be retirees. We felt like spring chickens being in our early forties. Not sure if it is always like that there but one thing that was definitely noticable.

Everything in this resort is clean and new, never even so much as saw a paper towel in the bathroom garbage can. It feels like an opulant spa everywhere.

The walk to town was further than I thought it would be but still easy enough. Near the end of the trip we would just take a cab back. It was only six dollars.

There is nothing about the resort that I can fault really. It's still under construction so we had to go to the gym at Playa Grande but that will come with time. It is wonderful but honestly if I had to pick I still prefer the Casa Dorado as far as location and demographic. It’s easier and faster to get to town and a bit more hip. I just personally prefer that side of the Marina.

The way I could describe the Grand Solmar is that it is so beautiful it doesn’t seem real! To me it feels like a ride in Disneyland - but with a lot of “older people”.

We loved our vacation and took part in the annual Caboholic festivities! The Cabo Escape snorkel cruise (was so fun), Sunderland Dinner Cruise, Cabo Villas Pool Party, Mardi Gras at Cabo Blue and visited Rips and Cabo Blue bar a few times. Our favorite dinner was Salvatores, but we also like Mi Casa, Romeo and Juliet’s (which you can charge to your room) and of course our standard Sharky’s tacos and lunch at The Office. We missed Gordo Lele's this time, oh well, next year. We hiked Mt Solmart this trip. There's something off my bucket list, wow gorgeous views. I loved the pool at Grand Solmar right below the cross of Mt. Solmar, so pretty. A cool spot we found was Two for the Road Jazz bar! The Chocolate Martini was fantastic and entertainment excellent, just a tiny little spot behind Solomans Landing on the Marina.

I am glad we stayed on this side of Cabo because we always wanted to try it. Waking up & having a coffee on the deck while watching the whales was amazing. Try to get a room away from the construction. We rented a fixed suite from an owner off Redweek so ours was a guaranteed spot. I must say some of those ground floor rooms looked pretty cool too. I usally prefer high up rooms but you get a view from just sitting in your beach chair at this place and those units looked fabulous.

If you are looking for a quiet beautiful, spa-like resort you will love it. If you are looking for a hip and lively vibe maybe not so much, you'll have to go find the action in town like we did. One thing for sure is you will definitely feel pampered.

Room Tip: away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supertravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your wonderful vacation memories on Trip Advisor.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Had another great trip to Cabo. Rooms and staff are great and the food is fantastic. The Ridge Restaurant and Bar are the best. Amazing view of the Pacific and Sea of Cortez. Will come back again. Breakfast at the Ridge is one of the most romantic spots in Cabo. Pools there are relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jconie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
We appreciate all of your wonderful comments.
Service is an art and we love to share it with you at Grand Solmar.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing