We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic setting at a beautiful time of year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Majestic setting at a beautiful time of year”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Early April in Cabo San Lucas can be a bit warm, but our retreat at Grand Solmar on the Pacific side offered cooler temperatures by about ten degrees due to the Pacific breezes. Grand Solmar offers unmatched beauty, solitude if you wish, a smiling, outstanding staff and unmatched service. We brought my wife's sister and our brother-in-law, and neither they nor we wanted to leave at week's end.

Silvia's attention to detail with our accommodations (a Master Suite) was superb. The only sound we heard was the crashing of the Pacific waves into the shoreline, even though construction is ongoing. Xail was in her first week of service at the Sunset Pool, and with her warm and friendly demeanor and excellent service, we hope she is with Grand Solmar for many of our return visits. Edgar, the Food and Beverage Manager, was very helpful and attentive in listening to our minor constructive suggestions about how to improve the already excellent food and restaurant options. He had already made tasteful changes to the Roca Restaurant's menu and price structure since our visit last year. Alejandro and Juan were also very pleasant and helpful in performing their duties for us.

Our guests were celebrating their wedding anniversary on our trip, and the senorita at the concierge desk was able to orchestrate a message in the sand at dawn to surprise and delight the second honeymooners.

The exercise facility was not yet available, but is currently under construction in the newest building. However, it is merely a brief jog or ride from Grand Solmar to neighboring Playa Grande's facility.

We anticipate our return visit to Grand Solmar next year with excitement!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DosAmigos3202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TA following your recent stay in Grand Solmar. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay with us, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,517
    306
    83
    28
    29
See reviews for
989
1,209
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Beautiful resort I'm sure, whenever it is finally done. Unfortunately, we had no warning that it still is a construction site. Long list of unhappy visitors wanting to move away from all the noise. Pounding, heavy equipment (trucks, loaders), but worst of all was the blackboard-screech sound of the stone-cutting saw. It would have been not so bad if only during the work day, since you could get away from it at pools on the other end. But starting at 7:30 AM and going until 10:00 PM was unacceptable. No late-evening cuddle time on the balcony.
Talked to both the day (Leonardo) and evening (Antonio) managers. Both were courteous and apologetic, said they would talk to their superiors. I requested, if we couldn't be moved, then a significant credit on our charges.
Two days later, said they cannot do anything. Everyone wanted to move; 92% occupancy; we didn't complain fast enough. They cannot offer compensation.
(CANNOT and WILL NOT are two very different things. Construction is under a deadline; I guess opening the rest of the property and starting to generate revenue from it is more important than honoring your implied commitment to existing paying guests.)
Would not even give us a partial credit on charges. Stonewalled us. We spent (with taxes and fees) almost $500 US per night. Looking back on it, what a ridiculous mistake on my part.
Also, shower was warm, not hot. Water pressure weak. WiFi went down the second day. And the first night we nearly froze; despite raising the temp setting to 74, it got COLDER during the night. By morning it was 65 in the room. The only solution seemed to be to turn it off and open the balcony door -- after the construction noise finally stopped.
And one minor annoyance was that the timeshare sales people apparently can override your elevator-button press so as to zoom their prey up to the top floor (with no opportunity to hop off and escape on the way?). So you wait until it comes back down.
Breakfast buffet at La Roca restaurant was terrific. Great staff, great food, great view. On our last morning there, it was breezy and chilly; they offered us wool blankets to wrap up in. Carlos, Genesis, Mario, and everyone: Thank You!

SUMMARY:
- Staff is the best we ever have encountered anywhere at any resort!
- Resort property is gorgeous. Such attention to detail. Everything is immaculate.
- Blue pools, blue ocean, blue sky. Beautiful.
- Ocean view is fantastic, pounding waves are impressive. (But don't expect to bodysurf.)
- Management (the folks you see and deal with -- not the arrogant money guys pulling strings behind the scenes) also are great. Genuine, sincere, friendly and helpful within their restricted authority.
- May be a great vacation choice someday. We were told that they opened about 2 years ago, and that they have about 2 more years of building out to do.
- If you are thinking of going there, I would say: good choice -- maybe in 2015.

NOTE: This review is based upon our OVERALL level of satisfaction under the circumstances. I would anticipate doing a much more positive review if we were to visit this resort sometime in the future, AFTER construction is done. Probably we won't, though. Too many other choices.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid the newer west end where the construction is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We appreciate your comments very much and for sure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. We all wish you and family all best and hope to have the pleasure to see you again once construction is over.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

If not for the construction of a new building BETWEEN the main building and the secondary building that we were staying in, it would be 5 ratings across the board.

Great ocean views from all the multiple infinity pool areas and restaurants, but when you turn around to see the buildings, the ongoing work on the concrete and steel hull of new construction and the huge crane is quite a distraction as is all the construction noise going on until 9 pm! Some employees thought the construction might continue until end of 2013.

Our room was a one bedroom king suite with a double size murphy bed. The decor was very nice and stylish. The full kitchen was fabulous and we stocked it well with a stop at Costco on the way from the airport. Walmart also is on the way. The suite was very spacious with a dining area, living area, 2 TVs, 2 full baths, and full balcony with spectacular ocean views, thankfully away from the construction.

There are great pool bars that you can swim up to and sit in the water to enjoy your drink or even a full meal! The food was very good at the bars and in the main restaurant, La Roca, for dinner, it was a nice fine dining experience again with the exceptional views of the Pacific and it rough, crashing waves.

They did ask us to sign up for timeshare presentation when we arrived, but were very nice when we declined and never bothered us about it again. The staff were all friendly, helpful and all around GREAT!

Once the construction is done, this will be a fabulous resort!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 2 face away from the construction. Rooms on the East side would also be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TA following your recent stay in Grand Solmar. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay with us, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place is wonderful, it is beautiful and the service is EXCELLENT. The staff is ready to help with a smile and diligence. We stayed at the 3 bedroom apartment with private pool; the Bar by the apartment also delivers great food, the staff was superb, Freddy, Roberto and Sergio were amazing taking care of us and our kids. We are ready to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We are thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations in full, still we are in the process of retraining all of our service ambassadors as this is a daily endeavor that ensure us satisfaction at its best.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This place is AMAZING! We began going to Playa Grande and enjoyed their sister resort but nothing compares to the Grand Solmar! We had the 3 bedroom with our private pool and we were just amazed with our room - it is beautiful, and has anything and everything you need. The resort is still being built, but I didn't hear a peep of construction and wasn't put out in any way. We did have to go to Playa Grande for the fitness center and spa - but it takes 2 minutes to get there (they shuttle you there) and it is worth it! The massages and facials we had were to die for! Better than any spa I have gone to in Texas!

While the grounds, rooms, and beach are beautiful and amazing - the staff is what really makes this resort awesome. They will bend over backwards from you... starting with Sam and Manny when you first get there - they ALWAYS have a smile on their face and help you out with ANY thing you need - big or small. And they do it without hesitation. We look forward to seeing them each and every year we go. We also had the BEST pool-side service from Bar Brisias - Freddy and Roberto were always there if we needed something. We had our own private pool and they would still come and check on us all day long, they were the best and hope to see them there next year!

Last, I took a wine making and tasting class there this time - Elmo was the instructor and it was a BLAST. Not only did I meet the most awesome people but I learned a lot about the different types of wines and had fun making it/and eating the great appetizers they provided. It was so much fun! I highly recommend it to anyone who likes wine :)

Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonmarie912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We are thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations in full, still we are in the process of retraining all of our service ambassadors as this is a daily endeavor that ensure us satisfaction at its best.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailey, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Love the Grand Sol Mar. Always fun! Great food, close to town, great service, beautiful pools, grounds and clean, clean, clean! I go back every year. Walks on the beach are epic. And being able to walk to the neighboring Hotel for beach parties and children's activities is a bonus.

Lisa, Sun valley Idaho

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISAJO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I am very pleased to learn that your stay was a special experience, just as you hoped it would be.
With best personal regards, I remain.
Jean Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This resort fits my family's needs and style of vacationing. We like it quiet and our ocean view not peppered with boats, yachts, water taxis, and other busy hotels. We don't like wild parties and crazy half drunk loud people around our little kids. And if we do, it's just a shuttle ride away. We keep saying to ourselves sometimes that there must be something better our there, but there's none. Well, there's Capella Pedregal. We've stayed in Capella before and yes, it was expensive. Capella and Grand Solmar were built by the same construction company. We can definitely see the similarities. But being on the same beach, and same construction company, and same friendly staff, yes, the price difference is worth it to people like us who are not made of money. If you want to come to Cabo and never leave your resort, then go to Capella. The truth is, our presidential room is so good, we sometimes find ourselves not wanting to leave the resort. When we take a week's vacation in Grand Solmar, we usually end up just staying in the resort for two to three days, but becuase it's really, really, really nice.

Okay, you can't deny the ongoing construction in the middle pool area. If you end up with a roon next to it, then yes, I can see how that can be horrible. If you want to avoid the noise and view of the construction, there is another infinity pool closer to the registration lobby. It's where the Brisas sushi bar is located. Also there's an even quieter adults only pool. To me, the construction is just a promise of better things to come. Since we've made this our home, then that's a good thing. Think of it as having a room addition on your house. Sure, it's a bit inconvenient, but just imagine when it's done, it would look so much better.

I observed the construction one afternoon while we were lounging at the La Roca pool area. These construction guys took almost one day just to put up a single room wall. I'm no construction expert, but that seems too long. But check this out... these guys hardly have any power tools. So building a completely concrete building with marbled walls and floors with hand tools would definitely take some time.

Room Tip: Be adamant about not getting a room close to the construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Our staff is very happy to read that their service is so well appreciated.
I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence.
With personal regards,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,202 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
889 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing