We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed 5 perfect days at the Grand Solmar Lands End. The people there are great, providing a level of service rating 5 stars. Cindy at the front desk was very helpful and Samuel even remembered our names. The room was luxurious with a killer view of the whales swimming by. Why pay for a whale watching trip? The restaurants were very good and convenient, but at the same time there were great restaurants a short walk away in town.

The only negative was the construction next door as they expand the facilities, but it was only objectionable when they were jack hammering out a concrete slab. Now that that is complete, I wouldn't be too concerned about it.

Do pay attention at the airport as the process of finding your shuttle can be hectic. Read and follow their instructions and keep a good eye on your luggage. We ended up with an extra bag in our shuttle, which of course meant someone else had been separated from theirs.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so the only tip is to try for an upper floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Mike

Perfect sounds perfect to me!

I feel very humble and at the same time very touched by your comment; when you mention that our staff provides an amazing service, (Cindy and Sammy). This is what you and all our visitors deserve, to feel like royalty during their vacation time. I am glad your 5 days were very enjoyable.
It is truth what you mention about the noise, but the good news is that as we open a new pool (tom orrow) the noise will be concentrated in one part, and less in our romos and pools. It is amazing to see that you can not hear anything, and that the views from all áreas are unforgettable.

Your advice at the airport is important, always count your bags, and always prepaid for a transportation, that you can do through our concierge desk and website. They will provide you the best way to find your transportation company.

All rooms face the ocean as you mention, and all our staff will be delighted and honor to welcome you back for another trip to Paradise.

Thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,490
    302
    83
    28
    29
See reviews for
971
1,202
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and enjoyed a fabulous January week at the Grand Sol Mar (which he was wise enough to purchase via a Timeshare long before he met me!)
The only drawback was the construction noise and, sad to say, our beautiful view of the beach will forever be obscured by the new building. Oh well ....)

Located on the 'quiet' side of Cabo, Grand Sol Mar is gorgeous. Luxurious without being "regal"; it's truly a touch of Paradise.

The staff is incredible and worked so hard to make us feel both pampered and genuinely welcomed.
They treated us with such quality service wrapped in their own personal styles of warmth and kindness.
We remember them with smiles and laughter and thank everyone for the special memories we've been given just by meeting everyone.

We wish to publicly acknowledge and sincerely thank again ....
Cindy and Chely, Arturio and Omar, Leonel and Francisco, Gabriel and Emmanuel (your comical quips were such fun! )
Ana (thanks for helping us set up our car rental, sunset cruise and parasailing adventures!! What a beautiful bride you will make come November!!) and our sweet housekeeper, Angeles (thank you for the double-swan towels sprinkled with roses that you set near our tub! Lovely!!)
Dulce helped set up a safe (I was suffering from a bad sunburn) yet phenomenal spa massage/facial and Alicia was a masseuse for which there are no words! Best spa treatment I've ever had and a definite "must do" while at Grand Sol Mar!!
The restaurant and pool side bars deliver food and drinks worthy of an artistic trophy. In service, design and flavor, they are the best. We enjoy local Cabo eating establishments also but GSL is always the best of the best.
We've names here - and for that truly apologize - but want to say that the main gatekeepers, landscapers and "drivers" were just wonderful, too.

So here's to all the staff at Grand Sol Mar! Be so very proud of who you are and what you do!
We are freezing up here in Minnesota but send our warmest greetings back to you! Next January can't come soon enough for our return .......

*To those considering Cabo; it's very safe for tourists. We love walking around the marina and nearby streets even at night. Grand Sol Mar is a mere 10 - 15 minute walk away but there are taxi's readily available for a minimum of $6. We recommend renting a car and going up the coast a few miles away to Chilean Beach on the Sea of Cortez for swimming/snorkeling. There are palapas to sit under and keep you shaded along with clean public restrooms. Note: The Pacific waters are VERY dangerous due to currents/riptides. Don't test their power. Todos Santos is a gem to visit; such a charming old Mexican town full of quaint artistic stores. Try Cabo Sailing if you want a quiet, more intimate sunset cruise.

Room Tip: Northern end units will hear construction noise starting at 0700 - every day but Sunday. It may int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMbMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear NorthernLT


It is always a pleasure to receive guest that are celebrating something special with us. That you choose our hotel to stay during this time is priceless to us.
The noise is day by day less annoying. This weekend we open a new pool section that i am sure every guest will enjoy. Your pictures of the family pool, Olas bar and the terrace of our ocean front restaurant, are amazing.

Thank you also for your sweet comments about our staff. who treat you as you deserve, as you mention, with their unique personal touch.
Memories are forever, and that they can be part of yours during this celebration, is something we treasure. I will share with Ana, Cindy, Chely, Arturo, Omar, Francisco, Leonel, GAbriel, Emmanuel, Angeles, Dulce, Alicia, the gardeners, public áreas, bellboys, and the rest of the staff from the food and beverage areas, your comments. I can see that they went above and beyond for you, and part of the lands end experience is this; a staff that take care of our guest, like a family member, that can share also personal experiences that will add value to your vacation.

Thank you again, i am sure a lot of people will find your review very helpful coming their vacation time. Cabo is really safe, and you can count that every person is doing the best they can to keep it that way.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A friend and I just spent three luxurious weeks at the Grand Solmar, a beautiful and very well maintained resort located just behind, and a brief stroll to, the Cabo Marina. We had booked a studio but due to a slight confusion in booking the second and third week, thanks to the very accommodating and charming Front Desk Manager, Juan Ramon, we were upgraded to a one bedroom which appeared to be larger than my condo in Vancouver and was located in the building right on the ocean, treating us to the most fantastic sunsets every night. Upon arriving, travel weary and hungry we decided to check out Holas pool bar for a light dinner and were welcomed so warmly by Ramondo and Cesar we felt like we had come home again. The meal was delicious, as expected, and we went to bed that night happy and well nourished. Prior to dinner, our experience with check-in went smoothly and efficiently thanks to the pleasant, always cheerful and extremely helpful Cindy at the front desk. Our move the second week was also seamless and smooth thanks to our efficient bellman Arturo. Over on the adult side at the Brisas pool bar my favourite bartender Moses is always ready to make sure you don’t go thirsty or hungry. We tended to eat most of our meals in our room thanks to our fully equipped kitchen but when we did eat in any of the several GS restaurants we were not disappointed with the food or service and, of course, the Marina and downtown Cabo have more than enough great bars and restaurants all located nearby. All the staff at the GS are very friendly and willing to jump into action in a moments notice to help with any questions, etc. The majority also speak very good English so language is no problem. If you wish to avoid the sometimes pesky timeshare salesmen but have questions about your membership, the ever helpful and friendly Silvia Brunner, Member Services Manager, is definitely the lady I would recommend that you chat with in order to avoid the high pressure sales pitch. Another item to note is that, unlike a lot of other resorts, Senor Gutierrez, Grand Solmar’s General Manager is very visible and extremely approachable as he makes his rounds around the resort. His ‘open door’ policy is very refreshing. The Grand Solmar is very close to the nearest bus stop for your grocery trips to Walmart or Costco but should you prefer a taxi there is always one waiting at the end of the lane. We did not use the spa or fitness center so did not rate them. All in all this 5 star resort definitely lives up to its reputation and rating. I can’t wait to go back.
Note: The majority of my pictures were taken early in the morning in order to avoid the shadows which is why the place looks a little empty.

Room Tip: Once all the noisy construction is completed which I understand will be this year the building right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquiH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear JacquiH10,

I really love all your pictures! Thank you so much for your sweet comments. It is very rewarding when one our guest feel that their are at home while staying with us. And i am really satisfied to read that a lot of our staff members make the diference, like Cindy, Silvia, Juan Ramon, Moises, Arturo, Cesar, Ray. I love to be in the áreas, chatting with people, i will love to be 24/7 at the pools and at the front desk, but there are other things to do and check, and plan for our guest.

We would love to welcome you back for another 3 weeks. You can count on us, the lands end experience will always be here for you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Love the views and style. We liked so much purchased a timeshare. Thanks Shelley Blais! The beach is quiet and staff gives excellent service. We look forward to returning soon! If you're looking for a resort with everything then this is the place. Also shopping and marina are within walking distance. We hiked to Lovers Beach from Solmar. Alot of fun. -david

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear David

We thank you for your wonderful and rewarding words about your most recent stay with us.
We would love to welcome you back anytime soon to our magic place.
Today we are fill the new pool (looks amazing), and we are doing the last minute preparations for one of our main events of February, the Superbowl.

Thank you again for everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We love the location, close to the marina, shops, & very friendly people. Can't wait to go back, in June. We have seen whales and dolphins in January, wonderful to see them up close. Everyone should go at least once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cabogirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Cabogirl53

One of the things our guest love about our resort is the location, and also, that you can actually see the whales during the december-february season very close. It is a grand show to watch them while being at the pool drinking a tamarindo margarita from one of our great bartenders Jose or Jesús.

I do not know if we are on a list of the 1000 places you need to go in your lifetime (yet), but what i am sure right now is that if you visit us, you will experience something unique, and so special, that you will love to comeback.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I got in late and they kept store open that night for us
If they do not have something the free shuttle to playa grande is very convenient
I did not use the spa or fitness center which is why I had to rate those items as average

Room Tip: building I
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dennisk42977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear dennisk42977

I would like to thank you for your fanstastic score, as you witness we are here for you in anything you need, and for us was a real pleasure to assist you. It is important to inform our guest that we have 24 hours front desk and room service in case someone need something or arriba late at the hotel.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We brought our kids out to Cabo while we were vacationing for a month. The week at our home resort in the Grand Solmar was just spectacular!! The staff treated us like royalty. From the Front desk with Bruce and Ramon to Cesar and Emmanuel they were all exceptional and we can't thank them more for making our Mexican Family vacation soooo special. We were upgraded to an amazing 3 bedroom penthouse with its own pool for no extra charge, how do you beat that.
The suite was just beautiful and perfect for our crew of 11 people.
Once again hats off and bouquets of roses to all of the staff!!
The Steinacher Family

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear MArva

I share your comments with our staff, specially Bruce, Juan, Cesar and Emmanuel from the front desk and bellboy crew. For me is always satisfying to know that our staff went above and beyond expectations.
We would love to welcome you back next year with all the family again!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,190 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing